2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 34 of 38

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 4.7 Power Tech High Output V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 Power Tech High Output V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired21221 miles
Most recent distance22573 miles

Summary:

High performance luxury vehicle on the road

Faults:

So far nothing has went wrong with my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland. The engine is a very powerful machine and kicks out 265 horsepower at 5200 revolutions per minute (RPM) and 325 foot-pounds of torque at the same RPM. The 5-speed automatic transmission is very helpful in rapid acceleration. The only thing to complain about is the whining sound created in acceleration, caused by the Quadra-Drive system. Overall, the vehicle is flawless.

General Comments:

The vehicle is extremely quick.

A very powerful vehicle.

The best all-around manufactured.

Best vehicle in the Chrysler division.

One of the best road-handlers around.

Most luxurious Jeep around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2003

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

Fred Flintstone would not mind

Faults:

Rotors replaced at 21000 miles and now at 53000 miles.

General Comments:

Jeep's styling and ride almost make up for the poor performance in braking due to inadequate rotor design. Safety means more to me than looks. There are too many other safe sport utility vehicles on the market to choose from.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th August, 2003

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee larado 4.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance32200 miles
Previous carDodge dakota

Summary:

Unable to tow up to rating

Faults:

Transmission slipping.

Transmission slipping.

Transmission slipping.

Transmission slipping / replaced transmission 26,000 miles.

Transmission slipping 31,000 miles.

General Comments:

This vehicle is unable to preform up to spec's. Tow rating is 6500lbs. We purchased it to pull our 4400 lb boat.

It continues to have transmission problems even after a replacement was installed. Close to warranty running out and dealer won't repair it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2003

1st Feb 2004, 07:10

We have a grand Cherokee Laredo with a 4.7 v8 pulls great.

I pull a 30 foot travel trailer that go's 4900 pounds empty. I have had no problems with this vehicle it's been a good truck. It now has 48,000 miles and it go's through the mountains every year pulling. 1,200 miles from here not on flat roads even.

16th Aug 2005, 21:04

I have a 2001 Grand Cherokee with over 75,000 miles and have needed to replace the fuel filter and lower radiator hose once. It has been an excellent vehicle, totally trouble free and it delivers much better than EPA rated fuel economy. I don't tow anything heavy (16' boat) but it performs great. My previous SUV was a Toyota four runner and the Jeep gets better fuel economy, is roomier and has been just as trouble free.

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Larado 4.0 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A great family vehicle!

Faults:

Had to have new brake system, covered under warranty.

General Comments:

Great SUV, love the performance, has been a great vehicle for the family. We use it as a family vehicle. Very responsive and quick and nimble, does great at parking with it's tight turning radius. Gas mileage varies from 17 in the city to 22 on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2003

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee LTD 4.8 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.8 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired36 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Never again!

Faults:

Brake rotors keep warping.

General Comments:

Whatever has happened to the Daimler-Chrysler quality or caring for that matter. A relative and I both have the same brake rotor problem and neither of us use it for hard driving or towing. We are both fed up. My daughter has their "M" car, certainly not cheap and she has had all kinds of quality problems. No more vehicles from them in this family.

My 1991 Cherokee was great, but I won't buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2003

1st Jul 2004, 11:20

I purchased a 2000 Grand Cherokee it has just 97,000K the front brakes have been replaced 6 times I would like to find a after market replacement for the rotor and pads if you know any please email me thanks Doug@dsaxon.com.

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

I have driven much better

Faults:

The power steering squeaked every time you turned left.

The leather on the steering wheel came apart.

The windshield wipers did not work properly.

The steering wheel shakes.

The steering wheel shakes even worse when you brake.

General Comments:

My overall service experience has been good so far. My service department has only let me down one time.

They have resolved every problem under warranty, but one.

I paid to have the rotors turned at 15000 miles. That only resolved the shaking for a short time. I continued to have the tires balanced because I thought that would resolve the problem. After another 15000 miles I called the dealer to complain once again. This time I got a service writer that told me that there is a technical service bulletin on the brakes, and that they would replace the rotors, calipers and brakes at no charge.

My windshield wipers have got a mind of their own. They do not work when I turn them on, but they do work when I use my left turn signal or my bright lights. Go figure. In any case I'm sure that the dealer will resolve this problem also.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd May, 2003

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 129 reviews