2001 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 8 of 18

2001 Jeep Cherokee V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Don't Know
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

This jeep has had problems, but is overall good

Faults:

My rear brake light does not work when ever the headlights are on.

General Comments:

My left rear brake light does not work ONLY when the front headlights are on. Therefore, this is a problem that is only manifest usually at night since most people may not use their headlights during the day.

I started having the problem about 8 months ago, and I have probably spent over $100 getting it worked on. The problem just reoccurred, and I brought it to the dealership, for which I will have to pay $200. They are replacing the entire light assembly in the rear. Jeep should do a recall on this problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2006

18th Nov 2006, 21:18

I found out that the smart switch that turns the lights on & off was bad. They should look to see if the wire has been pulled loose from the switch. If you raise and lower the tilt wheel too much it is possible to pull the wires loose.

2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L IL 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0L IL 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired60100 miles
Most recent distance73500 miles
Previous carMercury Topaz

Summary:

Love it, love it, love it!!! (just wish a/c worked!)

Faults:

Check engine light came on the day after I bought it. Turned out to be a small hose leak in the evaporative emissions sys. Cost next to nothing to fix.

Air conditioning has not worked at all. Prior owner is a friend of the family and said it quit at about 55000 miles. I don't want to start replacing parts if there is a common a/c problem with this model. Any suggestions?

General Comments:

Back seat is a little uncomfortable, but not a problem since its just me and my fiance'.

Excellent acceleration and handling through town and on interstate. Haven't taken it off- road (yet!)

Overall, I love every second I'm driving it. It's definitely the best vehicle I've ever owned. Just wish a/c worked. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2006

5th May 2007, 11:03

My A/C has been worked on several times. I've had all hoses and valves replaced. It had the compressor replaced a week before I bought it. My mechanic says that my condenser has failed. I'm taking it to the dealership next week before my extended warranty runs out. I have 2 other friends with the same year Jeep and both have had issues with their A/C. Seems to be the only chink in my Jeep's armor.

2001 Jeep Cherokee from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired2300 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles

Summary:

Good, until the A/C turned out to be junk

Faults:

My A/C evaporator went at 62,000 miles and from what I have read, this appears to be a fairly common problem. My quote to fix it was $1,500, which seems fairly steep. Basically, I'm just putting this on here for everyone's information.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd July, 2006

1st Aug 2006, 23:20

My a/c went at about 60,000 miles. I haven't had anything checked, but based on reviews I've read, the evaporator is the likely culprit. Please post more info if you get this fixed or find out any other info.

19th Mar 2008, 11:48

My AC went on my 2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport I6 as well, I think it was around 70k miles. The quote was also in the range of $1500-2000, mainly for the labor to get down to the condenser, I believe it was, to replace it and the hosing. I have been regularly charging the freon in it though every few months or so and that is a pretty good temporary solution. Everything else on the jeep has been great!

14th May 2008, 08:23

Mine went around 80k.

26th May 2008, 08:54

The AC evaporator sprung a leak at 66,000 miles. Estimated cost of repair $1500-1700 and depending on the condition of the accumulator unit, may be more. Daimler-Chrysler's manufacturing cost control policies. They changed from R-12 to R-232 refrigerant and neglected to upgrade all of the system components to tolerate the more corrosive R-232 gases. Another example of engineering excellence.

20th Jun 2008, 21:52

Recently purchased a used 2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport for $5,600. I'm in love with it, however within the first 1,500 miles and 30 days, the check engine light has come on 4 times, the A/C doesn't work, catalytic converter needs replacing, and the evaporator plug is contaminated and needs replacing.

When I approached the used car dealer regarding these existing problems, he went ballistic, slamming his fist on the table and jumping up and down like a child. I have already spent over $1,000 dollars in having the oil and filter changed, engine coolant flushed, burned out brake lights, air filter, 5 new tires and new battery. He did absolutely nothing to the vehicle before putting it on the lot.

It was NOT an 'as is' vehicle. His mechanic kept telling me the check engine light coming on was the O2 sensor. There's nothing wrong with that sensor. He was hiding the fact that it was the catalytic converter.

I am now in the process of contacting an attorney regarding these deceptive business practices of his, and want the work performed by a Jeep/Chrysler dealer and have him pay for the repairs.

Many people have approached me recently, and said unfortunately I was another unsuspecting customer of his who has now learned the hard way. Many area people will NOT buy anything from this guy. Now, I know why. Wish I would have known that prior.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 56 reviews