2001 Jeep Cherokee Reviews

2001 Jeep Cherokee 4.0 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired254000 miles
Most recent distance258500 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

I've had a couple problems. Needed a starter, universal joints, and the fuel pump has low pressure, so I have to turn the key on and off a couple of times to pressurize the lines.

Front speakers don't work, and the driver's window grinds the gears when it closes all the way.

General Comments:

I LOVE my Jeep. This is our second one (both black), but we totaled the first one. I would recommend it to anyone.

But I can't complain for 258,000 miles on it, and only paying 500 bucks. But she's still going strong, and I go off roading a lot.

I will definitely buy another Jeep. It's perfect in mud and snow, and snappy when you put it to the floor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2013

19th Feb 2013, 04:06

Front speakers not working, are usually because the speaker wire in the wire harness that runs from the chassis into the door, is corroded or broken.

The windows working only with the driver's module is usually because the driver's door module; the multi switch for windows, locks and mirrors; has a fatigued solder joint. An new module is about $70. But the solder joint can also be, carefully, re-soldered.

These are all standard problems with the last generation of Cherokees.

2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L inline 6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 4.0L inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired107788 miles
Most recent distance119076 miles

Summary:

Great vehicle for anyone who wants reliability

Faults:

Front passenger speaker has a mind of its own.

Driver's speaker never worked.

Only the driver is able to control the windows.

Mainly minor electrical problems, and some clinking and clanging, but that's just about every car over 10 years old.

General Comments:

I love my Jeep, I'm a senior in high school, and it's a great first vehicle.

It's little rough on the wallet for gas, but it's worth it.

I drove through a foot of snow like it was no one's business. Up and down hills, it handled fine. I've been mudding with it, and it does not get stuck.

Great pick up and nice handling, no wobble in the steering wheel, and it's a comfortable ride in my opinion.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2012

24th Mar 2012, 16:12

Your problems with speakers and windows are common, but in most cases easy to fix.

Driver's side speaker is usually a corrode wire in the harness between the "A" pillar and the door; the passenger side door may be the same problem. Depending on the condition of your speakers, and assuming that they are still functional, all you would need to do is splice in some new wires.

The driver's side control module for the windows and mirrors, usually ends up with flaky solder contacts after years of use. I just replaced mine, instead of messing with trying to fix it. Maybe $70 for the new module.

Clunking could be many things, but with only 119K miles, it just might be suspension bushings.

2001 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
Engine and transmission 6
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Like the looks, but not worth buying

Faults:

3 window regulators have gone out.

My brake light and tail lights have had numerous problems.

The windows are so expensive to fix.

My friend has the same year as me, and the same exact problems. I will not ever buy a Cherokee again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th November, 2010

2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

When you leave home in the morning, it will bring you home, whatever the weather

Faults:

... Things that have gone wrong with the Jeep... I'm thinking...

The only thing wrong with this truck is they stopped making it in 2001. That said, I have had four of them and I loved them all. An '84, a '93 (both black beauties), a '98 (the green hornet), and my present tank, the '01 (the silver bullet).

The bullet is by far the best deal I have scored on a Cherokee. It was a Virgina beach truck with 66,000 miles on it in 2008. It had never seen salt. It was someone's baby in perfect condition.

It had one little problem, it didn't have any oil pressure. The owner wanted $8000, I offered $5000, she took it.

I sold the '98 for $3000, drove the bullet until the engine quit (the owner blew a rad hose and didn't shut it off). I bought a running engine with 50 psi and had it installed for $1100 total (you can walk along the ditch and find a 4.0L Jeep engine). I dipped the whole truck in Rustcheck (kidding).

None of my Jeeps ever let me down, EVER! Even if I broke one of them doing something stupid, it would limp home.

General Comments:

I'm 51, at this point I can afford a Range Rover. I read the reviews on Range Rover, I read the reviews on our little tank from Toledo, Ohio. I'm sticking with my Jeep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2010

17th Nov 2010, 11:33

I hope your comment about 50 PSI is an error. Or did you have the engine rebuilt? The minimum compression pressure for a 4.0L (2000 model year) is 120 PSI.

Otherwise, I agree. These vehicles for the most part are pretty bullet proof. The major problems that I have, and it seems most others, experienced are related to the wiring. Primarily this is the wiring between the drivers door and the rest of the chassis. It affects speakers, window controls and door locks. But then I know for a fact that Jeep is not the only vehicle from the time frame that has these issues. VW and Audis are definitely much worse and more expensive to fix.

15th Sep 2012, 23:08

He was talking about 50 PSI oil pressure.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 56 reviews