1999 Isuzu Rodeo Reviews - Page 12 of 13

1999 Isuzu Rodeo LS V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Faults:

Air conditioning had to be replaced 2 months out of warranty, catalytic converter before 8yrs/80,000 miles, gas gage doesn't work, power window in back doesn't work, burned 7 quarts of oil on a 2,000 mile trip. Blue book value 4,700 still owe 11,000. Lost control in the rain multiple times found out later about antilock braking recall " Never notified by mail"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th June, 2004

1999 Isuzu Rodeo S 4 cylinder. 2.2 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. 2.2 Liter Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

A piece of Junk with Style that is expensive to maintain!

Faults:

Right after I bought the car, the clutch master cylinder broke. It took about two weeks for the dealer to get the part. When they finally had the part it was quite expensive.

Soon after that, the fuel sensor broke and I had to rely on my odometer from then on, because the part was just too expensive. If that was not enough, the crank-shaft sensor broke too.

Since, I was not getting a very good mileage out of my SUV, I decided to take the car for a tune-up to my mechanic. Later on that day he called me and told me that to perform the tune-up, I had to buy a set of spark plug cables worth almost $300. In that moment I decided to just sell the car soon! The Rodeo Isuzu is a non-stopping money drain. To me it is just ridiculous to have to pay $300 for a simple set of spark plug cables, or 400 for a sensor; Not even Honda parts are that expensive. So if you are reading this review, please learn from my mistake and do not buy this car!

General Comments:

When it comes to Mileage vs. Fuel consumption, the car has a really poor performance.

The car has very little power, a 4-Cly. 2.2 Liter engine is too small for such heavy body. It just does not perform well. The car needs more power in order to have the right torque, and a better fuel economy. Since, the car has a small engine, but a big body, the motor has to do twice as much effort to perform well, hence, it has to consume more fuel. In conclusion, although the car has a small engine, it consumes fuel like a Lincoln Navigator!

Good things about the car: It looks very nice, it has a lot of room inside and it is rather comfortable to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th May, 2004

17th Jul 2004, 23:46

Poor fuel economy and performance when the engine is poorly matched to the body size is hardly a new problem. In Australia, Toyota Hiluxes with the 2.2l 4-cylinder engine got better fuel economy when the engine was swapped for a 4.2l V8!

Did you not take the car for a drive first, before purchase? If fuel economy is an issue, why not buy a diesel?

1999 Isuzu Rodeo from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

We love it and are preparing to buy another one so we'll each have one.

Faults:

I've had no major problems. I've replaced the brakes and tires, but with over 150,000 miles on it that is to be expected. Currently the AC has been rumbling, but I haven't made it to the mechanic yet for a diagnosis.

General Comments:

The car drives wonderfully and has plenty of cargo space. I would like to add a map light though. We took this car on an 8 week, 25,000 mile trip across the country and up to Alaska.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2004

1999 Isuzu Rodeo LS V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

For the price, it is the best deal on the market

Faults:

Check engine light keeps coming on since it reached 75,000 miles.

My mechanic can't seem to figure out what is wrong with it.

Otherwise it has been a fantastic car.

General Comments:

I put on bigger tires and it reduced the road noise and made for a much more comfortable ride.

I drive for work and this truck has great pick up off the line and passing on the highway.

Excellent cargo room. I can fit my German Shepherd and 3 friends in it comfortably.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2004

22nd Mar 2005, 12:07

The most common reason with an vehicle for mysterious CHECK ENGINE LIGHT is the gas tank cap not being tightened properly. be sure you tighten it as far as you can. If problem continues, get a new cap. This worked on my vehicle. Also Always use OEM spark plugs (DENSO, I believe). Watch the fuel regulator, if starting problems, easy to replace. Oil, yes as other have said, they consume oil, check often (each fill up)! Good luck.

7th Aug 2005, 21:59

My check engine light also came on, but mine was at 65,000 miles. I had to replace my engine for a grand total of 5,018 dollars and 82 cents, a week later the check engine light comes on.

4th Jan 2009, 01:05

The biggest tire I can put on my car without rubbing anything is 235-85-r15.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 54 reviews