2006 Jeep Liberty Limited 2.4 from North America




My driver side front window broke, I have to push it up and down with my hand, if not, a large spring appears and makes a grinding noise.

My rear right window broke due to keep making their regulators with plastic instead of metal, held up with a zip tie.

Squeaks and shakes violently.

General Comments:

It's not as quick as I thought it would be, being a 6 cylinder.

Very sporty and cute, but not worth the trouble.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th July, 2010

7th Jul 2010, 22:04

I thought the 2.4L was a 4 cylinder.

21st Aug 2010, 19:15

2.4??? Do you mean 2.8L CRD Diesel?

2006 Jeep Liberty 65th Anniversary Edition V6 from North America




I have had three window regulators malfunction. I am going broke keeping them fixed.

When turning the turn signal on, the front dome light comes on.

I cannot fill up gas tank. It will not shut off. The gas spills out over me and the Jeep.

Front tires are ruined at 29,000. Wheels not out of alignment.

When traveling up a hill, the motor slows down and struggles to the top.

General Comments:

I am very disappointed with my Jeep. And do not wish to own another one. I am afraid if I keep it I will only have more problems. I do not feel it is dependable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th June, 2010

10th Aug 2010, 16:15

I too have had 3 of the 4 windows in my 2006 Jeep Liberty malfunction. I understand this is a problem, and need to know how to get it corrected?

2006 Jeep Liberty Sport 3.7LV6 from North America


Will never buy another Jeep!


Window regulator - I have had the driver and passenger side windows fall in twice, and both rear windows three times, front passenger window is beginning to fail, and just today my driver side window fell in. I have read hundreds of complaints on the window regulators, but still no recall?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th October, 2009

29th Oct 2009, 06:12

Welcome to the wonderful world of Chrysler Customer Disservice.

2006 Jeep Liberty 3.7L 4x4 from North America


When it works, it is great


A spring tensioner on the fan belt went last summer. There was no warning, and it is expensive to fix. Buy the part from a supplier (instead of the dealership) to save $$$.

A window regulator went this past fall; I can only purchase a replacement from the dealership, $230+ for the part alone. It is a lot of work to fix, but I saved a couple of hundred $$$ by doing it myself. It happened exactly one week after the factory warranty expired.

Blew the PCV valve last winter: -40 Celsius. I attribute this to the bad weather. Make sure that you warm up the Jeep for at least 10 min minimum.

The engine light now on (Mar '09). Temperature gauge has failed and I'm seeking advice.

General Comments:

Something seems to go or break down almost every quarter.

For the most part a reliable vehicle.

Easy to work on.

Interior is made of cheap plastic.

I enjoy my Jeep, but I hate having to deal with these constant setbacks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th March, 2009

2006 Jeep Liberty Sport turbo diesel from North America


Do not waste your money buying this one


The window regulators were all replaced, and the driver's window had to be repaired twice.

The shocks bottom out when off-roading. Bad suspension. I could not even climb over a curb without banging and scraping. It does not tow much due to poor suspension.

I would be afraid to take it off-road very far.

There is no comfort in the seats. It has poor padding, especially in the read seats. It is made for two people only.

I could not tow much with the spare tire on it. This spare has to be mounted elsewhere if you plan to tow anything. It is too hard to hook up and unhook.

The water pump went out at 50 miles, and dumped coolant all over my relative's driveway. I had to wait one week for parts while I vacationed in Southern California. I was stuck.

General Comments:

This is not a real Jeep. I have always owned Jeeps, and I have tried most models. This one was a real step down.

It was fair on fuel usage. I got 27 mpg on the highway and 20 mpg around town. Diesel costs more per gallon now so the savings were undermined.

The body rattled more each day. Everything is cheap. I decided to get rid of it while still under warranty. I did not want to get stuck with it once it was no longer covered by the dealerships.

I would never buy another Liberty. It had NO resale value. The dealer raped me on the trade in. He was fair, but the Jeep is not one that is high in demand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2008

2nd May 2009, 12:18

I owned a 2006 Jeep Liberty Diesel and just sold it. The fuel consumption was certainly fair for a jeep. However, this vehicle was purchased in the US and so its warranty is not valid in Canada, most unfortunate.

Replacement parts can be pricey.

It was a very sporty looking vehicle, and got a lot of positive comments about that. I just did not like the diesel. The gas smell is strong and the engine is noisy. I've been told that you either like that or you don't. I now know that I fall into the latter group.