2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 24 of 46

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles

Summary:

Appearance is good, that's it..

Faults:

ECM module, $500.

Brakes, $150.

This vehicle is a child of its own..

General Comments:

I have a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited. I bought it used with 44,000 miles.

The car started perfectly fine when I got it... 2 weeks later my car wouldn't start. At first I thought I was out of gas, but when I towed it to the dealer mechanic ($80), it was my "ECM module"; the main relay for the motor. That thing cost me $500.

The brakes started squeaking as if I needed new brakes... so I had my rotors turned and I bought new brake pads... same outcome!

All & all, I like my Jeep. It looks nice, but I would never, never buy another Jeep again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd October, 2006

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

With locks problems so common, Jeep should pay for repairs

Faults:

Both back doors are currently locked and cannot be opened. Cannot transport grandchildren until we spend about $250 to for parts and labor to fix.

General Comments:

Generally like the vehicle. I commute round-trip 60 miles/day and, ike most people with SUV's, the fuel costs are killing me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd August, 2006

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo in line 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission in line 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired111567 miles
Most recent distance111798 miles

Summary:

Big enough, but not too big and good on gas

Faults:

Um I bought it used and so far nothing wrong with it, just a few dints and dings, but it's used and that's all.

General Comments:

I love the sound and the looks are great. My only complaint its lacking in power when passing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2006

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 2WD 4.0L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired350 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carMazda 626 LX

Summary:

Comfortable, but somewhat reliable car

Faults:

Rotors need to be turned every 6 months or replaced after a year.

Water pump replaced at 70,000 miles.

Most of the doors are not locking correctly. "Goose like" sound when using the remote to close door.

Differential needs constant maintenance, very tricky. Cost me over $800 for a rebuild.

Red tail light went out and had to be replaced.

General Comments:

Good vehicle and somewhat reliable SUV, except for the minor problems mentioned above.

Door locking mechanism needs to recalled, and so do the brake rotors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th July, 2006

17th Jul 2006, 17:19

I have a '99 Grand Cherokee Laredo, and have had it for 2.5 years. I bought it with 64K, and now it's at 114K. In that 50,000 miles, during which I gave it routine proper maintenance, I have encountered:

Rotor warping (two needed replaced, just a few months after getting grooved). Need to replace other two.

Rear latch attenuator (lock) made the 'goose' sound when tried to lock. Had to get it replaced.

Rear differential needed overhaul. Pricey fix.

Front drive-shaft broke. Huge cost to fix.

A/C has leakage, and may need major fix.

Now the front differential or some other bearings up front are bad, which may run into the thousands.

Plus, transfer case seals are going bad, other engine seals may need replaced... what on Earth is Jeep doing in terms with quality control??? I like the Grand Cherokee, but if workmanship and materials are so sub-standard that their product has major issues just five years after production, then I fear I may just have to consider another carmaker that takes a little more pride in what they put out... this constant nickel-and-dime maintenance is ridiculous.

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 from South Africa

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Best value for money and great off road Jeep

Faults:

There is absulutely nothing I can say here

General Comments:

There is absolutely nothing bad that I can say about this wonderful Jeep.

The handling on and off road is great.

Spacious cabin with plenty of load space.

I had a 1996 Jeep Cherokee Sport before this one and Jeep showed huge improvements, I must add that I was not happy to sell the old one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2006

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carPorsche 911

Summary:

OK, but company backing needs improvement

Faults:

Front drivers seat broke

Brakes warped 3 times.

General Comments:

The front seat back broke.

The brakes are pathetic.

Both items are factory defects and should be recalled due to safety issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd June, 2006

3rd Jun 2006, 11:35

Your previous car was a Porsche - do you honestly think a Jeep which weighs twice as much will have the same level of stopping power?

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 168 reviews