1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 8 of 14

1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

Definitely a good car

Faults:

Radiator upper hose blew at 68K miles. I replaced by myself, cheap!.

Front rotors were warped, replaced at 70K miles. I replaced by myself too!.

Air Conditioner evaporator was leaking and required to be replaced, my mechanic charged $ 750 (parts & labor).

Catalytic converter replaced at 80K, $125 (not original).

Air Conditioner evaporator drain failed, it needed a new gasket to stop the leak inside the car on the passenger side floor.

CD player never worked fine (difficulties to eject disks).

FM radio used to lose the stations, I checked the antenna and it was OK so I replaced the stereo.

Driver power seat motor is loosing power, it looks like it will die one of these days.

Finally, the exhaust manifold cracked and needs to be replaced, very common in jeeps with the 4.0 L engine.

General Comments:

In general is a good car, very comfortable riding compared to other similar vehicles.

The engine itself is extremely strong and reliable.

Its very powerful, but not precisely with good gas mileage.

The interior is very nice and luxurious.

Very easy to fix, particularly the 4.0L.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2005

1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Great SUV one of the best on the market

Faults:

The Rear Differential started to make a high pitch noise at about 100000 miles. This included pinion bearings, axial bearings and seals. The brake lights went out twice. Slow picking up speed.

General Comments:

Other than the bearing going bad and the brake lights going out, the Jeep Grand Cherokee is a great automobile it runs great. I have the 4.0 liter engine and it runs great. Very relaxing ride. Perfect for a family of five or more. I would buy a new 05 Jeep Grand Cherokee cause they look nice and drive nice. I know cause I tested drove one at the dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st January, 2005

1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.0 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance164850 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

This Jeep is Great!, it was a great buy!

Faults:

Power steering pump went at 163,700 miles.

General Comments:

This Jeep has been Great! this is my second Jeep and I can't complain about either one. The only thing I've had to replace since I've owned it was my power steering pump, and that was at 163,700 miles. This Jeep starts right up and I don't think twice about taking it on long trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2004

1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

It was comfortable and reliable, the best car I have ever owned

Faults:

Transmission seems only to be capable of park and drive at 147000.

General Comments:

I went on the trail and got stuck in mud ever since the transmission only works in drive. Someone told me that it may be a sensor, but I fear that it may be my transmission that went out, since I have read many reviews about failed transmission. I would like to know if anyone has any experience with this problem with their Jeep and what they did to fix the problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2004

29th Oct 2004, 20:34

Perhaps some muck found its way into your tranny. I'd have it pulled apart and looked at.

1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee LAREDO 4.0L. SIX CYLINDER from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L. SIX CYLINDER Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired158079 miles
Most recent distance179900 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

For those who are looking to LOWER their Jeep's

Faults:

MY car before my JEEP was a 2001 MAZDA PROTEGE. The heater stopped working within the first year of being bought. I purchased it new with only eleven miles on it. The rear defroster also quit working six months later. The stereo went out one week prior to the heater. The gas gauge and temp gauge also decided to malfunction around the 18,000 mile mark. The brake lights would also go in and out. That caused me to get pulled over by the police for improper functioning brake lights. Although that ended up being a simple fix. The rear tail lamps plastic housings became loose. I just replaced the bulbs and glued down the housing. Other than that the car was FAIR.

General Comments:

I bought my JEEP two years ago and have done a lot of work to it. Not all the work was due to faulty operating parts. Mostly customizing work. No disrespect to the 4x4 lovers, I love a beefy truck myself, but I'm lowering my JEEP. I've body-dropped and have it sitting on airbags. I'm not there yet! Be ye warned, it is nearly impossible to do so.

The way JEEP built their frames makes it extremely difficult. Unless you have a ton of money or are very, very, very handy with a welding torch, it can be done. I just want to educate anyone whom may be trying to achieve the same. Make sure you are comfortable with parting from your four wheel drive. It is as good as gone if you place air bags on it. The reason: front drive-shaft rubs the cross member. So far I've been able to 20" rims on it without rubbing the wheel well. Good luck to all those whom love to get a little creative with their street machines. Keep up the GREAT WORK!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th September, 2004

16th Nov 2004, 21:14

Lowering a Jeep!? Oh the horror...

26th May 2005, 13:32

Maybe you should've just bought a car and saved yourself the trouble of turning an off-roader into one.

Karppi.

3rd Nov 2008, 01:33

Jeeps are not meant to be lowered, they are meant to be raised!

3rd Nov 2008, 11:04

I don't understand why people do some of the things they do to their cars.

Lowering a Jeep is just absurd!

3rd Oct 2009, 23:48

The only thing more ridiculous than lowering a Jeep is to raise it. Raised jeeps shouldn't be allowed on public roads as they are dangerous to everyone else. People with lift kits etc should only be able to take their monstrosities out into the wilds and banned from roads.

4th Oct 2009, 18:07

23:48

I have a 1 1/2" lift on my Wrangler, and I assure you that it isn't a danger to anyone.

I suggest that before you write a broad comment such as the one you just wrote on this site, that you have some data to back-up your outrageous claim.

5th Oct 2009, 19:56

Raising a Jeep (or any vehicle) really does nothing for it. It does almost nothing in the off-road department. When you spend 3 grand to raise a Jeep, you could have spent $500 to buy some good off-road tires and you'd be able to go just as far as the guy with the raised Jeep. What's the point of raising a truck or SUV? Is it just for looks? It must be, because it doesn't seem to serve any other purpose.

15th Feb 2010, 22:27

Wow people are uhh.. miss informed.

Lifting any vehicle adds to its ability to offroad. Even body lifts have a viable function. Generally lift kits (body and suspension) allow for larger tires. Without them most vehicles are very limited to how much they can be lifted before rubbing occurs.

And if he wants to lower a Jeep, who cares, he likes the Grand Cherokee and he wants to slam it.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 57 reviews