2007 Hyundai Sonata Reviews - Page 5 of 7

2007 Hyundai Sonata SE 3.3L - V6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.3L - V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55 miles
Most recent distance5800 miles
Previous carSaturn LS

Summary:

Very good buy

Faults:

Driver door panel seperating - replaced free (Warranty)

Timing chain tensioner - replaced free by TSB (Warranty)

Gas tank sloshing when full

Rear suspension noise.

General Comments:

Very comfortable and roomy with higher quality materials. It is very easy to pass and accelerate. The brakes are wonderful. Looks very nice inside and out (really like the dual exhaust). Shiftronic transmission is great. Gas door opened from inside the vehicle (good when gas is expensive).

The transmission can be a little jumpy

Engine has a slight humming noise at high speeds

Side mirrors do not fold

Front seats do not have limited thigh support

See fuel sloshing and suspension noises above.

All in all the flaws are very minor and this car is definitely a bargain - especially with Electronic Stability Control standard and a 10yr/100,000 mile warranty. The best car I have owned so far.

Dealer also offers $14 oil changes for life and free car washes!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2007

2007 Hyundai Sonata GLS 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance1700 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Super car at a super price

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Great car! I looked at many different cars and the Sonata offered far superior features, excellent build quality, a quiet ride and great warranty. All this at a fantastic price. So far, I have had absolutely no problems with the car at all and am delighted with it.

I am getting about 26 mpg in city driving and 30+ interstate (75mph). The 4 cylinder/manual transmission has plenty of power and performance.

The ride is very comfortable even for four adults and there is plenty of trunk room for luggage. This is a wonderful car and I am very pleased that I purchased it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2007

30th Jun 2007, 17:22

I suppose the main problem is that it is a hyundai! This is a stumbling block that I don't think I could ever get over. Call me a badge snob I don't mind.

20th Jul 2007, 18:02

The Hyundai/KIA bashers are people that have never been within 10 feet of one. It seems these people know more about the reliability of my cars than I do. Stick with Optometry, you're not a car expert.

2007 Hyundai Sonata SE 3.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance561 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Totally Amazing!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

When we first thought of getting a new car, we was thinking of getting a Honda or a Toyota, but after we took the Hyundai Sonata for a test drive, we fell in love.

We chose the Deep-Sea Blue (This color has tons of matal flakes in the paint) Which looks totally beautiful I might add.

The engine is very strong, about 6.6 to 60 mph.

The handling is quite good for the size of this car, the brakes are really strong too. (Out stopped both the Accord and Camry)

So if you are looking for a new mid-sized car, put the Sonata on the top of your list.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2007

2007 Hyundai Sonata GLS with Premium Sport Package 2.4 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance600 miles
Previous carMazda 6

Summary:

Would definitely purchase another one

Faults:

Unless you keep the gas tank topped off, it sloshes around, making more of a thunking noise than a liquid noise.

General Comments:

Excellent value! Purchased this car one month ago with the optional Premium Sport Package and can't wait to take it on an extended road trip. Very quiet car that handles well.

Opted for the 4-cylinder motor (quite peppy) this time because of the gas prices, and it gets all of the 33mpg on the highway as estimated.

My previous car was a 2005 Mazda 6S, loaded up, cost 28K, and was beautiful. This was a very fragile vehicle and I traded it in with only 15K, because the warranty was not strong and I did not want to get buried in the car for repairs.

For only 21K$, I bought the Hyundai and gave up only a leather interior. Considering the warranty and build quality on these vehicles, they just can't be beaten.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2007

2007 Hyundai Sonata Limited V6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles

Summary:

Bargain for the price

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

Thought this brand was awful. Would not even consider buying one. Just for laughs, I took one out for a test drive - I drove the Sonata Limited and bought it on the spot.

I have owned Honda's and Toyota's and have loved the reliability and resale value of each. To be honest, I will worry about the resale value later – it’s just a matter of time and getting more of these on the road, so that people know what it is. Then the resale value will keep going up.

Lots of people have asked me what type of car it was and made positive comments about the color and the styling (mine is black). The only thing I would like is better adjustments on the seats (like the 95 Ford SHO’s or Recaro’s).

I think on the Limited Edition, the tires should be something like 255-50-17’s from the factory. It handles just fine with what came on the car, but the tires look small.

So far, the car has run great and I have had no problems. I dumped the original factory oil before I even took it off the dealer’s lot, changed to Amsoil 0-30 oil.

FYI the car will really go 135 MPH as the report in Autoweek verified, not bad for stock out of the box.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2007

27th Jul 2007, 10:56

"Thought this brand was awful"

People will laugh at the old Hyundai Pony.

But those who know of the Pony know that it is a bullet proof car that refuses to die!!!

In time, Hyundai may get as much respect as a Honda.

They are coming out with a 4 door back wheel drive V8 and an all wheel drive 7 seater sport utility that looks too much like the Mazda... lol.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 24 reviews