1991 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 10 of 10

1991 Jeep Cherokee Limited 4.0 L6 (straight 6 cylinder.) from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 L6 (straight 6 cylinder.) Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired124346 miles
Most recent distance139450 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A worthy investment and a fun ride!

Faults:

Muffler and tailpipe were replaced, but catalytic converter still in good shape.

There was a recall on the rotors (corrosion) and also the Anti-lock Braking System; both were replaced / repaired in a timely matter with no hassle from the dealer. ABS still having some problems due to a speed sensor on one wheel needing replacement (not part of recall).

Original water pump replaced at 136,000 miles.

There is an oil leak (not too bad). The rear main seal needs to be replaced, however, it will cost around $400. (Ouch!) Also, oil leaks on the air filter, causing more frequent changing.

The springs (front suspension) are very worn and need to be replaced. Jeep is leaning to one side and bouncing passengers around. Cost to replace = $300.

General Comments:

Engine and transmission still going strong at 140,000 miles. Also, very quick for a truck!

Looks great except for the paint; the clear coat is starting to wear off on the roof. It is strangely peeling on only ONE door. No rust on body! :) When it's clean, people sometimes guess that it is about 4-5 yrs newer than it actually is (unless they know what year Jeep changed the body style).

Power everything and leather seats are nice.

Gas mileage is not great, but not too bad for a truck.

Not a very comfortable ride, but hey, if you want comfort, get a Caddy or a Buick!

It has never left me stranded. It even waited until I pulled into the driveway for the water pump to go! ;) Also, it overheated, so it automatically shut off the engine so it wouldn't self-destruct, which I thought was very cool (no pun intended).

Very fun to drive and great on and off the road! I now understand Jeep pride. :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2002

11th May 2002, 18:44

I have a 91 Jeep Cherokee Briarwood with 199925 miles sitting in my driveway right now. It's still going strong! My Cherokee has had everything to go wrong with it just like this one! It's still going strong!

16th Sep 2002, 21:43

Original owner of a 92 Briarwood. Mobil 1 oil and grease since new. Changed drivetrain fluids at 50k intervals. Compression, oil consumption, oil pressure, still check as new after 185,000 miles. This cars drivetrain is bulletproof when properly cared for. You will experience problems with paint, trim, front brakes, oil main seal, muffler, water pump, and normal wear items. In my opinion the factory towing capacity is overrated so watch your temp gauge in the summer. I added a new radiator and a larger transmission cooler, but the car still runs hotter than I care for even when not towing on a hot day. I like the fact that few of these cars were made with this trim package. My car has been very reliable overall and I notice no performance decrease even after 10 years.

1991 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0 L HO from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 L HO Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance146000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

A great on and off-road vehicle

Faults:

- Original water pump broke at 115k miles.

- Original clutch was replaced at 120k miles.

- Shifter knob came off.

General Comments:

What an awesome 4x4!

I put a 3" lift and 31" tires on my Jeep and I am extremely impressed at it's off-road capabilities. I feel I can go just about anywhere.

Other mods I am very happy about are a Flowmaster 3 chamber performance muffler (~$80) and Rusty's Air Tube with K&N cone shaped air filter ($60). Both of these mods have increased the gas mileage and performance significantly.

Unlike most trail vehicles, my Jeep also looks great on the road.

However, Jeep did not do a great job on the paint. The clearcoat has disappeared on the top of the rear hatch. Also, there are no cup holders!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2001

19th Feb 2004, 23:31

Cup holders are made for the 91 Jeep Cherokee. the can be found on E Bay. I have added them to mine and I love it. I got mine from the local Jeep Parts counter.

1991 Jeep Cherokee Pioneer 4.0L inline six from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0L inline six Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco II

Summary:

Fast and furious off-road machine

Faults:

My water pumped had to be replaced.

My U-joints went out front and rear once each due to the fact that the Cherokee is lifted.

General Comments:

The Cherokee is extremely fast, I have outrun a Ford Mustang GT in a drag race.

My car does not have the softest ride ever, but that can be attributed to the solid front axle.

The car does not get the best gas mileage, but that's because my tires are six inches larger than stock.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2001

9th May 2002, 19:02

Well, I know for a fact that my 1994 Cherokee will.. 2wd cuts weight and power loss... ran a 10.3 1/8th mile time, beat several rice burners and an automatic GT. granted, it won't take a 5spd GT, unless the driver doesn't know whats going on, but an auto has a good chance at seeing jeep taillights. maybe your jeep is bogged or restricted somehow?

1991 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired215000 kilometres
Most recent distance349500 kilometres
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

This Jeep should find a deserted island so no one ever has to drive it again

Faults:

Rear main seal has been replaced twice (245k and 300k).

Transmission is garbage, a scooter could pull more (burns fluid before it's finished going in).

Electrical system went up in flames.

General Comments:

What an absolute piece of garbage. It is falling apart as I drive (rust is horrendous). Brakes? I should buy them in bulk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th May, 2001

14th Jul 2001, 23:36

I definitely agree with the deserted island comment! My boyfriend is the one who did the survey on the '89 Jeep Cherokee Laredo and I hate it! It sounds bad, the paint is horrible, and everything just falls apart on it! I'll drive my 3000GT over his Jeep any day. At least I know my car won't die three times at every stoplight.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 35 reviews