2003 Hyundai Tiburon Reviews - Page 6 of 17

2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

Warranty not being honored; it's a LEMON

Faults:

1) Paint peeled off of gas cap

2) Sunroof stuck in open position

3) Seatbelt malfunction

4) Airbag light constantly on

5) Power window failed to function

6) Clutch failure 38000 miles

General Comments:

The car handles corners without significant body lean. The engine is quiet. Shifting gears is difficult.

Several lawsuits have been filed in regards to clutch failing. See below websites. Submit service failure to the Better Business Bureau. Complain to Hyundai automotive. Currently Hyundai has denied my claim.

http://www.us.bbb.org

http://www.lawyersandsettlements.com/case/hyundai_tiburon_classaction.html

http://www.qtautonews.com/2006/03/26/hyundai-blames-failure-of-deformed-tiburon-clutch-on-drivers/

http://www.carsurvey.org/viewcomments_review_31733.html

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd December, 2007

2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

I would drive it off a cliff!!!

Faults:

First...Exterior paint chipping and fading.

Headlamps have blown and been replaced twice.

Passenger side window motor has been replaced.

Leather seats are wearing thru.

Transmission has been replaced.

Clutch ASSEMBLY has been replaced (the whole assembly not just the clutch)

Interior plug on wiring harness has fried causing all lights inside and out to short out. Radio too.

One set of engine mount bolts had to be replaced.

Cruise control no longer works.

Air flow sensor needs to be replaced.

Speed control sensor needs to be replaced.

New problem... car idles fine once warmed up.. but when you push the gas it bogs out and chokes. Even while driving does the same thing and wants to die out.

And finally needs a new throttle body.

General Comments:

Looks good. That's about all you can say for this car. Not reliable at all! I wouldn't recommend buying one of these pieces of CRAP!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th December, 2007

2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT 2.7 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7 Manual
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

I am so sad to realize that my car is all looks

Faults:

My A/c didn't work 2 weeks after I got the car.

My right lower arm broke at 67000

My CV joint is messed up at 68000 and needs replacement.

The parts for this car are very expensive.

General Comments:

My car looks nice and that's the only good thing it has. I am so sad to realize that my car only looks good and has very poor performance. I read the reviews and i was very disapointed because most of them are the same model as mine, 2003 Tiburon GT. I guess i picked a bad car. Many people told me that it wasn't a good car but i fell in love with it. It is so cute and when i first drove it i did feel the difference from my honda civic to this one feeling more weak but i didn't care because it looked so nice. Bad choice i had to replace the whole Air conditioning system, the brakes sound weird and may need replacement soon, and my lower arm and cv joint are messed up. I mainly drive on the Highway so there is no reason for this things to go bad. I still love my car but i wish it was in better shape. His name's Sharkyboy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th November, 2007

27th Jun 2008, 20:20

This review holds no ground. How does this pull worse than your civic and with over 60000 miles you're complaining that you have to do regular maintenance. Back up your complaints with more details than "it looks good but it's slow" and "my friends said the car sucks".

2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

POOR CLUTCH !!!

Faults:

Clutch gone @ 16,000; do a search for their faulty hydraulics, technical service bulletins addressing this issue & class action lawsuit.

Driver side window motor replaced twice, once on passenger side; twice on each window on my wife's 2003 4-cylinder Tib.

Paint continually wears off of plastics exterior components: gas cap, spoiler, mirrors; wife's door sills & gas cap is on third repainting.

General Comments:

POOR CLUTCH!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd April, 2007

16th Jan 2010, 13:56

Although you might not believe what Hyundai tells you, it is true. If you drive the car hard, the clutch will go out QUICK.

I guess Hyundai thought it would be... neat..? to put a "restrictor" inside the slave cylinder. I had read someone say something like "it makes new drivers look like pros at shifting, and makes pros look average" as the reason for putting it in the cylinder. But what it really does is, if you were to 'dump the clutch', that restrictor lets the clutch out at a certain speed, thus creating excessive wear onto the clutch by means of 'riding' it.

BUT, this is a pretty simple fix.

Just take the restrictor out, and your clutch will live a lot longer. I used Google.com to find instructions on how exactly to remove it, and got it done. My clutch has not gotten any worse since the restrictor's removal.

I hope this helps you out.

-Kyle.

Update 3rd May 2010: I have replaced the flywheel and clutch parts on my Tiburon. Hyundai uses a 'dual-mass flywheel', I think that's what the main problem was. You will have to look it up, because I don't fully understand how it works, or I'd tell you. :)

-Kyle.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 57 reviews