2004 Kia Rio Reviews - Page 6 of 8

2004 Kia Rio RXV 1.6 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired67 kilometres
Most recent distance26000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler PT Cruiser

Summary:

It is a cute car, but has cheap quality

Faults:

The check engine came on within 1 month.

The oxygen sensor went bad at 11,000 km.

The mud flap broke after 7 months.

The air breather cover needed replacing at 4000 km.

It got a dull spot on hood after 1 year.

Tires lost their balance at 24000 km.

Plastic molding in trunk warped.

General Comments:

It is a nice car, but is really cheap.

The dash vibrates and drives me crazy.

The air conditioning kills the power of the engine.

It isn't very good on gas.

The service department is very rude especially if it is warranty related.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th May, 2005

2004 Kia Rio from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carMazda MX3

Summary:

Great for basic transportation - it will get you where you want to go

Faults:

At 5,000 miles the moldings around the side windows started to warp and crack. They were replaced under warranty.

The fuse for the power windows blows every 3-4 months.

General Comments:

The engine is surprisingly responsive, especially when paired with the 5-speed manual transmission.

Gas mileage is good (about 25-30 mpg on the highway) but the tank is so small that I have to fill up about twice a week.

The interior is very comfortable for trips shorter than 4 or 5 hours. After that, the seats start to feel too firm and don't offer enough support. At least the driver's seat has the adjustable lumbar support.

If you're looking to get a Rio, I'd recommend getting one with as few options as possible. Mine has every available option (power windows & locks, CD player, etc) except for the automatic transmission. With that much electricity running through an underpowered electrical system, fuses tend to blow pretty easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2005

20th Jan 2006, 03:17

I am also the very happy owner of a 2004 Kia Rio sedan. Although having read many negative reviews about this car from the American consumers I am yet to have a fault with my car (in Australia). My only disappointment is crudeness in relation to the way the power windows operate. They vibrate violently whilst moving up or down and are quite loud, a trivial fault however I'm curious to know if anyone else has encountered this?

13th Sep 2006, 10:21

I have been having a problem with my power window fuse as well. If I put all four windows down at once, the fuse blows, usually with the windows wide open. I have reported this problem to Kia, but I think they didn't do anything about it yet. I will try again next service visit. Anyone have problems with the HVAC controls as well? the far right knob makes a clicking sound, doesn't rotate very well... had to replace the whole unit last time.

26th May 2007, 20:52

I have a 2004 Rio, perfect car for what I need, Have had no problems with car, Had new timing belt put in at 50k Should be perfect for another 50k. Great gas Mileage, with gas at over 3 bucks a gallon, great plus. Have 2 other Kias, will buy another one next time need a new vehicle. I have electric locks and windows, no problems at all with them. The rear window defogger went out, Kia put in new rear window, fixed it, no charge. Car beats any economy car dodge, chevy, or ford make.

2004 Kia Rio from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance800 miles
Previous carKia VW Rabbit

Summary:

Best Car I've ever owned

General Comments:

Purchased my first new car two weeks ago, a 2004 Kia Rio.

I researched all the new cars for nearly a year before choosing this make and model.

Decided upon a Rio due to the inexpensive price and their excellent warranty. 10 years or 100,000 is one of the best on the market.

My car is Blueberry which is a very attractive color; was surprised at how much room there is, compared to how small they look on the ads. Though I'd read backseat is very small and more appropriate for children, found 2-3 adults could sit in back comfortably with no problems.

Mine is the basic model without air conditioning or radio though both could have been added for extra $; is sporty looking; nice 'lines', excellent cornering, excellent acceleration, gets me out of tight corners and heavy traffic in a hurry. Has more power than I expected; does not have power steering though I find I don't need it with this car.

The only drawback is the front seat is uncomfortable; I'm 5-4 and down low in the seat; assume they built it with taller individuals in mind. There are adjustments for support, but none have helped it 'fit' my small frame.

Have had no problems with it so far, but will keep you posted as the car wears. I purchased it with 18 miles on it and now has 800 with no problems.

All in all, I love my car and feel I got good value for the money. Best car I've ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2004

3rd Feb 2005, 18:40

Over all a very good entry. The promise of follow up is what really interested me. I own a 1991 Ford (Kia) Festiva, an am shopping for a new commuter car. The Rio interests me. The front seat information was most helpful also. Coloma, Michigan.

8th Mar 2006, 23:54

I found it interesting that Kia made the Festiva for Ford back in the late 1980's and early 1990's. I guess that I am dating myself, but the 1988 Festiva was my first new car I ever owned. I never had any trouble with the car. It was "spunky" off the line and got excellent fuel economy.

I will be purchasing 2 new cars in the near future. One a commuter car for myself the the other a car for my daughter. Will look at the Kia Rio for sure.

18th Apr 2007, 09:57

My Rio has 46000 miles on it. A gasket on the fuel pump got damaged. I was 900 miles from home a near by Kia dealership can and got it fixed and I was back on the road in 3 hours no charge. This car has the best warranty, but your major problems don't show up til 110 miles, but by that time you can just buy another. They're not too expensive. I got mine with 31 miles for $3500.00...a good deal for a brand new car... the best gas mileage, got good power, but you can't have everything no powersteering...gets annoying sometimes. I give this car A+ on value. 48561 miles

28th Oct 2010, 14:21

I bought my Rio in the UK with 83000 on the clock. OK, it needs a CV joint, but passed its test with flying colours.

I love it; air con, power steering, a little bit worse on economy than I thought, but the good bits outweigh the bad, plus I got a 6 year old car for the price of a 12 year old car.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. The American market expects a Rolls Royce for a basic vehicle. People in the UK are proud to own just a good vehicle.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 28 reviews