2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee from North America


I own a 2001 JGCL. I have replaced the brakes and cut the rotors on it, because it has a really bad noise in the rear, even if you don't have the brakes on, but also does it with the brakes on. If anyone knows how to fix that, please let me know.

I was having problems with my transmission not wanting to shift right. Like when I would come to a complete stop, and then try to go, it would just rev up and then make a loud clunk, but then it would take off, so we replaced the solenoids (which weren't cheap) and managed to fix it.

When I went to shut my front passenger's side door, my window flew all the way down, and it was my window regulator that broke, but the bad thing is that I can only fine one through Mopar, and it's gonna cost me $227.00, which I can't afford. So if anyone knows where I can find one cheaper, please let me know!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th August, 2006

11th Aug 2006, 00:44

I have the same problem with my 03 JGCL. The noise and the sudden shifting. If someone knows how to fix the noisy brakes, please post.

14th Dec 2006, 17:31

Trans issues are solved with sensors replacement. Brakes with after market cross-driled rotors is the cure.

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee V6 from North America


Excellent vehicle with driver seat concerns an issue


This message is in response to the postings referencing the broken front driver seat.

I am currently attempting to find a replacement seat, and this seems to be a big problem short of a salvage yard, and am unwilling to pay the cost of new through a dealer. I too am very aggravated with the Mopar brand name, and Jeep in particular, because it was a Dodge Dealer that I purchased this Jeep through.

When I first purchased the Jeep, I didn't really notice the seat being wobbly during the test drive, although looking back it surely didn't seem as stable as it should have.

A couple of weeks after purchasing the vehicle, I noticed that the seat wobbled a lot when going over uneven pavement or terrain, and expressed this to my brother who sells auto's for a living. He looked at the driver's seat and noticed that the seat had come unattached at the control arms attached to the motorized seat adjuster, as if they had been bent back and forth and just snapped. At first this was only on the side of the seat closest to the driver door, so I went to the dealer whom refused to repair the issue and told me it was due to user error, and not a covered item under the warranty. Subsequently, the other side of the seat has since broken free in the same manner, and even worse the bolts that held the actual seat to those same control arms (for lack of a better word). Now my brother in law has used ingenuity to attach the seat bolt back by using an over-sized washer between the arm and the nut to hold the seat to the control arm. This is only a temporary fix, as I continue to seek a salvage vehicle with a suitable replacement seat.

I am amazed though after finding this site to find out that not only is this issue not attributed to user error, but is definitely a safety concern that Jeep should be forced to address. I have owned my Jeep for almost two years and still owe over two years on it, I guess maybe I will research how to file complaint on defective workmanship since I am not the only one with this conflict!

General Comments:

It is frustrating, besides the drivers side seat issue, this vehicle is exactly what I thought I was getting. I love the vehicle, but am frustrated with the lack of concern by the dealer and apparent disregard by the manufacturer to address the safety concern of the front driver seat! Otherwise, I get good performance and am extremely satisfied with this vehicle!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th July, 2006

15th Aug 2006, 23:20

I have had a very similar problem with the same year & model Jeep. Mine is a manual seat and a couple of years ago it started wobbling and tilting. Turned out that the attachment point for one of the seat rails had torn. My mechanic did the oversize washer fix which helped for a while, and then that broke through. I took it apart and made a better repair with a reinforcing aluminum strip. It continued to wobble somewhat and the distortion of the seat was really irritating my right hip and lower back. I took the seat apart further and found several other broken parts (broken welds, torn sheet metal, etc) the seat is very flimsily made. I took the seat to an upholstery shop and they re-welded it and made other repairs. The seat now seems almost normal, but it is apparently still off enough that my hip hurts each time I sit in it. The final point is that I must now find a completely new seat. Has anyone heard of any 'after-market' seats? And were you able to find the cost of a factory-new seat? This seat and the brakes have been my only complaint about this vehicle.

21st Aug 2006, 11:37

I was interested in buying a 2001 JGC Laredo, but now I have changed my mind, and will be buying a Honda Accord 2001.

29th Dec 2006, 21:55

I also have a 1999 jeep grand cherokee. The left front part of the seat has also broken free of the bar, I am looking for a good fix or a replacement if anyone has found one.


5th Jan 2008, 08:25

Have fun off roading in your HON-DAA!