1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 9 of 14

1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee Inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

This vehicle is the perfect buy for the home repairman.

Faults:

The transmission completely failed at 101,000 miles. The cost to repair it equaled $2,000.

The steering gear began leaking power steering fluid at 143,000 and needed to be replaced.

The stabilizer bar links failed twice on the passenger side of the vehicle. Jeep changed the replacement part to a fixed stud which have been reliable on and off-road since replaced.

The power steering pump went at 89,000 miles.

The rear differential began leaking at 100,000 miles, but is so small it does not need repair.

Driver side elbow rest needed to be replaced at 60,000 miles.

Driver's seat is uncomfortable for long trips on highway. There never was good lumbar support when I purchased the vehicle at 42,000 miles. I have never had a complaint from a passenger.

Transfer case leaks slightly.

The front differential overheats on the highway and will force fluid through the front passenger side axle seal.

General Comments:

This 4-wheel drive vehicle handles like a dream off-road. I have put years of heavy off-road abuse on the vehicle and she is easy to fix cleans up very well.

I was very upset about the transmission.

I have never gotten stuck in the mud.

The ease of repair makes this the perfect buy for anyone who has hand eye coordination.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2004

1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo Milano

Summary:

You get what you pay for...

Faults:

Engine computer died at 45,000 miles.

Crank sensor and distributor sensor replaced at 65,000 miles.

Drivers seat wore out at 85,000 miles.

Transmission now slipping at 99,000 miles.

General Comments:

Has been fairly reliable, but I'm glad I had the extended warranty.

Comfortable, good gas mileage for a full size SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2004

1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0 Limited from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles

Summary:

The Ultimate True 4x4

Faults:

Fuel pump just bottomed out at about 96,000 miles.

Heated seats don't seem to work anymore.

General Comments:

Awesome, awesome, awesome, REAL SUV. My Dad got this car in 1996 when I was eleven, and gave it to me 2 years ago when I got my license and bought a new car for himself. Although I just got it two years ago, I've been riding in it ever since we got it, and let me tell you, it doesn't get any better than this, people. This baby has plowed through well over ten inches of snow, blazed over the off-road of NY state, and dusted Ford Explorers on the highway. And it's only the in line six! This is a real SUV, not a soccer mom wagon like all the others, and it's got luxury, and power. It's not by coincidence that Jeep had won Peterson's four wheel and off-road 4x4 of the year nine times, including THIS model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2004

1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired176000 kilometres
Most recent distance177000 kilometres

Summary:

A hungry monster

Faults:

Serpentine Belt deeply cracked when I got it.

Engine Oil had gone bad.

Auto Trans Pan was real ugly.

Bezels were a bit ripped.

General Comments:

This car is a monster, rides great, performs great, and of course great power. Keep in mind though, monsters are big, therefore, their cost of living are high. The Jeep Grand Cherokee may perform good, but it eats away your money like no tomorrow. Gas and Maintenance are the main issues. Overall, this car is great. My first car and it will last me for years to come. Exercise the monster and it will roar!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2004

1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 I6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 I6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Fun, reliable, easy to maintain

Faults:

Fuel Pump Failed (98,000 Miles) - Cost $800+

Crank Shaft Position Sensor Failed (110,000 Miles) - Cost $350+

Front Hubs replaced (75,000 Miles) - $275+

Replaced 2 Batteries in 118,000 miles

Front brakes done three times in 118,000 miles twice replacing rotors.

Rear brakes done twice - second time due to failure of parking brake (which is no longer functional).

Cruise control works 90% of the time. Sometimes will not engage, other times after being engaged it will disengage itself dealer cannot identify problem.

Broke 3 front stabilizer links ($28 ea - replacing yourself).

Replaced Shocks (perhaps not needed) at 85,000 miles.

Currently front radiator has a crack on its seam, preventing pressurization of the cooling system and loss of anti-freeze. Vehicle still runs cool, however every week or two I have to add about a pint of coolant. Approx cost to repair myself around $400 (Would also replace water-pump, thermostat, hoses since everything would already be disassembled)

General Comments:

This has been a great vehicle overall.

I do 95% of all repairs myself and find there is no vehicle on the market easier to maintain then the Jeep 4.0L engine. Even doing a brake job takes me only 1 1/2 hours and an oil change I have down to 20 minutes (No kidding)

Yes the Jeep might appear to be more costly perhaps then most vehicles to maintain, but 4x4's usually are. However in fairness I do take the vehicle off-road on occasion.

Averaging overall costs out - subtracting warranty period approx $500 per/year cheaper then a car payment every month.

I would recommend this vehicle and hope to keep it for a few more years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2004

15th Dec 2005, 06:20

Thumbs up on the ease of repair! I wonder if the engineers had the repair factor in mind when they designed the ZJ? I own a 96 Grand Limited 5.2L and would not own any other! The Best of The Best!

2nd Jul 2010, 11:59

Ditto. You can do all the maintenance yourself and most of the repairs yourself. Parts are even cheaper at the dealer than most auto parts stores. I have a '96ZJ 4.0 4x4 and bought it used with 84K miles, and it now has 198K miles and still going strong. It is our family truckster. Do the tune up EVERY year for about $45 using ONLY the original Champion $1.99 plugs, change your oil every 5-7K, and it will last you for years!

The 4.0 inline 6 is the really the best engine ever put into a Jeep, and one of the top 3 American engines.

4x4's do NOT cost any appreciable difference to own than a 2wd. And WHO would own a 2wd Jeep! We had the tranny rebuilt at 189K (not bad) by the awesome JUST JEEPS in Austin, TX.

Now this is an American car so it has front rotor issues -- so what it's a $70 fix that YOU can do. The drive train is a little noisy. If you're resourceful, ownership will NOT break you like a new car payment will.

NOTE: Resist the shop that tells you that you need a new engine -- it's probably the oil pump! These engines will go for 300K miles. Just look at all the ones for sale with 225-295K miles. And another testimony is HOW MANY ZJs are still on the road.

Go to North American Grand Cherokee Assn: http://www.nagca.com/

BUY THE JEEP and BE DONE WITH IT!!

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 57 reviews