2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 32 of 38

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles

Summary:

Piece of junk!

Faults:

Transmission spent

Heating & air conditioning spent

ANNOYING WHISTLE that can't be identified!

If anyone knows what the whistle is please email me at: tkouble@hotmail.com

General Comments:

This beautiful vehicle has broken my heart! My heating and air conditioning have both cost me several hundred dollars to repair. It has an ANNOYING whistle that 5 different certified Jeep mechanics cannot identify. They just tell me that it's not a big deal and I should just ignore it. Of course, when my whole transmission drops and I have to pay $3K to fix it, they won't be asking me to ignore that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th March, 2004

9th Apr 2004, 16:23

And the transmission probably will drop - ours did! At 38,000 miles the transmission sensor went out - dealer wanted over $500 to fix, but charged me half when I was going to have it towed to my mechanic instead. At 63,000 miles the transmission is GONE and we don't tow anything or take it off road. I am VERY disappointed!

12th Apr 2004, 13:08

Transmission sensor also went bad on my '01 recently. It would try and start from 3rd gear. This started after I had towed a boat around a few times. Thank goodness I purchased an extended warranty. Of course the dealer also charged me $200 for a bad vacuum hose which a later found out to be a $3 and 2 minute job.

Anyway, that noise you're talking about, it sounds like something I had noticed after getting my GC. It doesn't start until about 65-70 mph. If that's what you're talking about, I found out through some online research that it is typical of the Quadra-track system. Apparently it hasn't caused any problems or vice-versa.

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.7 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired33 miles
Most recent distance49600 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

A well engineered, economic, luxury SUV

Faults:

The power Steering cooler hose broke at 8000 miles when we were on vacation. The car was towed to a nearby dealer on Sunday. The first dealer where the 800 emergency warranty service had the car towed to didn't actually service Jeeps. I called the 800 Warranty service Monday morning and they looked up another dealer and had it towed there. I called daily hoping to get it back since I was paying for storage at a nearby RV park for my travel trailer we tow on vacation. It was ready Wed afternoon. I haven't had any other problems.

General Comments:

I am impressed with the towing ability. Everything is stock. All I did was plug in the trailer brakes. The Jeep handles well with a standard leveler hitch. The 235 horsepower V8 with 5 speed automatic transmission has plenty of power and gets 9 MPG average when towing my 5800 pound trailer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2004

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Lareda V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Well worth the cost.

Faults:

Rotors replaced at 10000 miles. Transmission modual changed at 45000

Fuel valve changed at 56000.

General Comments:

For snow and ice it can't be beat. Plenty of room for kids on long trips. average 18 mpg. Quite and smooth as the day I bought it. Try to get 250000 miles then give it to kids.

I feel very save in case of crash.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 4.7L, 265-HP, 16-valve, 325 ft-lb torque, 16v, hig from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7L, 265-HP, 16-valve, 325 ft-lb torque, 16v, hig Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19878 miles
Most recent distance24447 miles

Summary:

It's the best and most-powerful all-around vehicle ever manufactured!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this American sport utility vehicle.

General Comments:

This vehicle has a lot of power, very strong, very reliable, and very well-running engine.

The transmission is just as great as the engine.

I love my Jeep!

It has a lot of luxury for a Jeep. There are some very evident, cheap, and cost-saving details, such as cheap plastics, but overall it is a great vehicle and I love it very much.

I WILL get another Jeep when I am finished with this Overland.

I highly recommend the Jeep Grand Cherokee!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2004

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles

Summary:

Paying for looks, not reliability

Faults:

Steering wheel had violent vibrating when braking. Had to replace rotors at 30,000 miles.

At 50,000 miles, transmission wouldn't go into second gear. $1700 down the drain. Shaking again when braking. Looks like I need new rotors again.

General Comments:

It handles well and looks real good but transmissions should last more than 50,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st November, 2003

18th Mar 2004, 20:23

I too have experienced rotor problems om my Grand Cherokee Laredo at 30K. I remember seeing this problem mentioned elsewhere, making me believe it is an inherent problem. It may just be appearing in the 2001s. Anybody else?

6th Apr 2004, 10:46

My brakes also caused vibrations when braking. The Jeep dealer said that the rotors needed to be replaced. I only had 32,000 miles on the Grand Cherokee Limited, and had never towed anything. Since I've just started towing trailers, this is a big concern.

It turns out that there is a service notice from Chrysler that the original calipers are poorly designed. The bad design generates excessive heat to the rotors, and causes warping. There is a new caliper design that is recommended when replacing the rotors. It is supposed to produce less heat and result in longer rotor life.

Note: This is a service bulletin, but NOT a recall. Therefore, the replacement is not covered under warranty, and reimbursed by the Chrysler Corp.

I decided to make the replacement, and hope that it increases the lifetime of my brakes. I had the Jeep dealer make the repairs. Since this may turn into a recall in the future, they will have the documentation and could reimburse me for the work. Fat chance, but something to hope for.

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 130 reviews