2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 29 of 38

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance45500 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

This is not A JEEP, it seems more like a Dodge

Faults:

At 5,000 miles the air conditioning failed.

At 8,000 miles the transmission linkage failed.

At 10,000 miles the engine light came on every time the gas tank was filled.

At 11,000 miles the sunroof trim fell off.

At 12,000 miles I received a recall concerning the leaf accumulating problem.

At 15,000 miles both the hood and lift-gate hydraulic lift arms failed.

At 20,000 miles the transmission shift linkage failed again.

At 40,000 miles both the drivers and passengers power window system failed, within minutes of each other.

General Comments:

The automobile was not cheap when purchased and has been a hassle to maintain. The warranty offered was for 3 years or 36,000 miles. At the time of purchase the dealership was never ending trying to sell me an extended warranty. As if they new something I have only now found out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd July, 2004

23rd Jul 2004, 07:01

For the A/C, turn it off when the car is off. This puts less of a strain on the car and the A/C compressor.

The Tranny, don't drive it like a Ferrari or a Porsche, because it will break.

As for the engine light on after gas fill-ups. Use a better quality gas (from a better station), and make sure the cap is on good and tight.

14th Apr 2006, 23:18

Referring to your title "This is not A JEEP, it seems more like a Dodge" Jeep is made by chrysler which also makes dodge and plymouth, so your Jeep doesn't just seem like a dodge, it is a Dodge.

15th Apr 2006, 18:01

Well I guess you should have boughten a Chevy.

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles

Summary:

A safe and comfortable, yet tough SUV

Faults:

The brake pads were replaced twice.

General Comments:

The things I love about my Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo are:

It's a sharp looking vehicle, that performs very well under harsh New England weather conditions.

It has a very comfortable smooth feel to it and although very roomy in front, it could use a bit more leg room in the back.

Mine is in a Champagne Pearl-coat color, which feels light and airy inside.

The gas mileage is not the best, but then you already know that when you buy an SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2004

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.7L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carChrysler Jeep

Faults:

Stereo reads hot intermittently when playing a disc and will not play the disc.

Seat heater stopped working.

Steering whine at low speed turns.

Extremely long cranking time to start engine.

General Comments:

This is by far the worse automobile that I have ever owned...

Nothing but headaches!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th June, 2004

17th Jun 2004, 13:35

OK, so because of the CD player being too hot, the seat heater not working, and the long start times, this makes this Jeep a piece of crap. Did you ever stop to think that the reason it might be taking so long to start is the fact that the battery is at the end of its life? Usually long start times is the first time to a dieing battery.

21st Jun 2004, 10:52

You did not mention how well your Jeep did off-road.Isn't that why you bought a Jeep?

Bob.

13th Jul 2004, 22:23

How about some cheese with your whine? Go and buy a yuppie SUV next time, Jeeps are for off-road and snow capability, not "Heated Seats" and "Hot CD Players"... Get a real system in it anyway, keeping the factory deck is pointless!!!

22nd Jul 2004, 20:19

In the past six months I have had to fix 2 heated seats, a starter motor, 2 power steering hoses, the power steering pump, the rear axle seals, rotors and pads, all for over $4000. Just think about that before you or your loved ones buy one.

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance35500 miles
Previous carAcura RSX

Summary:

A piece of junk

Faults:

Replace one set of rotors (front) at about 12,000 miles.

At 35,000 miles replace front and rear rotors, had to have the transmission serviced (was told it wasn't covered under 36,000 OR 7 / 70,000 warranty), replaced steering wheel cover (it had worn through), replaced right front tweeter (it had blown--was the Infinity upgrade), replaced clip that holds drivers side floor mat in place, replaced all four shocks (were leaking at 18,000), replaced right front passenger side door assembly (inside vehicle) because of poor fit, Jeep still 'hums' when overdrive is switched off, and still diesels up hills even though I have had the spark plugs replaced.

General Comments:

After spending almost $4000 in the first 36,000 miles on non-warranty issues and maintenance, I am ready to get rid of this piece of junk.

This weekend (6/05/82004) I am trading this piece of junk in for a Toyota 4 runner. I will NEVER purchase another Jeep or Daimler/Chrysler product again. What a nightmare of an experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd June, 2004

3rd Jun 2004, 13:40

I will gladly take this Jeep off your hands because you obviously don't know how to take care of it. You probably drive it like the sports car it's not. I mean come on, "replaced right front tweeter (it had blown--was the Infinity upgrade), replaced clip that holds drivers side floor mat in place." Don't turn the radio up all the way and this will not happen. Do you really need that clip for the floor mat? These are very MINOR problems.

4th Jun 2004, 01:01

To the author of the first comment: Why is everybody complaining about Chrysler transmissions? Are all these complaints totally unfounded, are all these chaps exaggerating or is everybody treating their Jeeps as if they were Porsches?

Don't you find a bit disconcerting that very few people complaint of Toyotas?

21st Jun 2004, 12:47

I'm on my third Jeep and not one has had a transmission problem. I do have some concerns about the brakes, but it's only an annoyance not a big problem. The others items the guy complained about are also minor. I bought all my Jeeps to go four wheeling and not to be the family van/sports car.

Bob.

20th May 2005, 22:03

It might be interesting to note that for every vehicle purchased you can read the good the bad and ugly. North American, European, or Japanese. Chrysler Transmissions are a problem (having experienced myself) however I have owned 5 Chrysler/Jeep vehicles and had to replace 1 transmission, however there are ways that this can be remedied without much cost. Type in your favorite Japanese car and read out it's problems. My brother's RAV4 has been the worst vehicle he has owned and it is costing him a fortune.

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 130 reviews