2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 6 cylinder from North America


Very dependable, nice riding family vehicle


Transmission stuck in 3rd gear at 40000 miles, dealer paid for parts (valve body) and I paid labor ($200) even though it was past the 36000 mile warranty expiration point.

Rear gate latch failed at 28000 miles, replaced under warranty.

No other repairs or replacements.

General Comments:

We are very pleased with this car at this time. My only complaint is wind noise from the front passenger's side window.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2002

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 from North America


Only 5,000 miles at this point, but it doesn't look good


Rotors had to be replaced at 3,000 Miles.

Recall. Dealer must install some type of dust shield on the intake manifold.

Driver side seat beginning to tear.

Air bag warning light comes on while driving.

General Comments:

It's hard to believe that the rotors on my wife's new Jeep had to be replaced so soon. From what I understand, she's not alone. Time for a recall?

Comfortable vehicle, but it does sway quite a bit while tackling some bumps.

The air bag light is coming on while driving. This may not be a big problem, but it seems to be a sign of things to come.

I'd hate to have to visit this web site on account of another Jeep problem. I really don't want to be forced to buy an Import.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th June, 2002

12th Nov 2004, 13:59

I'm got a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee with 65,000 miles on it. At 30,000 I had to replace pads and rotors and can feel the rotors warping now. The actuators that lock my front passenger and rear gate door have both gone bad. I'm about to go pick my Jeep up after the engine died on me a week ago. After replacing the ignition coil without results the mechanic ended up sending the vehicle to a dealer to troubleshoot the problem. The dealer had to replace several recalled parts around the intake manifold, but attributed my problem to the idle set screw being incorrectly set. Although I was initially impressed with Jeep, I have to say that for my next vehicle I will likely return to my roots and buy Chevy.

1st Dec 2007, 12:52

I had recently bought a 2001 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE and it went into the shop 6x in the first month.

First was the brakes - warped rotors.

Next was the window; it went down and broke a little plastic clip 'should be metal'.

Third was the shocks or struts; I don't know, I never got a straight answer. They always make a knocking noise.

Fourth was the brakes again... same problem.

Fifth was the fan relay.

And last was an idling problem. So I traded it back for a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee. It's a far better vehicle. But I now have a mystery squeak. It comes from the front of the vehicle after 20 mph and is constant. My feelings on newer vehicles is not good; I'd rather drive my beat up 64 Chevy van.

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 6 cylinder from North America


Stylish looks, but poor performance


This SUV started shaking & pulsing when the brakes were applied at any speed over 40 miles per hours, staring at 5000 miles I finally brought it in for service today, only to be told it needs new rotors & will probably need new rotars at every 10,000. miles!

The suspension is far to soft for the vehicle. I get whiplash driving on city streets.

The air conditioning & heating are so loud at high fan, that passengers are unable to be heard while speaking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th May, 2002

21st Jun 2002, 20:22

My Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited has the same exact problem. We took it back to the dealer and they replaced the brake pads. Everything works fine now.

29th Sep 2002, 16:34

I have a 2001 Grand Cherokee Laredo- I have had to take my Suv in every 10,000 miles for brake/rotor repair. They are aware it is a problem, but the cost comes out of our pocket rather than Jeeps! Somethings wrong with this picture! The first time they covered the charge because it was under 12,000 miles the second time it was my bill. I will never buy another Jeep/Chrysler product again! I am getting ready to turnover 30,000 miles so it will be time for yet another brake/rotor repair. WHAT A JOKE JEEP IS!!