1994 Infiniti Q45 2.5L V8 from North America

Summary:

1994 models are a steal. Get one!

Faults:

1) Steering joints leaking every 30k miles.

2) Engine knock sensors faulty at 70k.

3) LCD display on dash replaced at 75k.

4) A/C control unit replaced at 75k.

6) Sony disc changer quit at 75k.

7) Opening drivers side door with key sets off alarm. Keyless entry OK. Never fixed it.

General Comments:

Had this car since new. A joy to drive from day one. A good touring car that is under rated.

Considering complexity of the car the problems have been few, but expensive to fix. It drives today much like it did back in 1994. Need Yokohama tires to really enjoy the ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th July, 2004

1994 Infiniti Q45 t V8 from North America

Summary:

An affordable family sports car

Faults:

Had to replace the brakes twice.

Fuel pump starting to go bad.

General Comments:

This car is a great value and is worth every cent.

It handles great; the steering is tight and it has four wheel turning.

It has excellent acceleration and pickup!

Pleasure to drive!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2004

1994 Infiniti Q45 Standard 4.5 V8 from North America

Summary:

Nothing out there, better, under $100,000

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong, since I have owned it. The passenger's window motor has been replaced, by the previous owner.

General Comments:

The most awesome car I have owned. Drives like it is on rails, cruises easily at ANY speed, spend 6 hours behind the wheel, and you will feel refreshed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2003

1994 Infiniti Q45 4.5L V8 from North America

Summary:

A poorly-constructed vehicle with poor reliability.

Faults:

The transmission has been replaced 2 times, once at 48,000 miles, and once at 65,000 miles. Replacements were factory rebuilt units. ($3,500 each)

The front suspension alignment arms have silicone bushings which rupture every 30,000 miles. ($300 each)

Fuel injectors ($280 each) had to be replaced at 70,000 miles.

Wiring harness is made up of solid strand wires. There have been numerous breaks in the harness which have had to be repaired. In one case, the brake lights quit working. In another case, the mass air flow meter electrical ground broke.

Interior finishings have deteriorated badly. Leather covering on the steering wheel has peeled off in places. Carpets have yellowed and rear package shelf fabric is badly faded. (The car is always garaged.)

Replacing the plastic shift lock cover (about 1/4 x 1/2 inch in size) on the transmission panel requires the purchase of the entire cover at $500.

General Comments:

This car is comfortable to drive and handles well.

The cabin is small and there are no cup holders.

The car is poorly constructed and requires enormous amounts of very expensive maintenance to keep it operating.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th January, 2003

14th Feb 2003, 08:17

This person must abuse cars considering other comments and the one I have.

17th Feb 2003, 11:30

If you looked a bit harder, you'd see there are several other reviews that think this is a bad car. But when vanity takes the front seat over more...um, important aspects of an automobile, like safety and reliability, you usually DON'T get what you pay for. Compared to its competition, this car does not excel in any area. It's not more reliable, safer, cheaper to fix, or any other important aspect over it's competition. If you want a vehicle that is simply a status symbol and nothing more, cars like the q45 are great. Personally, I'd rather go with something a bit uglier, but safer, much more reliable, cheaper to buy, cheaper to maintain, and less trendy like a Volvo. And yes, Volvos typically ARE cheaper to fix compared to their competition, yet more reliable. Looks are only skin deep!

1994 Infiniti Q45 4.5L from North America

Summary:

Strong performer

Faults:

Fuel pump, water pump.

General Comments:

The car is great, but the engine started whining at about 90k. The mechanic I use can't figure it out. It seems to come from near the belts. Just a steady whine that increases and decreases with RPM's. Any help would be appreciated at kevin.anglim@UBSpainewebber.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th October, 2001

8th Jan 2002, 03:52

Have the timing chains checked. This is an interference engine. When the chain goes, so does the engine. It's a common Q45 problem.

Tom Collins

The Auto Answerman

www.theautoanswerman.com

10th Nov 2003, 11:18

I have a '90 that developed this sound 4 months ago. Found an Infiniti specialty shop in Atlanta that pointed me to the set of pulleys on the front of the engine. $100 and sound gone!

11th Sep 2006, 17:04

I also have a question on a 1994 Infiniti Q45. I just bought it about a week ago, and the guy said it was cutting off on him. After I drove it for about a week, it started cutting off on me. When you go to stop it will just cut off. Also when I was driving today, it would try and stop going as I went down the road. It is like it is not getting enough gas or something.

I took it to a mechanic and he put the computer to it, and said that the mass air flow sensor was showing up and that the knock sensor was also showing up. This car has two knock sensors on it at $190.00 each. So by the time he put on the 2 knock sensors, the bill came to $600.00 and it still jerks. I am hoping someone can tell me what might be wrong with it? I don't have any more money to throw away!!

8th Jan 2011, 21:01

Mine was making a whining sound too. It turned out to be the power steering pump. It had a leaky line, and when it's running low, it whines.