2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 25 of 46

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

A/c doesn't blow hard on the passenger side of the vehicle - Do you have any suggestions?

Door locks were replaced prior to my ownership.

Headlamps were foggy.

General Comments:

I love this jeep!!! It is a smooth ride - I would buy another one any day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2006

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 Litre from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

Reliable, but electrical problems will drive you insane

Faults:

Like many others, I seem to have a problem with the rear running lights. The brake lights work just fine, the hazard lights seem to work and even the back-up lights appear O.K. But the tail lights seem to have a mind of their own. When I take off the light covers to check the bulbs, at first one side would not work and then later the same day the other side went out as well. If you press hard on the rear circuit board then the lights will come on, but once you release the pressure, they simply go off. How much is these circuit boards? Does anyone know?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th April, 2006

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

I will never buy another Jeep Grand Cherokee

Faults:

More JGC problems, starting at 13,000 miles, warped rotors, had them turned, warped again, installed NAPA rotors no problems now, Door locks grinding, fan relay sensor bad, rear axle seals leaking,3 water pumps, door hinges popping, paint on hood peeling, replaced electric radiator fan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th March, 2006

12th Feb 2008, 15:17

I have experienced every problem you have with the driver seat breaking, 2 radiators, the shocks are shot, seems like I replace the brakes every season :). I LOVE the look of this car, but the design is horrible and even the best mechanics cannot figure this one out. I had to have my fan put on a switch. One crappy put together Jeep.

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 Semi-Automatic
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

Easy fix to Tail Light issues on the 2k KGC Laredo

Faults:

Tail Lights have issues. I have read this thread to the end and thank you for posting. However, as my metal contacts are busted and the bulb socket looks like it shorted- you can buy the single lamp socket for under 9 bucks direct from a Jeep dealer- the part number is 4676589. Watch out tho- some parts managers are not aware of this and will quote the price for the full assemply as being the only option!

General Comments:

Great Truck other than little issues- I am on my way to 250k miles!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2006

23rd Feb 2006, 16:56

I am actually in the market of purchasing a used Jeep Cherokee Laredo 2000. Everything seems to be perfect... How would you honestly rate this vehicle? Would you suggest for me to look into another or is this a good vehicle to be stuck with for several years? I've heard that they can last for a long time. However, the odometer reads 98,000 miles. We took the jeep to our personal mechanic and he said the only problem with it is the fact that the vaccum something was needing repairing. Is this a major problem? Just wondering. I'm new to the car purchasing market and I'm just a bit nervous investing in a vehicle that has such bad comments on this website.

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo V8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Too many problems and frustrated

Faults:

So many problems and strongly don't recommend for new buyers.

General Comments:

I got brand new GC Laredo and problems started right after 6 months from the date of purchase.

- Transmission problem (car was running like horse and could not accelerate above 40 MPH).

- Engine light goes on and off several times (dealer could not figure out the issue)

- Head light goes off automatically even I turned off, and made me nuts when going to work in the morning since battery was out.

...

This is the last time I go with American cars. Suck. Next car will be 4Runner definitely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th February, 2006

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo I-6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission I-6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Starting to worry..

Faults:

Rear power door locks are squealing.

General Comments:

Just like other entries here - I need help with power door lock repair (both rear doors are squealing) and leads on inexpensive replacement parts. I could not find "Harada DLA-01 Actuators" anywhere on the web as suggested in other posts. When will Jeep step up and fix what is inarguably a Jeep manufacturing defect? I have been a staunch Jeep supporter for years, but am starting to worry, especially seeing other comments here. Also, at what point does the government get involved to protect the consumer? HELP, anyone? Thanks - please hope something gets done! - Steve

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th February, 2006

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 167 reviews