2001 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 18 of 18

2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles

Summary:

A good vehicle, so far

Faults:

The vehicle developed a shimmy at 6K miles. It turned out to be a bent wheel rim. It was repaired for free by the dealer, and this after "breaking it in" by driving from Tucson to Todos Santos, Baja California del Sur, Mexico.

At 15K the clutches in the rear-end turned to garbage as the rear end was not set up properly at the factory. Replaced under the warranty by the dealer.

General Comments:

Other than being a bit cramped in the seating department, I like it. At San Quitin, BC, the Sport pulled a Bronco 4X4 out of the sand (it was bogged to the frame) with zero problems.

It cruises at 75 MPH with no strain, and the ABS and some fancy steering saved my bacon near Mulege, BCS where I almost got into a head on with some guy driving on the wrong side of the road. Maybe he was English.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2001

13th Apr 2004, 17:39

Maybe he was Scottish!! we to drive on the wrong side.

13th Jul 2004, 17:36

I purchased a used 1994 Jeep Cherokee Sport in 2002 and have to say that I love it. It has been totaled twice since I purchased it, once when my mother was rear ended at a stop light, and once when my brother hit a patch of black ice and flipped it. As of today it is still going strong with a little over 211,000 miles on it. Minus a few nicks here and there it is over all one of the best Jeeps I have ever driven.

2nd Dec 2004, 12:25

My name is Ray Monel. I am always on the road with my 1993

Jeep Cherokee Sport. It runs like itself.

Indeed, there is only ONE JEEP!

9th Sep 2005, 08:44

Hi.

Has anyone had steering problems with the Jeep Cheroke Sport (2002) model.

Thanks.

28th Nov 2005, 11:33

2002 Jeep Cherokee Sport??? Very funny. Looks like nobody reads this post.

29th Jan 2006, 11:55

LoL yea I just did... They stopped making that model in 2001-

2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired70 miles
Most recent distance800 miles
Previous carChevrolet K1500 Silverado

Summary:

A vehicle with many problems reported from many other customers

Faults:

Vehicle vibrates between 35-60 MPH. Dealer replaced many parts and balanced the tires, and the car still vibrates terribly.

Vehicle pulls to right all the time. Dealer aligned the front end, car still pulls right. Dealer says "they all do that".

Black smoke exists from the tailpipe. Dealer says, "computer reports no problems, it's fine".

General Comments:

I've had the car for two weeks and returned it to the dealer three times to fix the same problems.

This is a vehicle with only 800 miles on it and it's junk. I will never buy another Chrysler product again.

Wished I had bought a Chevy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th March, 2001

17th May 2001, 14:26

Perhaps you should take the vehicle to a different dealership, and get their opinion, and quite possibly have the thing fixed. At 800 miles it should still be under warranty for everything you have described.

25th Jan 2002, 10:17

Excuse me, but it's NOT a Chrysler product... It's a Mercedes product, as in DAIMLER-Chrysler.

3rd Sep 2002, 17:47

Actually it is a Chrysler. The 1997-2001 Cherokees were redesigned before the merger of the companies. Unfortunately, the Chrysler quality is ruining the Jeep name and history of dependability.

2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired432 miles
Most recent distance2535 miles
Previous carHyundai Sonata

Summary:

It's an experience, not just a car

Faults:

Absolutely nothing, besides my crazy friend who thinks it's cool jumping on peoples hoods. But that resulted in pretty much no damage besides a microscopic dent in the hood only noticable in certain lights and angles.

General Comments:

I love this car. I never expected too much going into a Jeep, but now I see and understand it's the meaning of a Jeep thing... this car is great and it will take me anywhere I want to go, that is myself and a small army. The cargo space is wonderful, I love this car, I'm just disappointed that this is the last year they are making the Cherokees.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2001

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 56 reviews