1999 Isuzu Rodeo Reviews - Page 7 of 13

1999 Isuzu Rodeo LS V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carDodge Dart

Faults:

When I purchased the car the gas gauge was not registering. took out the fuel tank and removed sending unit. The metal tabs had to be bent back into position because it would not touch sensor unless the tank is full. Now the ABS light is coming on and the brakes are locking up on occasion. other wise I love my rodeo even thou it rides like you are in a rodeo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th November, 2006

1999 Isuzu Rodeo LSE V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Not my choice for next car

Faults:

51000 miles the transmission switch went out. Cost at dealer was 450.00 for repair.

45000, turn signal switch broke. Dealer wanted to replace the switch, at several hundred dollars labor and parts. I repaired it with a .50 cent rivet and about an hour and a half of my time.

General Comments:

Sturdy, with a comfortable ride.

The car's a gas hog at 14 mpg city.

The care is paid for, so I won't sell it. I continue to maintain service at regular intervals, even though the warranties have run out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th October, 2006

1999 Isuzu Rodeo LS Gas V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Gas V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired35398 miles
Most recent distance115120 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Overall not too bad, has held up pretty well

Faults:

I had to have the fuel sending unit and ERG sensor replaced at 36K miles.

At 94K, the condensor coil, two A/C hoses, compressor clutch. All under an extended warranty.

I have the same oil burning problem.

General Comments:

My major problem is that I have a leak coming from what appears to be the rear bearing on the transmission. I cannot see it actually leaking, and I have tightened all of the bolts on the lower pan. I hate to take it in without narrowing it down since I do not trust dealerships in general. The can almost always come up with $600-$1000 worth of stuff needing to be done to a vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st August, 2006

1999 Isuzu Rodeo LS 3.2 liter from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.2 liter Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Gird your loins from the Isuzu Rodeo or Honda Passport

Faults:

Too many to list, but here are the main problems: bad fuel tank sending unit, ABS light, check engine light, failed emissions, mysterious thumping noises, noises coming from rear of car, thumping in transmission that mechanic cannot diagnose, terrible gas guzzler.

General Comments:

Down with Isuzu! This is the worst car I have ever owned. I bought it at around 108k miles and within weeks started having problems. The check engine light came on 2 days after I bought it, and it then failed the emissions test due to carbon deposits in the hose connected to the EGR valve. The ABS light is on because wheel sensors are bad; had to replace O2 sensors as well. Gas gauge does not work due too bad fuel tank sending unit, which is almost $500 to fix. No thank you! I just want to get rid of this heap. My sister has the Honda Passport (same car) and has suffered from most of the same problems. My fan pulley bearing system also went out, which was $450 to fix. Honestly, just talking about this car makes me want to either start crying or cussing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd July, 2006

19th Jul 2006, 17:48

I have Honda Passport 2000 LX. It has same problem. Fuel meter doesn't work, rough idle...

17th Aug 2006, 19:57

Yes, yes and yes. I have a 99 rodeo and have experienced the same problems. And at only 58,000 miles.

It was a great ride until it hit the 5 year mark.

4th Oct 2007, 15:38

The fuel sending unit is $42 at the dealer and a mechanic can put in it for around $150. The $500 fee is buying a new fuel pump.

1999 Isuzu Rodeo LS V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Faults:

The check engine light will not go off. Auto techs all what to replace the same part {egr valve}. It has been replace twice and still the light stays on.

For every one having trouble with the fuel gauge hate to tell you, but the fuel pump is going bad!!

General Comments:

This is my 2nd rodeo there will not be a 3rd.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th June, 2006

1999 Isuzu Rodeo from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Faults:

Hi all - we are not alone in the issues with the 99 Rodeo...ABS, Fuel Sensor, Head gasket leaking, ERG valve and burning oil - while I haven't had the issues with the wipers, the fluid doesn'tflow which makes for a problem in the winter on grimy days when the slush is melting. I am angry we all have the same problems. Of course being female, I do not know how or could handle the repairs - so I have to rely on a mechanic, who wants to replace the whole fuel part, not just the sensor - parts and labor - 585.85. The ERG valve parts and labor: 323.15. The ABS issue, the wires are corroded so they need to be replaced $97.94 plus the $97.94 for them even looking at it. They forgot to check on the washer fluid pump/motor thing. I have no idea if I am getting ripped off!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th May, 2006

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 54 reviews