2003 Hyundai Tiburon Reviews - Page 4 of 17

2003 Hyundai Tiburon 2.0 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

I love my Tiburon

Faults:

Both power window motors have been replaced. Passenger side twice. Now the passenger side regulator is bad.

Had to have the hood repainted.

Had to have a new radio because the numbers stopped showing. It is starting to do this again.

The inside cover on the sunroof would not retract, so it had to be fixed. The local dealer could not do the repair, so they had to send it out to a specialty shop.

The drivers side door lock mechanism had to be replaced.

It has had two recalls, one for a fuel line problem and I can't remember the second one now.

General Comments:

I have had this car since it was brand new and I still love it. At first I was disappointed with all the problems it was having. After all the bugs were worked out, it has been a great car. I have never had any problems with the engine, transmission or clutch.

This car has over 140,000 miles on it and it has ALWAYS started and ran.

It is a small car and would be uncomfortable for someone who is tall. Even for me at 5'6" it is uncomfortable on long (over 2 hours) trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2009

25th Jan 2010, 19:35

We love our Tiburon SE; however it recently burnt up due to an electrical short in the passenger's side heated seat. Too bad; from the outside it still looked perfect even though the front cabin was melted!

2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT 2.7 Delta from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.7 Delta Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Spectacular

Faults:

I've had this car for almost 4 years now, and not once have I had a problem with the car mechanically or electrically.

General Comments:

Great car. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a great all around car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2009

2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT 2.7 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

It's an OK vehicle if you have an electrician's background to fix all the electrical issues

Faults:

The most common annoyance since purchasing this vehicle are the electricals. Since purchasing this vehicle in 2003, I have already gone through 5 batteries.

The sunroof motor has burned out after two years of owning it.

The power-locks have been a constant pain since owning this vehicle. They open and close whenever they feel like it.

Factory clock on dashboard has not work since one week after purchasing this vehicle.

Replaced the left automatic window twice.

The thermostat and radiator went after 75,000 miles.

General Comments:

Car is a lot of fun to drive. Handles really well in bad weather such as snow and rain.

However, this vehicle has plenty of electrical problems.

I will not purchase another Hyundai in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th April, 2009

2003 Hyundai Tiburon from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10

Faults:

I bought a used 2003 Hyundai Tiburon av little more than a year ago.

Not only have the seats started to wear, but the wires under the steering column started to melt, which made my interior lights, radio and windows stop working.

It was perfectly fine when I bought it, and in less than a year it started to have problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th April, 2009

2003 Hyundai Tiburon SE GT V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission GT V6 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles

Summary:

I am very disappointed with it

Faults:

I have a 2003 GT V6 Tiburon. It was my first car, and I got it because it looked great and I heard that they were good on gas. Now, I know better. Here are some of the problems I have encountered:

1. About 3 months after I got the car, the battery had to be replaced, no big deal, these things happen.

2. Then, I began having problems with my radio/CD player. It would turn off the radio and try to play a CD by itself. Never got that fixed, it just stopped doing it all the time and now it only happens every once in a while.

3. Next, my seat belt light came on. The driver side seat belt had to be replaced; I think it was the sensor that was messed up.

4. Then, my door locks broke. I had to replace the actuator. Now, if I try to use my key to open the door, the alarm goes off.

5. My sunroof does not leak, but if you are driving on the bypass and going 60mph or more, it makes an awful noise that makes you feel like the top is going to blow off.

6. The passenger seat gets stuck a lot, and it's very hard to put down or back up when someone has to sit in the back.

7. I have had to replace the shocks on my trunk, because they went bad and my trunk would not open.

8. The driver's side door freezes shut when the weather is cold, and it's impossible to open without a cup of warm water.

9. The weather stripping on the passenger side has fallen off around the bottom of the door, and the little yellow clips are broken.

10. I feel like it is only a matter of time before something happens to the transmission. It is automatic but it shifts very hard.

11. Two weeks ago I had to replace my passenger side wheel bearing because it went bad.

12. Last night, my car began to smell like gas. It is so strong that after just a short 5 minute ride I was nauseous and had a terrible headache.

After having this car for almost 4 years, I have decided that I am tired of wasting my money to fix it, and I will be trading it in very soon!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th March, 2009

26th Jul 2010, 21:54

You can't treat the Tiburon like some cars, it needs to be serviced and detailed. I could have fixed more than half of your problems in my garage before they even happened.

7th Aug 2010, 14:15

You bought the car used and with pretty high kilometers for its year. You can't blame the manufacturer for what a previous owner would have done to it.

7th Apr 2011, 05:32

Also you said it was your first car and you've had it for 4 years. It's a pretty fun and fast car for a first, so if you drive like you're in Tokyo drift all the time doesn't help.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 57 reviews