2001 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 5 of 18

2001 Jeep Cherokee 4.0 liter from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carnissan pathfinder

Summary:

I would rather have a Yugo!

Faults:

My 2001 Jeep Cherokee has a common problem that nobody is able to solve. I've read on-line that surging is a common problem with my model truck.

I will be driving at a steady speed and the truck will just start surging, it feels like and sounds like it is down shifting while the tachometer holds and then drops.

I have spent over $2,000 on this problem, and everyone is willing to guess at the problem at my cost, I've no replace the whole a/c system, fuel pump and filters, transmission fluid and filter, spark plugs 2x. Next on the mounting list of things to be done is the mass air flow sensor is to be cleaned and the purge sensor replaced and that's gonna be at least another $100. I now have a sign in my window ready my Jeep is a Lemon to warn the public about this injustice!

General Comments:

Jeep is not all it's cracked up to be.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th July, 2008

2nd Nov 2008, 20:52

Try the Throttle Positioning Sensor. It can be a pricey item, but when they get wet they will go out, causing the same problems you described.

3rd Nov 2008, 11:06

Perhaps if it were a new car you could call it a lemon.

However with 104,000 miles on the clock, I don't think it qualifies.

26th Sep 2010, 10:18

Get a new mechanic. The sensors should have been looked at first, not after you've already spent $2000.

The hallmark of a good mechanic is the brains and experience to diagnose a problem quickly and correctly, not just start throwing parts at it until it's fixed. There are very honest mechanics who just aren't good at troubleshooting. Great to deal with, but you find yourself spending way more than you should.

2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L I6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.0L I6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Fast and fun, especially in the mud!

Faults:

A rear passenger tire went flat, and Walmart fixed it.

I went muddin' and lost a center cap; dealer said it would cost $50 for a new one, but got a set of 4 from ebay for $15.

A/C sometimes blows warm air, which I guess is a common problem on this model.

Headlights were kinda weak, so I bought some KC's.

Nothing really major.

General Comments:

I've had the car for a year and have had no major problems with it.

For an SUV it gets up pretty quickly, I think it is funny when I can do donuts on dry pavement and my friend's 5.0L Mustang can't.

I have a 2WD model and am AMAZED by how well it goes in the mud. It beats a 4WD S10 Blazer or Jimmy any day.

Gas mileage is not so good, which is to be expected, but in the winter I was getting about 11MPG, and at $3/gallon that's almost $60 to fill up! Now its warming up so it's back to 16MPG.

I am very happy with the reliability and performance of my Jeep, and my last car was a Civic SI.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2008

2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

One Tough Truck

Faults:

I have owned 3 Jeeps. First 2 Wranglers, and my last is a 2001 Cherokee Sport with the upcountry package. Tires only last me 30k miles.

I'm going on my 4th set of brakes up front.

I have a frozen caliper too.

It also just started leaking oil from the rear main and rear diff.

I lost a O2 sensor a while ago, but pulled one out of a junk yard for $15 bucks.

I had leaks in the EGR system and found all the hoses under the Jeep were all cracked. Easy fix.

General Comments:

If your check engine light is on, get a code scanner. Best $75 bucks you could spend. I live in San Diego, so no rust and all my speakers work...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2008

2001 Jeep Cherokee Chrokee Sport 4.0L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Very poorly designed heat shield

Faults:

Cylinder #3 Fuel Injector keeps vapor locking. I bought the vehicle in the end of Sept of 2005 with 41,000 miles on it. I've had it back to the dealer 3 times. During a hot summer day when you stop at the store, come out after 5-10 minutes and restart it, it only runs on 5 cylinders. The dealer insulated the injector and it still does it. Now, he's telling me I have to replace the injector. When I know it's the faulty heat shield they installed between the exhaust and intake manifolds. The heat shield is designed in such a way that it allows heat to come up and around the #3 injector.

Attempts to make sense with the service advisor at the dealership have not succeeded. They just want money. In fact, I had to pay another $58 to reset the engine check light and be told I need to buy a new injector.

Is there any class action lawsuit against Jeep for this complaint? I've seen many other complaints here and on other websites.

General Comments:

This is the 5th Jeep I've owned with the 4.0L engine and the first engine to have that problem. E-mails to Jeep have been unsuccessful too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th September, 2007

23rd Nov 2012, 04:07

I had the same problem with the misfire on my 2001 XJ. Dealer tried a heat shield, no improvement. I tried heat shielding more myself, but still had no success. I finally got fed up and traded it in. I lived in Florida, so with the hot weather I experienced the misfire frequently. Options that were suggested to fix it: Install vents on the hood to allow the heat to escape. Install heat-tolerant washers between the bracket holding the injector and the engine block - an engineer suggested that the OEM setup was likely conducting more heat from the engine block to the injector, causing the vapor lock.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 56 reviews