2001 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 9 of 18

2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 liter MPFI from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 liter MPFI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

A rugged, dependable, and adventurous vehicle!

Faults:

Vibration from the front of the car between 52 and 57 MPH. I have replaced with new parts the: Hub assemblies, differential bearings and seals, axle joints, steering damper, track bar, rotors, brake pads, and tires.

General Comments:

Such a dependable car that will keep on going even with minor problems. Mud, snow, and water are no match for this impressive vehicle.

Rear air shocks are a good upgrade to get rid of that leaf spring sag and adjust for different payloads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2006

8th Sep 2007, 02:03

I am curious, you say your Jeep Cherokee is 2001, but I believe they stopped making those in 2000. I have a Cherokee Sport 2000, straight in line 6 cylinder, 4.0 liter engine, 4wd, but that was the last year they were made, then they went to the Liberty. Is yours a 2000 model, that you bought in 2001?

8th Sep 2007, 14:03

I'm pretty sure that 2001 was the last year for the Jeep Cherokee.

25th Feb 2013, 19:23

The Jeep Cherokee Sport, last date of manufacture was June 19th, 2001.

I bought mine with 65 miles on it. It was made in May of 2001, so it was close to being some of the last put out. So, yes, they were made in 2001. I got tickled the other day when I saw a "2002" Cherokee for sale. No such animal. Hope this helps.

p.s. I've had all the aforementioned problems. I have 165,600 miles on mine, and hope to go to 300K miles.

2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Nuisance repairs are a pain, but it can't be beat for fun, performance and hauling power

Faults:

Front brake rotors severely warped VERY soon after purchase, fixed by replacing with Superslots slotted (not cross-drilled) rotors.

Shocks were rough at purchase, replaced myself with very nice Monroe Sens-a-Tracs all around.

Broken speaker wire to driver's door speaker.

Loose wiring at heater fan motor caused fan to quit, fixed it myself.

Driver's door window mechanism started to fail a short time ago, chatters badly.

Last week the rear wiper motor died.

General Comments:

UPSIDES:This truck is everything I want and need... a severely reliable drive train, comfortable and fun to drive, not TOO big, quick response, nice handling, room for my hockey gear, great towing capability.

It's comfortable on long trips (as long as you don't have to sit in the back seat).

There's a great after market for replacement and upgrade parts for the Cherokee.

DOWNSIDES: It IS a bit noisy and you MUST upgrade the brakes or they will warp over and over, the wiring is crap and will require maintenance in time, gas mileage is lousy if you really put your foot in the gas pedal.

ADDONS: I got MUCH better engine response by replacing the air filter with a K&N filter, running synthetic oil in the engine and rear axle, and replacing the muffler with a Dynomax Super Turbo (catalytic converter is still in place).

If I keep my foot out of the gas pedal I now get 24mpg on highway trips instead of 21mpg before my upgrades.

I spent a lot of time researching vehicles before I got this one and in spite of occasional unexpected maintenance I'm glad I bought the Cherokee.. in fact I wish I'd bought one years ago.

I have friends who got well over 200,000 miles on their Cherokees before selling them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2005

6th Jan 2006, 01:22

"have friends who got well over 200,000 miles on their Cherokees before selling them."

Recently turned 256,000 miles in mine, without any mechanical failure at all.

17th Jan 2006, 13:24

Just had the rear main seal go and the front rotors are warped. car has 81,000 on it and I love it, but the small stuff hurts.

9th Mar 2006, 18:48

I bought my Jeep two years ago, used. I got a great deal on it from a dealer and used the extra cash to buy the Chrysler extended warranty. Let me say, it was money well spent! Don't get me wrong, I love my jeep. It handles well, has lots of power and is a blast off road!... but, it had 86000 kms (fairly new) when I bought it and with in the first year I had the A/C done twice! I also had the pleasure of replacing the front drive shaft. I do not off road regularly and I definately don't do any thing to cause a drive shaft failure... bizarre?! At any rate, the next year brought on a wheel baring, you joint and radiator. All of these are minor issues although the rad surprised me. Last week I lost my rear wiper motor and am waiting for the warranty replacement! I've had to do lots of rear brake maintenance and had a $340.00 (CDN) tranny flush. (yuck) All said, it's a good vehicle and I expect to get many, many miles out of it. Oh ya, as mentioned in a few of these reviews, my front driver door speaker has been on the fritz since I got the car. Hmm?

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 56 reviews