2000 Jaguar S-Type Reviews - Page 10 of 12

2000 Jaguar S-Type S Type 3.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

This is worse than the horror stories I had heard about Jaguars

Faults:

At first there was a small coolant leak on the garage floor. I located the source and in the process of placing a hose clamp on the small by-pass hose the 1/4" nipple (which was made from some form of plastic) broke completely off. Unfortunately this was part of the cooling system manifold which cost $300 to replace.

Both front windows have failed and will not operate.

The shifter is being replaced as we speak for the second time.

General Comments:

If not for the 1972 Volkswagen Beetle I once owned this would be the biggest piece of junk that I ever owned. So I guess the UK finally has something to thank Germany for.

I am waiting for Chevy to put 0% on the Tahoe and this piece of junk is out of here.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th July, 2007

9th Jul 2007, 23:18

You have very high standards when it comes to maintenance, I that's not really all that bad for a seven year old car. Theres A lot worse.

18th Nov 2007, 04:27

I agree with the comment above. 3 faults in 7 years and a piece of damage you caused through improper maintenance, and you're complaining. Unbelievable!

And you think a Chevy is somehow going to improve on this. lol.

29th Jan 2008, 20:34

I have had nothing, but problems with my 2000 Jag S Type. Window regulators, every two months I have had to replace at least one "$500.00 each". Transmission $5400.00 oh yeah by the way Jag dealerships don't repair transmissions. They only remove and replace transmissions. The worst service I have ever experienced at a dealership. The headliner has fallen off and I have replaced two gear shifters at $450.00 a piece. What ever you do don't park this car on a incline!!! Run from the JAguars!!!

8th Jun 2008, 20:54

The 2000 S-Type that I bought new likewise, has been a money pit. I just quit putting money into it. The shifter, the back windows do not work at $300 a side, head gasket $600, and right now it has been it has been sitting for 2 years, and I have no idea what wrong with it. The dealership is 100 miles away, and it cost $250 to carry it there. New this car was $40.000, and I had not seen the head liner come down in a car since my dad's old work car.

2000 Jaguar S-Type 4.0 V8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carJaguar S-Type

Summary:

Several problem, but great car

Faults:

Brake problems, front end problems and transmission problems had it in shop and repair cost were over 10000.00 had an extended warranty, but am now in fight with them they do not want to cover the repairs as stated in their warranty contract.

General Comments:

Car handles great and is a beautiful car and I want it repaired, but the extended warranty I purchased do not want to cover what they said they would cover in the warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2007

2000 Jaguar S-Type 3.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

The best car I have ever owned... a real head turner

Faults:

Front driver electric window is faulty.

Loud squeaking noise from suspension and steering.

Boot is not fitted properly resulting in the "boot open" being constantly displayed on the computer display panel. Warning momentarily disappears only if the boot is manually pressed down.

I would appreciate it if any of the readers could suggest a remedy to the squeaking suspension, and the boot fault.

General Comments:

With the exception to the minor faults previously listed, this car is a pleasure to own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2007

2000 Jaguar S-Type 3.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired65500 miles
Most recent distance65888 miles
Previous carFord Freestar

Faults:

Well the transmission started to jerk a few days after we got the car. I was told there was no fixing the problem, that it was an ongoing problem that Jaguar knew about. Have to upgrade the transmission and that would cost about 4000.00 dollars.

I also discovered that the cooling system is leaking - found spot in driveway and investigated it. I thought this was the car of my dreams, but now I am regretting buying it.

General Comments:

Do not get me wrong, everyone who has seen the car thought it was the best thing that they have ever seen... If they only knew.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 2006

18th May 2006, 15:19

Well, what can I say the car is beautiful. However, mysteriously enough our S-type also jerks. We have tuned it up and serviced everything that the repair shop can think of to the tune of $1500. And still the problem exists. People are afraid to ride with us because they think the car will break down. How embarrassing to have a luxury car that no one will ride in.

22nd Jun 2006, 18:42

Your car has a vacuum leak in between the lower intake and the motor. There's a hose that deteriorates and leaks. Expect to pay $1000. Sorry you already paid for a tune-up, most of that work will have to be redone.

Average review marks: 4.7 / 10, based on 51 reviews