2007 Hyundai Sonata Reviews - Page 4 of 7

2007 Hyundai Sonata GLS 3.3L V6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22250 miles
Most recent distance22290 miles
Previous carHonda Sonata

Summary:

If you are looking for a good performing comfortable vehicle and don't care much about looks, but mo

General Comments:

Lincoln/Mercury dealer gave us this rental as they fixed our 2003 mercury mountaineer (too many problems to list).

The handling is amazing, very nimble, I liked it very much. The V6 has more than adequate power, but is not awe-inspiring.

The exterior looks like the honda accord of two generations ago.

The interior is absolutely filled with cheap plastics. Everywhere you look - the console stereo, all over the front. The middle storage bin feels very cheap. The instrument cluster is a bit ugly. the door panels have an abundance of cheap plastic, particularly on the arm rests and the door pull.

The steering wheel gives off an intense vibration - very uncomfortable.

Overall - The car from the outside is a bit ugly, and from the inside it feels very cheap. On the plus side the car handles very well and feels like silk. The ride is very comfortable, little road noise, the V6 engine is silky and shifts are smooth. A very smooth car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th December, 2007

3rd Apr 2008, 00:36

This is the first person I've ever heard call the '07 Sonata ugly. You're pretty much alone on that one. Most people who complain about the styling say it looks too much like the Accord... but better. In terms of cheap interior plastics, it might not be pretty to look at, but it won't put your car in the shop like your Mercury. I disagree that the dashboard is ugly. I think it's a refreshingly unique design. I think the '07 Optima's dash is tackier looking. I drove one and was very impressed overall. It seemed very solid, smooth, and quiet. The 4cyl. had plenty enough power for my taste, although it was very gruff sounding when pushed hard. For $18k in this day and age, I was impressed. A comparably equipped Accord is about $24k. It'll probably be more reliable in the long run, but you just can't justify and extra $6k for an Accord. I thought the interior was very stylish, but was disapointed with the quality of plastics... looked cheap. Toyota has been great at making cheap, plastic looking interiors for a LONG time now. As long as the reliability holds up reasonably well over the next few years, I think the Sonata is a fantabulous value.

14th Dec 2008, 12:16

-Sonata is a v nice stylish car (outside),

-Suspension had to b lowered.

-Plastic smell inside.

-2.0 143 accelerate v. well from 00 to 190 km/hr

-Its euro dynamic is not v. well that's why it hardly exceeds 200 km/hr

-It is a perfect family car with a huge trunk

-Overall I like this car.

2007 Hyundai Sonata V6 3.3L petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.3L petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carHyundai Sonata

Summary:

Good car, appalling customer service

Faults:

Nothing. The car is generally very well engineered, quiet and smooth. Performance is good as is road holding. Fuel consumption is a bit heavy. It's just the customer service is so bad.

General Comments:

To cut a very long story short, Hyundai replaced the first car due to corrosion and an engine compartment that looked 10 years old where the car was stored for a long time in a corrosive atmosphere. I'm annoyed Hyundai expected a private buyer to take delivery in the first place. In the UK we still get screwed for the new price even if the car has been around for a while. Not like in the USA where rebates are available. You could say it was good service to replace the car, but it took a lot of effort to get them to do so.

Also, the brochure did not mention whether the radio would play MP3 files, but did state it was RDS. I was shown an MP3/ RDS radio in the 2.4L demonstrator. I even emailed Hyundai UK to check. When my higher spec 3.3L arrived, the radio was not RDS and would not play MP3. Anyway, like I said, the car was replaced, but the radio was still to the poor spec. The original car I ordered was with a light Grey interior. The replacement was black interior, cheap black plastic on which you can see white marks from your skin, and gloomy. The brochure still stated that the car model would be gray. I moaned, of course, and got a rebate.

So basically, you cannot believe the brochure and the dealers haven't a clue what they are selling. So the buyer is taking a risk with a substantial amount of money. Incidentally, I'd love to know why the Americans pay nearly a half what we are ripped-off.

I have since found that the very latest Sonata is fitted with an MP3/RDS radio and is available as a spare part. I did not dream up the following and have emailed Hyundai UK to check (who couldn't care a damn about my comments). The price for the replacement radio (it's a bespoke design) is a staggering 2726.02 GBP, that's over 5000 USD.

I think this is a disgusting way to treat a customer. I have purchased 3 brand new Hyundai cars to date, but will never buy another. You don't know in the UK what you are going to end up with.

Another joke is that they advertise the Grandeur, but cannot supply a demonstrator. Yep, Hyundai's cusomer service in the UK is appalling.

I'm thinking of an Audi next time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th October, 2007

19th Nov 2007, 07:23

Valid as your complaint about rip off UK prices is, in your position, I'd be more concerned that the value of these cars drops like a brick. You'll be lucky to get 35% back in three years time.

A low mileage approved used Audi would have made much more sense on a number of levels, even if you'd had to lose some of the kit (and bhp)

16th Sep 2008, 12:41

Par for the course with Hyundai UK.

Ask them a simple straightforward question and they stop answering the phone.

Also agree with above, they are next to worthless as a px or to sell privately.

I know, I've been there.

5th Jan 2010, 17:31

Okay they sold you new old stock, and you complained and they replaced the car, but the radio doesn't play MP3's so it's a BAD car? Well buy an Audi, but there goes the mortgage. I don't get it.

9th Jun 2012, 12:05

Read my comments again. I have not said it is a bad car. Overall it is a good car, and I stated that. I'm saying the service is poor, and Hyundai UK don't know what they are doing.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 24 reviews