2001 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 10 of 18

2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport 60th Anniversary Model 4.0 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

It's a Jeep, what else can you say?

Faults:

Air Conditioning Accumulator 92,000.

Check engine light at 60,000. Bad vacuum line.

General Comments:

Aside from the two problems listed, this vehicle owes us nothing. This is our second Cherokee. We expect to keep it till it dies. We purchased one set of tires, brakes, one belt, and a tune-up.

People comment on the condition the vehicle is in. It's held up nicely at 93,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2005

2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 liter from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired28 miles
Most recent distance62300 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Convertible

Summary:

A good vehicle with some problems

Faults:

I am having a good deal of paint chipping and rusting on the roof of the vehicle. The hood and body are free of defects, but the roof looks horrible. A popular body shop told me the roof was the worst he has ever seen for a newer vehicle, and was the result, most probably, of bad metal.

The check engine light often comes on, with no problem to be found.

General Comments:

My wife loves this jeep, but the paint job on the roof is terrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st September, 2005

2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 Automatic from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Jeep is the definite way to go!

Faults:

The drive shaft broke at about 117,000 miles, but it was no fault to the car, it was mine!

General Comments:

This is by far the best truck for offroading! Even though it's only a 2 wheel drive it keeps up with the 4x4's pretty well.

It does eat gas, but you can expect that from any SUV.

It handles well and is very comfortable.

Spacious interior with plenty of room for passengers and personal effects.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2005

2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14667 miles
Most recent distance41588 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Calais

Summary:

Beautiful!

Faults:

Serpentine belt was replaced 3 months after I got it.

Replaced stock tires with Michelin's.

Wiring from left front speaker to stereo was replaced.

Engine light came on due to misfiring plugs, also had fuel gauge sensor replaced this year.

General Comments:

Admittedly, even with the few problems, I still love my Jeep and have no intentions of trading it. It's not the most comfortable SUV on the road, but its not too bad. First thing I did was replace the stock stereo with an Alpine CD player, sounds 50x better now. Handles like a Viper off-road and in snow. Drove it through a foot of mud and it never stuck!

Road noise is bad, but is negated with a loud stereo playing a good song - I mostly tune out the road noise. However, the gas mileage does suck, but I usually only put in about $26 when I fill the tank with regular.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2005

27th Jan 2006, 17:34

Hello people I was looking for some info on the misfiring part of this script. Please let me know what you did for the misfires. I have a extended warranty on my 2000 Jeep Cherokee, 29000 miles on it now. And every time I bring it in, they say it is a different cylinder misfiring and it has carbon build up. So I had it flushed out had a tune up what else can I do thanks steve PS I will never buy another extended warranty.

30th Mar 2006, 10:31

Try driving it to get the carbon out! 29,000 miles in 6 years, no wonder your plugs are fouling.

Switch to Iridium plugs. Expensive, but when you add in their 100,000 life span they will last you for 20 years!

Best of luck: Bob.

10th Apr 2011, 13:00

Iridium plugs do have a very long useful life, but if you do wait 20 years before removing your spark plugs, you'll be removing them with a jackhammer.

The plugs need to come out periodically, then re-installed with some kind of anti-seize compound on the threads. I use a grey pasty compound designed for automotive use, but I know of others who simply use household petroleum jelly.

2001 Jeep Cherokee Limited 4.0 Inline six cylinder from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Inline six cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance100800 miles

Summary:

Just an awesome ride

Faults:

In all the time I have owned this car I've only had basic wear and tear.

This vehicle looks, runs, and acts like it is still brand new.

General Comments:

My Jeep can handle just about anything that is thrown at it. It can handle 20 inches of snow without any modifications. I love this jeep. It is a little pricey on gas. With a 20 Gal. gas tank it can cost almost 40 dollars to fill it. I would recommend this jeep to anyone who likes to take on anything that is thrown at it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2005

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 56 reviews