1991 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 6 of 10

1991 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0L inline 6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0L inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

Defines dependability

Faults:

At 210,000 miles the neutral safety switch is starting to go out, so sometimes I have to put it in neutral to start it. A new neutral safety switch was over $400 at the dealer.

At 180,000 miles the parking brake broke.

General Comments:

My Jeep has now been in four accidents and all four times were other people's faults, it has been fully repaired each time though.

Amazingly after 210,000 miles it still has more power than a lot of brand new import cars.

It is amazing how much torque these Jeeps produce.

The openness of the cabin is very helpful.

The seats kind of conform to your back making for a comfortable ride.

The car seems to suck down the gas in town, but does better on the freeway.

Even with the neutral safety switch problem this car starts every time.

I have the factory window sticker which says the car's manufacterers retail price was $22,895.

This is one of Chrysler's best ideas ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2005

2nd Oct 2005, 15:51

In regard to the neutral safety switch, they are repairable quite easily. Instructions are on the web I don't remember the site address, but just type in jeep cherokee neutral safety switch and you will find it. Cost $0.00.

1991 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 kilometres
Most recent distance290000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Good, but only if you are mechanically minded

Faults:

The power steering pressure hose, the clutch slave cylinder (as well as the clutch pressure plate), brake calipers, starter, alternator, clutch master cylinder, most of the gauges have needed replacing (although ordering a used cluster is not very expensive).

Although I haven't replaced any other parts, this seems to be a vehicle that needs a lot of TLC, which may not be a problem if you like maintaining and repairing your vehicles.

General Comments:

Good SUV, although it does require a lot of maintenance.

The 4.0 I-6 is an amazing engine, I have never had any problems with it. I live in the arctic, and I can leave my Jeep for weeks and still be able to start it (even in -50 celcius temps).

If you are going to buy one, make sure you get a good mechanic to look over it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th May, 2005

1991 Jeep Cherokee Limited 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired161000 kilometres
Most recent distance244600 kilometres
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Dependable SUV

Faults:

Front speed sensors needed to be replaced.

Front Axel and universal joints replaced at 225000km.

The water pump was leaking and was replaced at 240000km as well as belt tension adjuster.

The master seal has been replaced because of a small leak.

The fuel pump periodically leaked so it was replaced.

The brakes are done every 60000km, the tires every 80000km.

There is a small amount of rust starting to show and the finish on the wheels needs to be redone.

The leather is immaculate and the power seats work like they are new.

General Comments:

This truck is old, but still runs like a top. I drive it every day and it always gets me where I am going.

The maintenance costs for the vehicle have been reasonable. Most of the maintenance has been found during normal oil changes and mileage checks.

I have two other newer vehicles (a 1994 convertible Mustang and a 2003 Dodge Grand Caravan) but this is by far my favorite vehicle. I call it my baby and love the way it drives and handles.

I am going to take it into the body shop at the end of the summer and have all the rust spots taken care of and get it repainted. I have no doubt that it will run to 400000km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2004

1991 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L Inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L Inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance182000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

Tough as nails! Relaible and Dependable!

Faults:

Coil wire (from ECU) shorted against engine block (could've been my fault)

General Comments:

Tough as a tank. This vehicle was purchased and built SOLEY to go off-road. I used to own an 88 Samurai and a 99 Tacoma, neither can match the toughness of this vehicle. Reliability wise it's on par with Toyota and Suzuki. This vehicle sits most of it's time with me and every time (even after 3 months) starts up and runs perfectly. It's now running 8" of lift and 33" tires with lockers. NOTHING has broken off-road or on. Transmission is BEYOND acceptable (AW4 model) and engine is awsome. Smoother than my fathers MB E320 in engine and transmission performance! It was quiet the first week I owned it (stock) but even with the swampers howling at 70mph the interior is very quiet (Used to own an MR2 turbo T-top-It's quieter than that). Due to this purchase I also bought a 96 Grand Cherokee. Don't confuse AMC engineering with Chrysler! It's night and day difference, even though the grand was designed by AMC, Chrysler went and messed it up. Stick with the Cherokee (XJ model) and you will not be dissapointed. Could not say enough good about this vehicle. Hardcore off-road drivers should however stay away as the Uni-body design lends itself to body cracking and deformation without crucial body parts like doors and roofs. As a daily driver (which it performed for 8 months as the grand needed $5000 in repairs) it was incredible. However due to MY tire choice it sits most of the time. 12mpg with 33's and stock gears is not bad, my Samurai would get 8mpg with a 1.3L, regeared, and the same style 33's. Then again, when a Sami is that tall you don't drive it everyday, this Jeep I can easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th March, 2004

20th Mar 2004, 05:55

Now wait just a minute. You RAVE about this Jeep and then you say you would never purchase another one??? Maybe it's just me, but doesn't that seem a bit odd??

16th Jul 2004, 11:37

Goodness! You have nothing, but good things to say, but you still give your car an unsatisfactory rating. What's up with that?

14th Jan 2005, 10:05

I bought and built the vehicle to go off-road on 3+ trails. Not something 99.9% of the people who read this would do. While the drivetrain is solid most of the time the interior is crap, it squeaks A lot, parts tend to wear A lot faster than other vehicles and seem to cost more. The ride is SUV-like when 99.9% of the public want car-like (personally I feel you should just buy a car if that's what you want-I mean I want an SUV-like ride in my car why can't I have that). It's good, decent, and if you travel off-road it's great. On-road in stock form it's not bad either, but I can afford to pay $2.35 a gallon when I'm getting 8-13mpg, not many people can. It wasn't stock for more than a week so I can't comment too much on fuel mileage stock.

Sorry to upset those that didn't read into it. But a Jeep is a Jeep and this will be the last one I own. There are other models better suited to off-road use (like ones with a frame) that don't stop running when they go through 3' of water (alternator sucks).

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 34 reviews