2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 from North America

Summary:

I'd like the car more... If I could trust it

Faults:

Key lock replaced at 120,000.

Controlling windows from master driver's side at 123,000.

Replacing driver's side window motor at 123,000.

Shake at 50mph at 70,000.

Interior squeaks at 60,000.

Overheat, radiator, serpentine belt, and hoses at 130,000+.

Hatch will not open, or when open, will not remain up.

A/C evaporator.

General Comments:

Wow, to think, I've done absolutely everything to have these things repaired... but only seems to be a short fix.

Actually the Jeep left me stranded yesterday during Xmas shopping, and with a 10 month old, due to some overheating problems. I have addressed this problem for the past 2 years with flushes and replacements. I'm at the end of my rope.

The lock thing happened last year, and AAA was able to help me out by replacing the key cylinder. No problems since.

Driver's window stopped working also a year ago, but worked on the passenger side by my master and passenger control, but since I've had the driver's motor replaced... I can control the passenger from the driver's side, and passenger is hit or miss.

I came online to see about overheating, but looking through the complaints, I can agree with everyone!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th December, 2007

2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4x4 Inline 6 cylinder 4.0 ltr from North America

Summary:

This car is a tank. Send it to Iraq for the troops.

Faults:

Nothing has really gone wrong with the car. The front does shake or shimmy when I hit a pot whole at a certain angle. My exhaust clamp has broken due to wear and tear. My button for the rear windshield wiper is now pushed back because the button stuck. All simple fixes.

General Comments:

This Jeep is very strong and makes you feel like you can take on anything. The gas mileage is good if you accelerate and let the engine and trans go through its normal shifting stages. I think people need to remember that Jeeps like the Cherokee are really meant for off roading and are cheap. The suspension systems and 4x4 are really meant for trails, not highways. They are not high way driving vehicles. Also keep in mind that the 4.0 Inline 6 tends to run much hotter than most engines. I put my on synthetics (AMSOIL) and it runs great. My dad had a 93 Cherokee 2 door with no 4x4. The only problem we had was with the radiator. It went to 260,000 miles and would not die. We sold it for $400 to a kid who needed a car. Jeeps are good, tough, reliable cars. Keep in mind what they are really for. I will always drive a Jeep to keep the WWII product and tradition alive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2007

24th Jan 2011, 20:59

Thank you. I was about to buy one and this really helped me.

2000 Jeep Cherokee from North America

Summary:

Love the vehicle, especially when driving on dry roads

Faults:

Weird sounding rumble in the back somewhere when you start to it up, but goes away when the vehicle heats up or begin to drive. Also have noticed the sound at red lights, but it will go away if I put it in neutral.

Also, I will slide at certain spots and lose control of the vehicle. This has happened today on a wet slushy road. I was driving about 20 miles per hour, went it to a bend applied a little break and slid right off the road. This has also happened once before.

I drive slow and apply the break very gently, but I will still slide out sometimes. I have the tire pressure on all four tires set at 35psi. Is this too high? Should I lower them? The tires are new and they say Laredo on them. I purchased the vehicle two months ago and I am starting to get scared to drive the vehicle.

I have used the 4 wheel drive, but I'm not sure if I suppose to use it on wet roads with leaves on them or very light covered snow roads. My driving has been conservative especially since the slid out, but I'm still losing control. Any thoughts?

General Comments:

Very nice vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th December, 2007

7th Dec 2007, 11:46

Noise you are hearing at start up and at stops from rear is the fuel pump. Pretty normal unless extremely loud.

Sliding off the road could be the transfer case locking when you don't want it to allowing the vehicle to shift balance, or lock the drivetrain causing slide. Sometimes these vehicles will have a brake caliper stick causing a wheel to lock, but if this is the case it would pull the steering wheel when going straight also. Sounds like the viscous coupler in the transfer case is causing the slide off problem. Pretty expensive to repair.

7th Dec 2007, 15:22

This sounds like an accident waiting to happen. I would drive it only as fas as a mechanic and have the suspension system checked out.

7th Dec 2007, 17:01

My 99 Jeep Cherokee Sport has the same rumbling and from what I can tell its from the exhaust because its the stock system with 90,000 miles on it. I think its the muffler vibrating due to worn exhaust mounts but I'm not sure.

I engage 4 wheel high on slick roads or roads with wet leaves often. You will have a little trouble stopping in the adverse conditions due to the high center of gravity and little weight over the rear axle without 4x4 engaged.

It will not damage the system at all because 4 wheel high was designed to run in light snow/rainy conditions. 4 wheel low is for deep snow or mud only and your Jeep must not be in motion for it to engage. The system is on the fly and 4 wheel high can be engaged while your in motion as long as your below 45mph-50mph. The only time you will damage the 4x4 system is if you engage it on dry road or attempt to engage it at highway speeds.

Also, the stock replacement Laredo tires are OK, but I didn't like them. I opted for the largest size aftermarket tire for my 99 Sport and now its very stable on the highway and in the rain/snow.