2007 Hyundai Sonata Reviews - Page 2 of 7

2007 Hyundai Sonata SE 2.4 from Iran

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance10500 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

Excellent car

Faults:

Noise from the rear suspension up to speed of 80 km/h.

General Comments:

Acceleration is fine.

I tested the vehicle at 200 km/h speed. I felt in complete control of the car at that speed, and I can say that handling is very good and sure-footed.

The cabin is large enough for 4 passengers, and the trunk size is large enough.

The quality is fine, and I haven't had any problems till now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2008

2007 Hyundai Sonata 4 cylinder 162 HP from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 162 HP Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance13200 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

It's a great car!

Faults:

Windshield sun visors. They are not well-made, and have twice failed me. I have been unable to raise them when the sun was no longer glaring at me.

General Comments:

This is a super car. It is quiet and comfortable. I like the way the engine is so smooth. It just purrs! On combined city and country driving, I always average between 27 and 32 MPG. I have had absolutely no mechanical problems with it whatsoever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2008

2007 Hyundai Sonata GLS 2.4 DOHC MPI from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4 DOHC MPI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance6420 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Very good on value

Faults:

Leaking Valve stem.

Sticking expansion valve.

General Comments:

This car is well-equipped, not stripped.

This car has a smooth engine, transmission, brakes are quiet, the car handles well, and is very user-friendly on the controls.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2008

2007 Hyundai Sonata GL V6 3.3 liter from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.3 liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14 kilometres
Most recent distance17500 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Neon

Summary:

It was worth every penny of the money

Faults:

Top left of windshield was leaking and fixed by dealer.

General Comments:

I am really satisfied with this car. Roomy, quiet, powerful and reliable. The handling is superb. The gas mileage is not too bad, City: 11.2L/100km, Highway: 8.5L/100km.

There is one thing I do not really like; the fan control. The fan OFF position is in the middle of the directional control button, which means sometimes it is necessary to turn it off first in order to change the incoming air direction. I think it would be better if the OFF position is in the speed control button, although Not a big deal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2008

2007 Hyundai Sonata SE 3.3L from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.3L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired28 miles
Most recent distance18500 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

Nice vehicle for the money

Faults:

At about 7k miles, I had some sort of drain plug for the cooling system in the engine block replaced. It had apparently been leaking coolant slowly whenever the engine was running and I had to fill the overflow reservoir twice with coolant. No problems since.

The check engine light has illuminated 3 times in the last 3 months for a day or two, then goes out, but I figure I'll have it checked out at the dealer next time I'm there. Then engine is running fine.

And the paint is beginning to chip off of the inside of the passenger side mirror. Again, I'll have that taken care of next time I'm at the dealer.

General Comments:

Before purchasing this car, I test drove the competition - Camry, Accord, and Altima - and while those are all fine vehicles, I believe I got more for my money with the larger engine, ESC, 6 air bags, etc.

After reading some of the prior posts, I do agree with the gas sloshing around in the tank, but when this happens, I merely turn the radio up a little bit until it goes away. And unless I'm driving on an unpaved road, I really don't notice the noise coming from the rear shocks. With these 2 comments, I think others are being a bit picky. After all, it's not a Lexus or Mercedes you're driving here - it's a Hyundai and you get what you pay for. If I paid $70k for a Lexus, I would expect it to be flawless.

I'm curious as to why this vehicle does not have daytime running lights. I guess I just assumed it would. And the driver seat could use more padding and lumbar support.

I am getting the advertised mpg so far. It's rated at 20 city/30 highway, and I'm averaging 25 mpg overall, so I'm happy.

It is a fine vehicle inside and out for the money I paid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2008

26th Mar 2008, 10:47

The year of this vehicle should be 2007 - I made a mistake and it is therefore listed under the 2006 year rather that 2007. My apologies for any confusion caused.

1st Mar 2012, 10:18

Four years and 83k miles later, and still no complaints with this vehicle. The engine does not leak or burn any oil, and is as strong as the day I drove it off the lot.

Changing the oil every 5k miles with synthetic oil and a K&N air filter help. According to the MPG computer, I am getting 25.0 mpg in mixed driving, which is exactly what it ought to be getting.

The body is still rust-free, despite living where salt is used to treat the roads in the winter.

While not being a perfect car, it has never left me stranded. I am considering giving this car to my son to replace his wallet-busting 2002 Grand Prix, and buying either a new Sonata or a Kia Optima.

27th Mar 2013, 08:52

Hi,

I too have a Sonata 3.3L V6.

Whilst, as you say it is not a Lexus or Mercedes, it also does not have the “big boys” price tag.

A solid, comfortable, powerful and reliable car if you are prepared to live with some of the little idiosyncrasies and imperfections.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 24 reviews