1993 Infiniti J30 Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1993 Infiniti J30 3.0L V6 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Classic cruiser, seamless design and operation

Faults:

Headlight Relay- Easy fix, $30 part.

Sunroof Motor Binds Occasionally- Expensive and time consuming fix, will live with it.

Door Lock Timer- Car was locking itself, $50 fix, easy.

General Comments:

This is truly a gem, often overlooked. The styling, in my opinion, is gorgeous. Some hate the back end, but with a spoiler it looks nice. The interior far surpasses that of the similar age Maximas and even Q45s. Leather is of a very high grade and has held up beautifully. Carpet is wool, the same stuff you see in Lexus and BMW models, comes clean easily. Bear in mind this car is a tad small inside, so it's not the best for a full family, but for a stylish commuter or cruiser, it's perfect. Rear drive is a huge benefit for overall smoothness and handling. I recommend this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2007

1993 Infiniti J30 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance91500 miles
Previous carLexus LS400

Summary:

Great car, I just got the one with problems

Faults:

This car has electrical problems stemming from the wiring harness. I have had to replace the directional signal switch, the starter key (twice) and the radio.

Sometimes the interior dash lights work, then again, sometimes they don't.

I have had to replace fuel injectors (twice) and had trouble with fuel leaking from the injector port.

General Comments:

The car performs well in dry weather, but loses traction on wet surfaced (I have new Michelin tires).

The interior looks brand new and the exterior looks great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2006

1993 Infiniti J30 j30t 3.0 210 hp from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 210 hp Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance234600 miles
Previous carInfiniti J30

Summary:

Outstanding luxury ride

Faults:

I must say the without a doubt the J30 has been the most impressive automobile I've owned todate. I've always driven luxury Town Cars...With 234k miles the car is still responsive to my every command... Still requires no fluids added between services... gets great attention (even at its age)...its like a graceful older gentleman that is holding his age well... have a 80k motor and tranny waiting to be transplanted when the day comes...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2006

1993 Infiniti J30 3.0 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance173000 miles
Previous carInfiniti J30

Summary:

Great car if you take care of it!!

Faults:

The only problem with this car is that the car gets really hot when you drive for a while. The car doesn't overheat, but the cabin gets really hot.

I also had to replace one of the fuel injectors at 75000.

General Comments:

Generally the car is great. No major problems with this car. Honestly the only problem with this car is that finding parts after my accident was really hard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2006

1993 Infiniti J30 J30t 3.0 6 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 6 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carinfiniti j30

Summary:

Hard working oldie

Faults:

Head Light Relay... It was such a pain and 150 bucks to fix, the right headlight would go on and off all the time so I just had to get the relay fixed... overall the car is really good, but has many many issues with the electric. stereo went bad after 5 years... the relay problems the automatic door locks always jammed so you literally couldnt get out of the car, but all has been fixed.

General Comments:

Great car.. worth the money originally... owned it forever and paid cash for it, only about 19,000. and since I've owned it I have only put about 3k back into it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2006

1993 Infiniti J30 VG30 - V6 3.0L from Guatemala

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission VG30 - V6 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

One of the (if not the) best ever owned

Faults:

1. The water pump broke 3 times in a year, with the previous owner. When I got the car, I replaced the water pump, but did not installed the fan clutch, instead, I installed an electrical fan. Has worked extremely well.

2. The ABS light comes on intermittently. I read somewhere that the relays were to fault. Probably true, because it has no DTC stored in the memory. When the light goes on, all I have to do is shut down the engine, then start it again an off goes the light. Have not found the replacement relays yet. Hard to find them here in Guatemala, since they appear to be kind of special.

3. The most annoying (and gas consuming!) is that at times (and very frequently a couple of moths ago) the revs would go high when in idle. Since I have the (bad?) habit of switching the transmission to neutral on red lights, I noticed that the rpms were almost 1700!! I suspected about the water temperature sensor, cleaned and for a while the car behaved normally. Started again about 2 weeks ago, but now when the car is revved up, I just depress the accelerator pedal a couple of times and the revs go down... no DTC either.

General Comments:

Aside from the previous comments, the car is a dream, specially considering that I got it at about $1,800.00, a real bargain here in Guatemala.

It accelerates hard, and gives you that special "sports car" performance with a very elegant and luxury look.

People here often confuses it with a Jaguar. I usually remarks that the Jaguar is nothing more than a rip off of a J30.

Seriously, the car has a great engine, but the tranny could be a bit smoother.

Interiors are luxury and well thought. The leather feels really nice despite the age. The instrument panel is intuitive and useful, the a/c works great.

The ride is communicative, and I personally feels it handles great both in dry or wet conditions, with no under or over steer during normal and "light hard" driving conditions. Obviously, if you push the car beyond its specifications, it would not behave too good, but even then, this car responds very favorably.

The rear seats agre incredible comfortable, but the head room is no low back there. However the seats are a dream!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2005

15th Nov 2005, 15:56

I too, live in Guatemala. There is an expression here, "Lo barato sale caro" or "what's cheap ends up expensive." If you paid only $1800 in Guatemala for your J30, you should suspect that it was "hot" or start seriously looking for prior flood damage.

28th Dec 2005, 19:36

Actually, the car was that cheap because the previous (and first) owner of the car have had it with the water pump problem. I am pretty sure it was not "hot" because the previous owner bought it at the former NISSAN dealership (CIDEA) where it was imported. Full service record there. In fact, I still have trouble believing the price I paid for it. It needed a couple of repairs (mostly cosmetic) but it was worth it. The final price (including the car itself, maintenance service, new tires and the water pump and electrical fans) was less than $2500.

9th Feb 2008, 16:16

Better keep it locked behind a fence every night.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 27 reviews