2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Loredo from North America


Great SUV for style, money, and comfort


The normal wear and tear, tires, breaks, etc.

The worse is the regulator\motor for the electric windows has gone out and they are not cheap to buy.

General Comments:

I love my Jeep Grand Cherokee. It has never left me in a bind or stranded. I would defiantly buy another Jeep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2005

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 V6 from North America


I like it, but we'll see in a few thousand miles

General Comments:

So far I have not had the braking problem, but after reading previous remarks about the rotors and calipers, I am getting nervous. My 12,000 mile mark will be here soon and that seems to be when everyone's steering wheel began to shake and the brakes needed repairing. If anyone has discovered a solution, please post.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th July, 2005

3rd Apr 2006, 20:09

No rotor or pad upgrade will solve the warp unless you swap caliper for after market ones.

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 liter inline six from North America


Love it, but opinion still pending on reliability


Brake pads and rotors replaces at 44,000 ($700 non Chrysler replacement parts).

Transmission replaced at 52,500 (warranty).

Drivers seat bolt replaced at 52,500 ($300).

Coolant fan sensor replaced at 53,798 ($289)

General Comments:

Overall the car handles great.

Excellent in snow and wet conditions.

Good off road.

Interior comfortable.

Besides the transmission which was covered under the warranty there have not been too many other issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th May, 2005

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 6 cylinder from North America


Except for the brake pads - no problems


I'd love to tell you how many problems I've had with this 2001 Grand Cherokee Limited - but we've only had 2 - so far. Replaced the fuel pump at 47K, and we're experiencing the same brake rotor problem apparently everyone is having. We replaced the rotors and calipers at 48K and apparently now, at 61K, we got to replace the rotors once again. This time, however, we've decided to take it to an independent for some after-market rotors to hopefully alleviate future replacements.

General Comments:

The 2001 is the most comfortable vehicle either of us have ever driven. It glides down the road. If given the opportunity, I'd buy another one exactly like it!

We also own a 2000 Cherokee (36K) and a 1994 Grand Cherokee (244K). No complaints about either of those. The 94 has given us years of stress free driving with only regular maintenance required. I'm expecting to get at least 300K out of that one. Even the body has held up wonderfully!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2005

7th Oct 2005, 08:50

I do have the same rotor problem. The dealer suggests that this problem is likely to happen again. In the other word, I will need to change the rotor every year or so. Chrysler told me today there is no permanent fix of this problem either. I will have to pay $250 - $300 for being the owner of this SUV.

Do you find any permanent solution to this problem?

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 6 cylinder from North America


I could build a more reliable car out of last week's garbage


The faulty calipers were replaced at 15000 miles and started acting up again at 48000 miles.

The transmission failed at 30,000 miles and was replaced.

The suspension and linkage system is a nightmare, causing constant noise and turbulence every time the car turns, and the dealers deny that it is a problem.

General Comments:

The only functional part of the grand Cherokee is the interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th March, 2005

16th Feb 2006, 07:26

The faulty trans is sensor matter and you screwed by Chrysler.

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.7 liter from North America


The first thing to go wrong with my Jeep, was the front brake rotors and pads. To rectify this problem, "Summit Racing" catalog sell high performance, cross drilled brake rotors and heavy duty brake pads, that will need changing around every 35,000 miles, instead of every 10,000 miles.

Also, the cost is very reasonable.

General Comments:

I have to say, that besides the brake issue, I'm very pleased so far with this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th November, 2004

13th Nov 2004, 13:45

So, you bought the Jeep with 33,000 miles on it, drove it for 5,000 miles, and your bitching that the brakes are warped? Ever stop to think the previous owner might have driven it like a Ferrari?

8th Apr 2005, 07:30

I have the same problem and don't drive my Jeep like a Ferrari. Every 15-18 K the rotors need to be replaced. I've been through 3 sets of front a 2 sets of rear at 68,000 and am bringing it in tomorrow for my fourth set of fronts.

12th Apr 2005, 18:35

I own a 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Ltd and also have had problems with needing to replace the rotors. The first set (front) was replaced at 15,000 miles. I now have 35,000 miles on it and they need to be replaced again. My question to others is: has Jeep stood behind this problem for you and replaced them without charge (or minimum charge) even when the vehicle is beyond its 3 year warranty? It sounds as though there is an established record here of a problem... will they stand behind it?

Also, how long should front rotors for an SUV vehicle typically last which is driven sensibly? Thank you in advance for any of your comments.

4th Dec 2008, 20:27

These vehicles should have had bigger rotors, cheap brake pads will make your rotors last longer as well.