1993 Infiniti J30 Reviews - Page 2 of 6

1993 Infiniti J30 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired152000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carInfiniti J30

Summary:

It's a great first car

Faults:

My dashboard lights have gone out.

I hear a popping sound when I remove my foot from the brake.

My motor has stopped working for the passenger window.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2010

1993 Infiniti J30 3.0 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Previous carInfiniti I30

Summary:

Love it

Faults:

I bought a used 1993 Infinity J30. The car has 135,000 miles on it.

The question I have is what is the general feeling about changing the transmission oil? Some people don't like or recommend it, but the engine oil was very dirty, and when I checked, the tranny oil did not look any better. Oh, and how much does it cost about... to change the struts on this car; I have 4 bad ones?

General Comments:

So far this car is amazing. No rust, and runs tight and strong.

Love the all wheel drive.

Love the speed and pickup.

Hate the interior as far as getting in and out, but once you are in, it's fine...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2009

1993 Infiniti J30 T 3.0 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance193000 miles

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

Apart from the sun roof not working, and the usual things like alternator, brakes and muffler etc, great car; heavy on gas though.

General Comments:

4 months ago the car was running fine, then it started to stall when decelerating. Now it has got to the point where it will only start and run when I only turn the ignition on 5 or 6 times, then try and to start it. I have try and do this at least 6 times, and each time it will pick up RPMS first, and the second time there is no RPM, it just sputters then stalls, then gradually it will build up to full RPMS each time I do this; 1000, then 2000 and so on. I have to gently accelerate each time to bring it to full revs.

I also notice a slight back fire coming from the air intake manifold when close to full RPMS. I leave it running for 10 minutes and it's fine. Go back in 1 hour and it's still fine, but go back in 2 hours then it's back to the begging again (won't start).

I am scared to drive it now because it could be dangerous. Any ideas on what could be wrong with the car???

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2009

1993 Infiniti J30 t 3.0 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance189000 miles
Previous carAudi A6

Summary:

Durable, luxury and sporty all-in-one!

Faults:

Had varnish buildup causing rough idle when warm. (cheap fix).

Power antenna motor went bad, radio still works fine so didn't fix antenna.

Changed timing belt in 2001 at around 100k+miles.

General Comments:

Do my own regular maintenance. Like plugs (easiest plug change I've ever done).

I love how this car handles in city and hwy. Accelerates fast and rides smooth.

This car has NO RUST. I live in IOWA, and I drive year-round everywhere, it even drives as well as a FWD on snow if you're easy on throttle. I plan on driving it another 100k miles.+

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2009

1993 Infiniti J30 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Most recent distance140000 miles

Summary:

Great car... radio dead

Faults:

The radio was dead so I replaced it and it is still dead. Any suggestions?

Oil leak at 140k.

General Comments:

Great car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd January, 2009

1993 Infiniti J30 3.0 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

Infiniti is going places. Their 93 though... NO

Faults:

Sunroof won't open. Moonroof will.

2 window regulators.

Struts are crap.

General Comments:

If the dash lights don't come on, just play with dimmer switch and hit it like you're mad. The dash lights will come back on...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2008

1993 Infiniti J30 3.0 6 cylinder 210 hp from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 6 cylinder 210 hp Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired209000 kilometres
Most recent distance209400 kilometres
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Simply amazing

Faults:

Reside in Canada, so can anyone in Canada (Mississauga) tell me about good place and prices for the shocks? I want to know about the shocks, what kind of shocks do I need? Rear shocks are gone.

One of the previous owners had sound system installed. He pulled it out, and now the rear speakers does not work good, but the front speakers work awesome. A tech told the IC's on the deck for rear speakers are gone. Just wanna know, does the sound system use amplifiers? Or I can just buy a new car deck and put it in, without changing the speaker system?

Bose speakers are awesome. Don't wanna waste them, you know.

General Comments:

Awesome car. I love it, fell in love when I first saw it in 2001, came to Canada in 2001.

Infiniti rocks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2007

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 27 reviews