2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0L from North America

Summary:

Reliable vehicle - I would not sell because of this problem

Faults:

I have been very satisfied with my Jeep, but since last year, I discovered that my tail lights go off when I have my headlights on and use the brakes, which of course is very dangerous, especially driving through the night. I am very surprised that so many people have had the same problem. This should have been definitely a "recall" from the manufacturer as on my Jeep, both sides have a malfunction in the panel, and of course it's not covered on the "extended warranty".

General Comments:

Otherwise, so far, it was always reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st March, 2006

27th Apr 2006, 22:15

This vehicle possibly has a poor ground in the rear light circuit causing the rear lights to fade when the head lights are turned on. This should be relatively simple to fix.

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Ltd 4.7L from North America

Summary:

Great vehicle with terrible rotors

Faults:

I've had to replace the brake rotors on my 2001 Grand Cher Ltd at least 5 times. It is the weak link on an otherwise good car. Doing it again at 136K mikes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2006

27th Apr 2006, 22:17

Review should give information on the amount of city driving and how hilly is the city. Brakes don't hold up well with lots of hilly city driving.

20th Jul 2006, 18:29

Could be a rider of the brakes...

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.7L from North America

Summary:

I love the Jeep, but the reliability has not been close to what I have seen with other GC's

Faults:

The front differential was found full of shavings at 48000 during fluid change. Extended warranty replaced the differential.

The climate control module was found defective at 48000. Extended warranty replaced the module.

The heater blend door broke at 50514 miles for the passenger side. A TSB indicates this to be a known problem due to a poor design for several model years and lists part numbers for a redesigned unit. I had to pay $908 for this repair, as the blend door was not covered under extended warranty.

I had a water pump fail, I replaced it myself rather than go through the warranty hassle. With a $100 deductible, why bother?

The 10 disc CD changer is a piece of junk. I am quite within my right to say this, as I was a factory authorized professional consumer electronics servicer for many years. The changer hangs frequently between cd swaps. It is of course not under warranty.

Now, I have a defective Vari-lok rear differential (69000 miles). The assembly is on national backorder since Dec 21 2005, no reliable delivery date yet. I am told by the dealer the entire rear axle assembly must be replaced due to the housing warping. The housing is aluminum. In my opinion a dumb move for a vehicle which has factory trailer towing package and is used off-road.

The driver side leather seat is showing significant pressure point wear at 69000 miles.

The driver side seat heater has failed at 69000 miles.

I also have a defective cooling fan control module (hydraulic driven from the power steering pump) which is waiting on replacement due to the rear differential being on back order. (Extended warranty issue. Both are on the same claim, so the dealer cannot do the repairs separately).

I have contacted the dealer several times, the dealer has talked to the field rep. I have talked to Chrysler corporate twice thus far on this, and it is my humble opinion that Chrysler could not care less about customer service.

General Comments:

This vehicle is serviced every 3000 without fail. It is used, but not abused.

I get 20 mpg on the open highway with the 4.7L at interstate speeds.

Overall, the Grand Cherokee is a great vehicle. Sadly the track record is not so good from a reliability standpoint.

The vehicle handles well, and is very capable off road. (well, it was until the varilok unit failed. Now it acts like an open-spool differential and quite noisy). I am a bit disappointed that Jeep did not see fit to use a true Dana 44 rear end instead of the aluminum version this Jeep has.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th March, 2006

5th Apr 2006, 16:03

Cold air blowing out of passenger side heater ducts (99-04 Grand Cherokee) Jeep is having some trouble with the heater blend doors failing causing cold air to blow when heat is desired. A new updated blend door will fix the trouble.

Do you have any further info in this? I just purchased a 2002 model a few months ago 49,000 miles from dealer and just started experiencing this heater issue last week 54,000 miles. Dealer says it’s not covered under extended warranty. I was given a rough quote of $1200. Is Daimler/Chrysler planning on recall? $$$$

Thank You for any info you may have.

13th Oct 2006, 13:19

I am the proud owner of a 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited that I purchased new. I have nothing, but GREAT things to say about this vehicle. It currently has 144,000 miles on it & aside from some small items & routine maintenance, it has been a joy to own. Highway fuel economy is very good, averaging between 19-23 mpg @ 75 m.p.h. The seats are very comfortable and quality workmanship throughout.