1994 Infiniti J30 from North America - Comments

17th May 2001, 15:01

I can't afford to keep my Infiniti. The dealers really rip you off on the cost to maintain this car. Also, the dealers have been quite incompetent, unable to diagnose problems and make repairs timely.

I like the car, but this one will be a first... and last.

16th Jun 2001, 00:25

I have to agree with the first guy. It is a nice ride. I own a 95 J30t and could not be happier with another cruiser. Nissan are a good manufacturer and make long lasting cars. I also give the J30 an eleven.

24th Jun 2001, 04:48

Why do I get the feeling that people who write these overly positive reviews are affiliated with nissan? I've noticed this trend with other manufactures as well.

10th Aug 2001, 15:58

I have a 1994 J30. I like the car very much, but it's not as great as the previous comments have described the car.

30th May 2002, 20:42

I have a 1994 J30. Bought from dealer in FL. after my father turned it in after 24 month lease (It sat in father's garage for most of 24 months). Got it with 22k. Great car, excellent paint and interior. Only problem is sunroof motor starting to go. Dealer says it is very expensive to fix (I think it was around $800+). Needless to say, I don't use the roof. Any suggestions? Thanks. (By the way, it has been serviced at dealer since new. Loaner is worth the expensive oil change).

12th Sep 2002, 11:30

I own a 1994-J30T and it is, without fear of contradiction, the finest car I have ever driven. My car has 294,000 miles on it and I am looking to buy another just like it. I am not affiliated with Nissan in any way.

14th Sep 2002, 22:46

Indeed, I too am not in any way affiliated with the Nissan, Companies, however I too own a 1993 triple black, J30t, with 165,000+ miles on it, (daily driver, still going strong!) I have truthfully owned this car since new, and for the last 10 years have had only minor repairs IE: Bose stereo went out at 65,000 miles, timing belt needed replacement at about 110,000,and sunroof used to stick, but after commercial grade lubrication, has never given me any problem and honestly that's it! I honestly too have had a number of higher end cars after this one, including a 2000 Jaguar S. type, and a 1997 BMW, yet this car in my opinion can run with the best of them, that's why I keep it around. Ride, handling, power, and interior amenities are all top of the line. Fuel consumption can be a bit high, but I have since switched to middle grade fuel and the substitution justifies the cost. I don't normally do things like this, writing on the INTERNET and all, but this car is like the little secret of the automotive world, (and that's a good thing, because its rare,) but really this is one of the few products that you can buy that is well worth the cost, in a way paying for itself in craftsmanship, durability, and longevity. Hell, people still ask me what it is and what year it is when I pull into the fuel station, hey not bad for a 10 year old car! I think I'll get rid of this car when it finally dies or becomes too expensive to maintain, but the new G35, and soon to come (mid 2003) G35 Coupe looks tempting too!

18th Oct 2002, 22:47

I am the owner of a 1997 J30, purchased with 38,000 miles on it. It came as a "certified" pre-owned vehicle with a full 100,000 mile warranty (with a $50 per incident deductible). This car has been a pleasure to drive since day one. I've been able to get 26-27 miles per gallon on a highway tank. We have added the K&N air filter and have noticed an increase in horse power and fuel economy.

The minor problems with the car (sticking rear window, fuel pump noise from rear trunk) have been quickly resolved by the Dealership, professionally each and every time.

The car came with Yokohama tires, but I will change them out to Michelin MXV4s when the time comes as those are the tires I favor for a sedan (aside from their superior road manners, they afford a much quieter ride). I have no affiliation with any automotive advertiser etc. And I agree with the person "eyeing" the G35 - I've sat in it several times...I'm afraid if I take it for a drive, it may be my next Infiniti.

9th Nov 2002, 16:51

I recently purchased an Infiniti J30 (94). It has 75,000 miles on it and drives like a dream. I love this car. I have had to replace the tension rods and the sun roof needs a new motor. Other than that, I have no complaints. The car handles well in all weather and road conditions I have been in. I feel it is a safe and well built automobile.

I have found that the Infiniti dealer is expensive on repairs, but, for the most part, worth the expense.

10th Dec 2002, 03:38

I have a 94 j30 that has recently started having transmission problems. While driving home from work one day, the trans kicked itself out of overdrive. When I pulled up to the next stop light, I noticed that upon acceleration the car seemed like it wasn't in 1st gear. It tried to take off in 2nd, then completely kicked it self out of gear. Luckily I was only about a mile from my home, so I manage to get it home, with it popping in and out of gear the whole way. If anyone has had this same experience, please post a comment and let me know what the problem was. I am SCARED to take it to the dealership, because I will have it towed in, and I know their eyes will light up with delight when they see me.

28th Dec 2002, 13:29

When I first brought my used 95 Infiniti J30 two years ago, I had trouble with the gear shift. I could not put the car in drive. I kept having it towed to Nissan to fix. After numerous tries they found that tokens had slip in the gear shift. Other than token problem the Infiniti is a very nice car. It rides excellent and is very roomy. The J30 is a sturdy car. The only problem I find that it is very expensive to maintain. The parts are very expensive because they have to be ordered.

22nd Feb 2003, 20:37

I also own a 1994 Infiniti J-30 that I bought for $8,500 with about 55,000 miles on it. I have loved the car, but like other posters on this board, my sunroof motor recently went out (at 70,000 miles) and my Bose stereo also had to be re-manufactured for about $250 at 65,000 miles. Also, the heated seat function stopped working at about 60,000 miles. I was driving around one day and my sunroof suddenly started sliding open on its own, without me touching the switch. The motor had malfunctioned and would not stop running even when the sunroof had opened all the way. I was only a mile from the dealer at the time and they were able to disconnect the motor and get the sunroof shut as a temporary solution. I've now been meaning to take it in to get an estimate on replacing the motor. I cringed when I saw one poster say the sunroof motor will cost $800 for a new part. That's robbery. And yet, I can't imagine the car without it.