1999 Isuzu Rodeo LS V6 4WD from North America


Great Vehicle!


A transmission leak occurred at 94000 miles. The dealer charged $150 to repair it.

The same fuel gauge (actually the fuel sender unit) problem experienced by everyone else started at 100000 miles. I had it fixed at 118000 miles for $300 at the dealer.

The ABS sensors stopped working properly at 118000. The cost to replace was $250.

The rear window wiper stopped working. The module which controls it had to be replaced at 118000. The dealer charged $400 for this.

General Comments:

I purchased this vehicle new and have only had it serviced (not including oil changes) by the dealership. I would only take the vehicle to a dealership with a "Master Isuzu" mechanic. A master Isuzu mechanic has special training and years of experience.

I have 118000 miles on the vehicle (same engine, same transmission) and it has been extremely reliable and maintenance has been on the very low side. The true 4WD system is great for snow and off-roading.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2005

10th Nov 2005, 11:34

$250 for the ABS sensors?!?! Wow, what dealship was that? I was just quoted $600 for my Isuzu Amigo 98. (I assume that it is the same sensor.)

1999 Isuzu Rodeo LSE 6 cylinder from North America


I've had the car 2 1/2 years and the engine completely blew on it with only 58,000 and very little long distance driving under it's belt. I'm furious and am considering suing. Don't buy an Isuzu!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th September, 2005

1999 Isuzu Rodeo LS 3.2 V6 from North America


I am happy with it


I own this car since 2000, I bought used. The only problem I have right now is the Neutral safety switch. Car won't start (from time to time) in park, but in neutral. Dealer wants $350 for it. I am so thankful so far that's the only problem I am facing right now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th August, 2005

1999 Isuzu Rodeo LS Rodaro from North America


Great for a while, but not worth the trouble in the end


The fuel sending unit is bad and I now rely on mileage by the tachometer for a gas gauge.

The windshield wipers do not work on hesitate, but all other speeds work fine.

The master window controller has 2 bad relays, the driver window and the rear window on the driver side.

The transmission is not shifting properly from 2 to 3, it is an automatic.

The EGR valve wemt bad and accelerating is slow.

General Comments:

I used to love my Rodeo, but as soon as I paid it off, everything started going bad.

I think this vehicle has serious electrical problems.

Isuzu should address some of these issues to maintain credibility.

Has quality and integrity been omitted from the business market?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th August, 2005

16th Oct 2005, 09:35

I have the same problem with the shifting from 2nd to 3rd with an automatic. Did a mechanic ever figure out what was wrong?

19th Dec 2005, 11:59

I had a 2000 Rodeo with the same fuel gauge problem, it was fixed under ISUZU's 100k mile power train warranty, they need to replace something in the fuel tank, I had it done free on my Isuzu. You should call your dealer and find out if your car is covered, as I don't know what years Isuzu offered the 100k mile power train warranty.

1999 Isuzu Rodeo LS V6 from North America


Greatest small SUV being sold


At 50,000 miles the engine light came on. Took it to the dealer we purchased it from and they flushed the motor and reset the senor light. At 55,000 miles the gas gauge started showing empty at 3/4 of a tank of gas. We just watch the miles now.

General Comments:

I wish they would recall the gas gauge since that is a very common problem.

I wouldn't trade my rodeo in on anything else. I'm very happy with it.

If you find a SUV that is without problem let me know. I have had less problems with this car than I have with any other small SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2005

8th Aug 2005, 00:55

I have an 1999 Isuzu Rodeo LS Rodaro package, pretty expensive vehicle. I had no problems with it other than the few recalls, approximately 3, during the time I was paying on it. I paid it off in February, 2005. Since then, it has been one problem after another. First, the windshield wipers wouldn't work on the hesitate, although the other speeds work fine. Then, the fuel sending unit went bad and I now rely on mileage to know when to refuel. Third, the relays on the driver side master controller started going bad, and now I cannot roll down the driver window, or roll up the rear window on the driver side. Most recently, the transmission started acting funny changing from second to third, it is an automatic, but it shifts up to second smoothly and then is very rough from second to third, but smooth again from third to high gear. The 2nd to 3rd gear sounds like the transmission is about to fall out on the ground. I love the look of my Rodeo and have always been proud to own it, but this has been very discouraging since I had only had one month of no payments until everything started going wrong. If anyone knows of a recall I may have missed that covered any of these things, or any general helpful input, please post your comment so that myself and others with these same issues may learn from your expertise or misfortune (I hope it isn't the latter, for your sake). I thank you for any help.