1993 Infiniti J30 Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1993 Infiniti J30 J30t 3.0Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance325000 miles

Summary:

Great car-Just take care of transmission

Faults:

Front passenger window would not roll down at 230,000 miles. Transmission gave out at 84,000 miles. Replaced both tension rod bushings at 140,000 miles. Did timing belt/water pump replacement at 180,000. Changed battery at 170,000 miles. Changed power pack for radio at 90,000 miles. Replaced power antenna at 300,000 miles. Still on the original brake rotors, power steering pump, and suspension. Replaced the rear steering rack at 245,000 miles.

General Comments:

Car still drives like new even thought I have never changed the struts. Power comes at around 3000 rpm and really pulls the car down the road. Seats are great. I also own a 1999 Lexus gs 300 and I much rather drive the J30. My back hurts after driving the GS300 for a few hours. Steering is a little sluggish, but still handles greater than most new cars I have driven. I always use Mobil 1 synthetic oil every 7500 miles. Never overheated and AC still blows ice cold air. Never changed a bulb. I think that with good care can probably go another 300,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2003

15th Dec 2003, 08:34

What is the interval (60K or 90K) to replace Timing Belt?

2nd Jan 2004, 16:18

The owners manual and infiniti and nissan both say to change the timing belt at 60,000 miles. But I have heard that the belts can go much longer. I changed mine at 180,000 because I was afraid it might eventually break. As for the water pump. I just changed it along with the timing belt. The car never overheated, but the standard practice is to change both at the same time.

16th Mar 2004, 19:15

Apparently, the intervals for the timing belt changed in mid-year 1994--I think May, but can't remember exactly--from 60K to about 100K...I took mine in at 60K expecting to have the timing belt done, but my mechanic researched it, checked the maunfacture date on my car, and determined that I could wait until 100K-which I did without problems.

18th Sep 2005, 16:58

I just wanted to know what is the current mileage on the car is it still running and do you own the car? the reason I ask is because I am thinking about buying an older car to have as a project car and the '93 J30, '92 Q45, and the '92 Maxima are what I am trying to decide between.

6th Aug 2009, 15:29

I bought my 94 J30 with 220,000 miles on it at $1800.

It ran fine, but needed about $3000 in repairs for the suspension, catalytic converters and O2 sensors. Which I didn't find out til I took it to get inspected.

The exhaust had holes that needed welding to fix.

The driver door locked up on me, pain to fix.

Now the injectors are going bad. If I had to do it over again, I would not buy this car.

Parts are expensive, and from what I've read and experienced, not worth the cost unless this would be your dream car.

Basically if I knew I was going to spend 5000 plus, I would have went for a better car.

1993 Infiniti J30 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired153000 miles
Most recent distance153000 miles
Previous carIsuzu I-Mark

Summary:

A very expensive bargain

Faults:

Seats were in very poor condition, the leather was destroyed, dirty injectors, electronic system completly damage, the trunk wouldn't open automatically.

General Comments:

Engine was good though after all the miles and abuse of the former owner, still a beautiful car, still handles very good, cabin gloomy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2003

2nd Jan 2005, 15:35

I own a J30T. I really like this car, but it has cost me lots of money. The leather on the top of the door panels has been getting worst just from normal wear. I now have 147,000 miles on the car. When the car runs, it runs well. The exterior is excellent. It is a very good looking car. The maintenance has been kept up on the car, but the car has cost me over $4,000.00. in the last few months. Something is always wrong with the car and it always costs at least $400.00 to $500.00 to have it fixed. The ABS light came on last night. I got out of the car and it continued running. Today it sets in the garage, dead.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 27 reviews