1998 Infiniti I30 from North America - Comments

13th Jul 2007, 13:31

Regarding the "misfires", my wife's '99 Infinti started this at 45K, we took it in to dealer who said the computer just needed tweaking. The did this twice until we were told (after the warranty was up) that the coil packs were defective and needed replacing...$1200.00. Today she was told her air bag sensor was bad and needed replacing...$600.00. There seems to be a pattern of deception when dealing with Infinit dealers. Does this mindset come from Corporate? I will NEVER purchase another Nissan product.

20th Jul 2007, 12:50

I have a 2001 Infiniti I30 and the airbag just started flasking about two weeks ago. Took it to the dealer and they told me my battery was going bad, so I had it replaced with a new one. No changes, airbag light still flashing. Any suggestion??

26th Jul 2007, 16:01

The airbag reset didn't work for me. I replaced the fuse and still nothing. I unplugged the battery for several then retried the reset, still nothing. Then I re-read several instructions. I noticed than when the door was open the door ajar bell didn't chime. So when I tried the reset I didn't go all the way back to acc. I went just enough to turn the lights off. WOW this time it worked. Thanks.

7th Sep 2007, 22:11

My '99 I30 has 90,000 miles. We just came back from Colorado (live in Seattle area) with the "service engine" light on. Went to a local parts store, they read the code (P1605 A/T Diagnosis Communication Line), reset the computer for me and the light has stayed off.

Later that day, the air bag light came on; Was ready to go to the dealer when I read the reset feature above and it worked. Thank you; I'm "auto repair dumb" and would have spent $600.00 for the Infiniti dealer to repair the problem.

9th Sep 2007, 16:35

1998 Infiniti I30/115,000 miles. Love it. Also have a 1990 Maxima with 195,000, basically the same car. Same story.

The Infiniti air bag light started blinking a month ago.

Found this web site fix today and tried both the 2/17/05 and the May 07 sequence many times. Sometimes it would change the blink sequence (from continuous fast blink to a fast blink-blink-pause-slow blink-blink repeat). Sometimes back to the continuous blinking.

The owner manual says that 'normal' is: Turn the key to ON, the light comes on continuously for seven seconds and then goes off, meaning that the system is set to operate as it should. Note that starting the car is not a part of that. It seemed that this same seven seconds is what we have to work with, seven seconds from the time you turn the key to ON.

With the door open, I turned the key from LOCK (0) to ON (3), and pushed the door button rapidly seven to ten times, waited until I was sure the seven seconds were up, switched key to LOCK (all off) then ON. After seven seconds of being continuously lit the air bag light went out. I started and shut down several times. It seems fixed.

I suspect that the number of times you press the button in the seven seconds causes different things, one of which resets the system.

19th Sep 2007, 19:43

I have an Infiniti 1998 128254/miles and Followed the same step and it work thanks guys.

1 open driver door

2 turn ignition to ACC

3 press driver dor switch seven time

4 wait 2 second turn ignition to off closed door and start car.

1st Oct 2007, 20:06

I have a 98 Infiniti I30. About 5 year ago, the air bag light came. On, I took it to the dealer and had the driver side airbag replaced. A few months later the light came on again... I had it put on the diagnostic machine for $95 and guess what now the passenger side airbage needed replacing... so I had the dealer reset it and the light when off for a few more month...after that I just learned to live with the flashing light.

Fast forward to Oct of last year 2006. I go to get my state inspection and guess what. I failed my inspection due to the AIR BAG LIGHT that's been on for the last 4-5 years!!! I paid yet another $95 to have it put on the computer and the light reset again so that I could past inspection...because I didn't have the money and wasn't planning on ever replacing the airbag. It's now time to get my car inspected again so I saved up enough to get the airbag replaced and called the dealer this morning to see about getting it replaced. The service person wasn't there so I left a message.

In the meantime, I thought let me do a quick google search and see what I can find because there has a cheaper a way to turn that light off. I found this posting while at work and I tried as soon as I got off work while in the parking lot and guess what IT WORKED!!! This has saved me HUNDREDS of dollars if not more. Being that there are 6-8 air bags in the CAR, by the time I replaced another air bag every time the light came on I would easily be out a few thousand dollars....

I love my Infiniti. I have 115,000 miles and I'm shooting for 200,000. This is my 2nd Infiniti and they are both very dependable and haven't given me any problems at all.

THANK YOU THANKS YOU THANKS YOU!!!!

Tanisha

29th Nov 2007, 18:25

Having the same problem I tried this several times. Eventually I tried to narrow it down logically. What finally worked for me was.

Open door

Turn Key to ON

Push driver side button 5 times exactly

Wait until airbag light turned off (7 seconds) then wait one more second

Turn key to off

Start car

Close Door.

This was about my 15th try, but it worked.

Thanks to all who posted this info!

15th Dec 2007, 12:57

Ya, I have been reading this and it is all about airbags and what not. So I also have a 1998 Infiniti I30 but my problem is different.

One day I was with my friends and the passenger side power seat all of a sudden started to recline forward and than just stopped. After which we tried to recline it backwards, but the button didn't work anymore. It still goes forwards and backwards it just doesn't recline anymore. I tried all the wires and disconnected them and reconnected them, but it still doesn't recline.

I just need to know if any one has had this problem and knows how to fix it. I can't find it on the internet any where.

3rd Jan 2008, 18:40

My 98 Infiniti had the sample problem. Tried the reset steps and it worked! Thanks so much!!

I learned that I had to push the driver side button immediately after turning the key to ON (before the AIRBAG light changed from on to flashing).

12th Jan 2008, 10:47

The Air Bag reset procedure works like a charm.

Thanks to you all for sharing this great information.

19th Jan 2008, 14:45

What do you mean five times on the drivers side button? Window opp. button?

21st Jan 2008, 10:53

I had (have) the blinking Air Bag problem on my 1999 I30 as well. I was able to get the blinking light to go off, but it came back on a few weeks later. I tried the reset sequence again, but this time my car must have thought I was a criminal because both my keys were inactivated and the car wouldn't start. A $75 towing bill to the Infiniti dealer, along with $100 to reset my keys, and I was back on the road... Air Bag light still blinking away...!! Any suggestions???