2004 Kia Rio Reviews - Page 8 of 8

2004 Kia Rio 1.5 DOHC from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired125 kilometres
Most recent distance4500 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Best value for money small car!!

Faults:

Some of the plastic around the buckle on the passengers seat belt has been worn away, not a safety issue and only noticeable if you look for it.

General Comments:

I purchased this car with some modifications from the dealer, 17" rims to replace the 13" rims and 1 1/4 inch lower (new springs). Even with the window tinting etc. the price was still under A$20,000!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2004

2004 Kia Rio from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance550 miles

Summary:

Fun to drive economy car that is a piece of junk!!!

Faults:

This is my second review, the dealer swapped me out of a BAD KIA Rio that they couldn't fix (879 miles), bad computer. The replacement car's engine light came on at 417 miles, drove to the dealer and the car has been there for 6 days. Same computer problem as the previous car, KIA hopes to have a fix in 3-4 weeks.

General Comments:

Kia Rio is a car with major flaws in its computer system. I would avoid buying a KIA; the low selling price is just not worth it!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th June, 2004

24th Aug 2004, 13:52

I took delivery of my 2004 KIA Rio on May 28th --- since then it has been in the shop on at least 5/6 occasions due to the Check Engine Light going on for NO APPARENT reason. At this point it has spent more than 30 days in the shop, and I am very concerned that between the dealership and the KIA of AMERICA rep that was sent in to look at it, that they have done something to disable the light, since they have been unable to fix it after replacing all kinds of air sensors, along with the throttle baffle and the rear seal. This is a brand new car that started having trouble at a little off 100 miles - the dealership has put almost 500 miles on it by test driving it - what gives???? I am seeing that this problem seems to go back to the 2003 Rio, yet the dealer and KIA say my vehicle is an isolated case...

I would like to be able to contact other Rio owners that have had the same problems.

Thanks.

2004 Kia Rio ice 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70 miles
Most recent distance500 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Cheap motoring good value could do worse

Faults:

The car has been faultless, but at that kind of mileage I would think so.

General Comments:

I've noticed on windy days there is a noise and a draft on the near side door seal have also had prob s with window seal on offside front door, but car has been OK at moment its not going to break the land speed record buts it's a lot of car for little money can't have it both ways,there are worse cars out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2004

2nd Nov 2006, 14:20

I have been looking at the KIA RIO, and I was just wondering if your car is still up to scratch? Is it still working well? I thought that it looked like a lovely car and looked very roomy for my family.Although, after seeing the comments I am a bit concerned as a lot of them seemed to have ended up with lemons. I hope I don't :)

2004 Kia Rio 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance1100 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Inexpensive to buy, but built cheap as well

Faults:

I bought the KIA after extensive research into reliability however the car I bought has had nothing but trouble. At 128 miles the check engine light came on and the dealer indicated it needed tightening of the gas cap. At 879 miles the car died on the commute to work, I was able to coax it to a Kia dealer who reset the check light and sent me on my way. At 1000 miles the check engine light came on again and I took it to the original sales dealer. It's been in the shop for 5 days, replacing emission control parts, O2 sensors and now the EMC computer... so all total I've had the car for 15 days and it's been in the shop for 5 of those.

General Comments:

Poor reliability, Poor computer controls.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th June, 2004

17th Nov 2005, 14:17

If you leave the gas cap off, it's your own stupidity, not Kia's.

13th Jan 2006, 03:29

Why would you EVER buy a korean car if you are looking for reliability? thats my question.

13th Jan 2006, 10:37

I don't think Korean=unreliable per se.

13th Jan 2006, 19:32

You people that slam Korean cars as far as reliability is concrned, need to get out of 1990. The Excel is long gone and Hyundai and Kia have made huge steps in terms of quality. People that make these stupid remarks were either too young or don't remember the four-wheeled garbage that the Japanese unloaded on the US shores a while back. I am on my third Hyundai and very happy. I have had no problems to report.

2004 Kia Rio 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6L Don't Know
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance280 miles
Previous carGMC S-15

Summary:

Drive the car at 50 mph for long life

Faults:

The check engine light has turned on. The car is one day out of the dealership and the check engine light has appeared already. The dealer promised that repairs can be done at any qualified repair place, but the dealership wants the vehicle to be repaired in Phoenix, AZ. The distance to Phoenix, AZ is 300 miles one way.

General Comments:

The car is a glorified Volkswagen engine at high rpms. The car is nice, but the RPMs are high.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th April, 2004

25th Mar 2008, 17:48

Yeah, listen to Mr. Crown Vic. Buy one of those V-8 monster machines that you can hardly park in town and costs twice as much to run. But hey, the ride is great. I'll remember that when I'm getting when I fill my rio next to a grand marquis at the gas station, the driver grumbling about the inevitable rise in the price of fuel.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 28 reviews