1992 Jeep Cherokee 4.0L inline 6-cylinder from North America


Basically like the inline 6 for towing


Severe front wheel vibration. The car almost becomes uncontrollable; the front end shimmies 3 inches.

General Comments:

Front wheel vibration solution. Replaced the front steering dampener on my 1992 Jeep. It seems to be a random problem, depending on each particular vehicle.

On my 1994 Jeep bought used with 126,000 miles, no such problem, even though I have now 148,000 miles on this vehicle.

With my 1992 vehicle with 64,000 miles, it vibrated when I hit a small bump, and the vibration started, and I thought the front end was going to fall off. Replaced the steering damper with a mid grade damper until 18,000 miles later, and severe vibration occurred again. Most times the vibration occurs at 55+ mph, but this one time at 45 mph.

Replaced the damper again with the highest quality Moog unit SSD107. Immediately, even a basic slow ride was smoother. The unit I took out seemed OK, but I was sliding the piston rod slowly in and out to test it, and all of a sudden after twelve tries, the piston slid in/out three times 1/2" inch with no pressure on the piston to speak of. So replace the damper.

Manufacturer only gives a 1 year warranty. Cheapest place I found for a damper I used was amazon.com; $54 for a Moog SSD107 with free shipping. Good luck to you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th August, 2010

28th Aug 2010, 06:33

Inline six is the best design for any motor, and this nice old cast-iron push-rod unit is extremely durable and provides lots of torque. Of course, like all good things automotive, it is no longer made - Jeep has replaced it with something aluminum, multi-valve, and nearly useless.

16th Apr 2011, 09:23

Agreed, one of the best balanced engines ever made. Awesome torque, decent gas mileage when you baby it, and a never die attitude! Great Asian tranny combination. Many go well over 250K...

1992 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0L I6 from North America


Beast on wheels


After a couple years of mud bogging and highway, it held up pretty good. However the transfer case gave away last summer in the mud, where I thought it was indestructible and went a little crazy with it!

Other than that, this Jeep is a beast.

General Comments:

This is the ultimate off road machine; it's short wheelbase, has lots of power/torque, and the 4X4 is the best I've ever driven.

Snow, mud, highway, this Jeep will conquer it all.

Interior is noisy a little, but hey, who cares?

It's built to last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2010

1992 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0 from North America


Cheap to drive tank


Water heater connection rusted - Jeep overheated.

Battery connection issues - replaced terminals.

Brakes went out (oops); replaced pads/rotors/caliper.

Engine knocks like crazy when the air/heat is on.

Steering seems like it's going to give out.

One of the tires very slowly leaks air.

Slowly leaks oil.

General Comments:

This thing is built like a tank. It knocks like crazy sometimes, but it is still running. Have driven it 500 miles in a day, and the thing doesn't complain.

Had a few issues, but when you are nearing 200k miles, who doesn't have a few issues?

Steering looking to become an issue, so I might be getting rid of it soon, but it has treated me well for $700.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2010

1992 Jeep Cherokee 4.0 from North America


It keeps going and going and going..


Exhaust welds failed (replaced from header back $300).

Thermostat stuck closed (replaced for $17).

Steering stabilizer leaked (replaced for $30).

Shock absorbers got soft (gives awesome flex for off-road).

General Comments:

Awesome off-road even if stock. I'm in a local Jeep club based in Rhode Island and Connecticut (rwone.org), and I have no lift yet and no mud tires, but my Jeep can take the trails and it takes the beating.

High mileage, and still has tons of power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2009

1992 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0 high output from North America


This is one very mechanically sound vehicle!!


Power seats have broken, but no big deal.

Has some minor rust around bottom of drivers door.

Shocks, struts seem a little worn, but nothing serious.

General Comments:

This vehicle is one of the best I have ever owned.

It drives like a dream and shifts so smooth! I haven't owned a vehicle that I felt was so mechanically sound since I had a 240 series Volvo!

It has plenty of torque and gets pretty reasonable gas mileage for an SUV.

Plenty of interior room and comfortable seats.

Seems to just float down the highway, in fact I have to constantly watch my speed because it drives so nice you hardly notice you're going 75-80 mph!!

I absolutely love my Jeep!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2009

6th Dec 2010, 07:41

I definitely agree that you have to watch your speed in one of these. Especially on 25 MPH roads for me. When I first got it I was on one thinking I was maybe going a bit over 30. I looked down and I was approaching 50. I think mine truly desires speed. It sure handles it with grace and gratitude.