2004 Kia Rio Reviews - Page 3 of 8

2004 Kia Rio RS from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 kilometres
Most recent distance106000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

Forget it! Throw your money in a pit and burn it... it will be doing exactly the same thing!

Faults:

Everything and anything.

First, something about my brake lines go bad, then some other stuff was changed before the insurance went bad.

Two other items, though not important to the engine, was my passenger seat belt and my lighter. They were to be changed at three occasions (under guarantee), but never were. KIA simply forgot to order the pieces. Then, the same thing with my timing belt.

This morning, the timing belt broke, and it would appear that with Kia, when the timing belt goes, so does the motor. It's just gonna cost me an extra $1000...

Add this to the 4k I spent to buy the car, and another 1k spent on the piece of crap.. That means that in 9 months, it has cost me just about 6k for a broken car. I am so selling this piece of crap soon as it has been repaired, and I am so going back to TOYOTA. There, I find cars of great quality..

General Comments:

Absolutely bad.

Not comfortable.

Something breaks at least once a month.

Not a lot of leg room for people seating up front and in the back.

Poor clientèle service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th August, 2008

21st Feb 2009, 16:39

The timing belt should be changed at 100K, and I would not blame that failure on the manufacturer or dealer.

25th Apr 2009, 00:36

To the person who said that the timing belt should be changed at 100,000km, and don't blame the manufacturer or dealer. Look at all the other comments. My KIA Rio was fully serviced and looked after from day one, and yet the timing belt and therefore the motor went at 59,000km! This is a joke of a car, and should never be defended by anyone.

7th Jan 2010, 12:49

My 2004 Rio's timing belt went out at 54K and blew the engine. The owners manual stated that the belt should be checked at 60,000 miles. I was initially told that it would not be covered under the 10 year 100,000 mile warranty. I was less than pleased, and made sure the dealership knew it.

The dealer called today, and told me that they were covering the repair due to a misprint in the owners manual, and something about their legal department.

I guess it pays to fight. Good luck.

2004 Kia Rio from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles

Summary:

I hate this car

Faults:

This car has eaten brakes from day one. I don't really mind that, but it is a pain.

My big issue is that my timing belt blew very early. It is not covered under the warranty because it is apparently suppose to be changed at 60,000 miles. This is extremely early. When the belt blew it absolutely demolished my entire engine. My 10 year 100,000 mile warranty is now null and void.

General Comments:

I will never own another Kia in my life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th July, 2008

30th Jul 2008, 07:36

What do you expect if you do not maintain your car. Your fault, not Kias.

When you find a car that copes for 76,000 mile without the correct maintenance, let us all know.

Kia offer a ten year warranty on a very cheap car - I am not surprised they refused the work as it was your fault.

14th Apr 2009, 15:00

Same exact thing happened to me, timing belt broke on high way, KIA said the motor needs to be also replaced, the total repair will run up to around $5000, and the car is worth probably only around 2000, Yes, I am screwed too...

10th Jun 2009, 08:13

Maybe someone should invent a belt that whistles 30 minutes before it breaks... or shuts down the engine. Some people have to learn the hard way that PREVENTATIVE maintenace is typically much less expensive than waiting for a part to fail.

Many parts at the chain stores have a lifetime warranty so replacing them is free... even if they haven't worn out. I replace my plug wires every 3 years under this warranty... BEFORE they fail.

11th Mar 2010, 22:22

60k miles is dead on for timing belt change. Change it every 60. Costs what, 400 bucks?

2nd Mar 2014, 09:18

One word... Toyota. I bought a 4Runner 7 years ago with 155,000 on it. It now has 240,000 and have done nothing but change the oil, plugs once and a couple of sets of brake pads. It still runs like new.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 28 reviews