1999 Isuzu Rodeo Reviews - Page 11 of 13

1999 Isuzu Rodeo 4wd LSE 3.2L from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carAcura CL

Summary:

Probably the best SUV on the market

Faults:

The gas gauge has a mind of its own. When full, it reads correctly. After about 50 miles into a tank of gas, It fluctuates from empty to about half a tank. About 90 miles into a tank of gas it falls to empty and stays there until I fill up. This started to happen at 90k miles and it is too expensive to fix.

I have heard this problem from many Subaru/Isuzu customers. They should do something about it.

General Comments:

Other than the gas gauge, this SUV has proven very reliable. I would definitely consider buying another Isuzu.

The car runs extremely well. I think if you take basic car for your car (ex. change oil on time) and perform scheduled maintenance on time, you should have no problem at all with this vehicle.

I think I will keep this car until it dies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2004

19th Jul 2005, 01:01

I found this site by searching for known problems on the Isuzu gas gauge. I own a 1999 Rodeo that already has 136K miles on it and mine too is having problems with the gauge. I also found that it is too expensive to fix and just keep an eye on the miles.

However, this is not the first problem I have had. (and no, my problems happened before the miles were really high.) My biggest problem has been with it surging. It started around 30K miles and when I was at a complete stop. The idle would jump from 500 to 2000 continually. Then the problem spread to also include times when just let my foot off the gas while driving. I had to take it in for service 4 times before they found the problem and it still happens occasionally. I was told a plug was not connected correctly and they fixed it by putting lock-tight in it. (I think they said the plug was near the Power Steering unit.)

There have been more issues, but most due to the extreme wear and tear my truck has had to endure. I have decided, that despite all the issues and bad feelings I have towards it, that I will drive it into the ground. It is not worth much in the condition it is in, and it really is the perfect size. However, I do not think I will buy another one. I need something with better gas mileage - especially if I continue adding miles at my current rate.

1999 Isuzu Rodeo from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

Jury still out, depends on Isuzu

Faults:

Engine oil usage, has there been any success with Isuzu helping with the fix for hi oil consumption? 800 miles per quart. Would like to know what other folks are doing in lieu of dumping the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th November, 2004

1st Apr 2005, 08:27

Try using a different weight of oil or different brand. My Rodeo is a 1994 with 94000 miles on it. I add a pint (1/2qt) of Valvoline 10W40 every 1000 miles and do a full oil change every 3000 miles. You might do better with a 30W

My only complaint is when cold, it is slow for about a mile or so and doesn't get the speed up to 15mph which it needs to shift from low to 2nd gear (A/T).

19th Apr 2005, 12:32

I started using Castrol 10W40 High Mileage in my 1999 Rodeo with 98000 miles and hardly see any oil loss, may be 1/2 quart before Routine oil change of 3000 miles.

1999 Isuzu Rodeo LS 3.2L V6 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2L V6 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance75365 miles

Summary:

Great bargain car

Faults:

Consumes Extra Oil than ususal, needed to replace piston rings.

Starter motor kicked, solenoid needed to be replaced.

Gas gauge needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

Even though the engine consumed extra oil for a bit, I just bought a couple cases and stuck one or two bottles in the rear storage compartment and checked the oil every time I filled the gas tank.

Great handling, not once has the steering or braking failed me.

Great seating and cargo capacity, not too big for me, and not too small to run my friends and me from school and back.

Since the relative I got this car from was not car savvy, they did not maintain it very well, so it's due for an overhaul.

I would definitely get another Isuzu as soon as this Rodeo has out lived its lifespan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2004

8th Sep 2005, 18:12

I have a 1999 Rodeo, and everything that this person has stated is absolutely true. Every thing that he has identified is what I have experienced, and continue to experience. I will never purchase, recommend, suggest this manufacturer/maker to anyone. I have my quarts of oil in the the rear. As for the sensor lights... I just leave them on because the dealerships are rip offs, and do not know what they are talking about.Don't let me forget the gas gauge... which does not register. These issue's basically happened when I drove the car of the dealer's parking lot. Unbelievable to say the least!!!

8th Jan 2006, 13:25

WOW...Same here: I have a 1999 Rodeo LS 2wd and my gas gauge quit sometime in 2002. This vehicle consumes about a quart of oil a week..therefore, the case of oil is in the rear storage compartment (same story). A new development is the "check engine" light, which no one can seem to figure out, the passenger rear power window stopped working years ago, the 6 CD in dash player quit about a year ago as well, and there has been the annoying ABS light on for about 3 yrs. now and after several visits to the dealership who would "temporarily" fix it, time after time. It is in my opinion that Isuzu made a piece of garbage. Maybe Isuzu should fix all of these VERY COMMON and repeated problems free of charge, but then again maybe the sky is plaid.

26th Jun 2008, 01:40

I used to have a 1996 Isuzu Rodeo, and the check engine light was always on, so I had my uncle look at it, and it was just the air filter was clogged. So when you think you have a major problem, just do what you can by yourself to try and figure it out, and you can save yourself a lot of money. I am looking to buy a Isuzu Rodeo because I love those SUVs.

30th Jan 2010, 10:11

I have a 1999 Isuzu Rodeo, and it has given me a lot of problems. The check engine light is always on and off. The ABS light has been on for the last 4 years. I'm consistently adding 3-4 quarts of oil between oil changes. My mom has a Honda Passport (same year), and hers is giving her similar problems. It cost her over 2000 just to get timing belts replaced.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 54 reviews