2002 Kia Sedona Reviews - Page 22 of 26

2002 Kia Sedona EX V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carChrysler Town and Country

Summary:

The best bargain in a minivan on the market

Faults:

Sensor in gas tank failed, causing check engine light to come on. Fixed by dealer under warranty. Minor issue.

General Comments:

Love the ride. Quite on the highway. Great sound system! Lots of head and leg room. Comfortable seats. Marginal gas mileage in town. Fair on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2003

2002 Kia Sedona LX 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance21400 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

At 21,400 miles we're pleased with the choice

Faults:

Initially there was some smoke from under the hood. It turned out to be a loose clamp the dealer fixed in a few minutes. The problem never reoccurred. There was a manufacturing defect in the windshield that left a distortion in the drivers view. The dealer replaced it under warranty.

General Comments:

This van has been very reliable, comfortable and useful. It has hauled everything imaginable. We like the split tumbling rear seats, they come in handy. Perhaps not as handy as a hideaway seat, but useful nonetheless. We hesitated at first to take a chance on this manufacturer, but the 10 yr warranty that for a few extra dollars was extended to bumper to bumper for 10 years sold us. We owned 2 Dodge vans and both were terrible. We bought the second one because there still wasn't anything close to it back then on the market. What a mistake. We went through 5 transmissions between the two. With the second van we would actually pack overnight bags if we took a long day trip. More than just the transmission failed and we were stuck many times, and all break downs were under 100,000 miles. The KIA has just as many features as the Dodges and is bigger (we had standard wheel base). Plus, by now I would've had one of the Dodge's in the shop for the first transmission noise and shifting problem. Go KIA!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2003

17th Mar 2005, 23:00

We're also happy with our 2002 Sedona, which has roughly the same mileage as yours. This is our first minivan and a co-worker's nightmares with their Dodge Caravan also turned us off of the Dodge product.

2002 Kia Sedona ex 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Good Value

Faults:

I find that the third rear seats rattle. They are not loose, and are quite secure, but it drives me crazy. The dealer said the seats are quite secure with no defects.

General Comments:

Excellent minivan for the money. Nice shape, and has all the bells and whistles of an expensive minivan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th January, 2003

2002 Kia Sedona ex V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance16016 miles
Previous carMazda MPV

Summary:

Kia Sucks

Faults:

Every 5000 miles the brakes stop working with a terrible vibration at the dealer they say is need of adjustment and cleaning wich I found very odd 5 times already for the same problem, I'm going lemon with it. Lets see what they are going to say tomorrow 2 days after last "adjustment" is already messed up.

General Comments:

Is very unsafe car do not stop and the vibration and noise is like the car is going to fell apart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2003

28th Jan 2003, 11:10

Hi I agree with you on the KIA Sedona. I purchased a brand new 2003 KIA Sedona in october 2002. Extremely disappointed took in for transmission problems they said there were none. well drove with them this morning and well they admit it has a very serious problem. Then after them looking at it for a couple days the car couldn't even make it out onto the street with out dying out. so I don't know what they did to it, but it's worse than when it went in. don't buy a KIA not worth the money and it's not cheap at 23,000.

2002 Kia Sedona EX 3.6L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.6L Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance150 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

I now wish I had spent a few thousand more for the Town and Country

Faults:

On the same day after the purchase, I discovered the radio and CD player, rear heater, power door locks, and dome light were not working. It turned out to be a fuse/relay switch, which the dealer fixed the next day.

5 days after purchse it started losing power, misfiring, and could barely climb hills. I had it towed to the nearest dealer who found water inside of the engine and in the cylinders. There was white corrosion and condensation. I was asked if I had pressure spayed the engine. I had not. The conclusion was that the dealer must have a few days ago prior to my purchasing it. The problem is not under warranty and repairs had to be authorized by the selling dealer. Many parts need to be ordered/replaced and my new van is still in the shop (3 days later).

Also, the fuse box cover is defective. It fell off 4-5 times in the 150 miles I drove the vehicle. Once, I accidently kicked it under my brake while on a busy street... a little scary.

General Comments:

I loved the power (when it was running well).

The seats are very comfortable.

The sound system is great!

The ride is very quiet and smooth. There has been no rattling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st January, 2003

2nd Jan 2003, 22:42

Its good to hear that they came up with a good minivan design. Just be sure to avoid their entry-level sedans (Rio, Spectra).

1st Jun 2003, 19:14

Do not ever buy from Chrysler!! They're JUNK. I owned a 2000 Town and Country and the transmission went out, the ac needed to be replaced, and the battery has died on me 8 times so far!! My friend has some similar problems with his Dodge Grand Caravan.

BUYER BEWARE!!

6th Jul 2003, 09:27

I have to agree. We have a 96 Plymouth Voyager and we are researching Kia's and other vehicles right now. The Voyager has given us a lot of brake issues and A/C problems. We have not had any transmission issues (yet) which that model (and the Caravan) are known for.

29th Sep 2006, 06:30

Please do not buy a Chrysler! I've had the privilege/curse of owning 2 of them. Bought a 96 w/only 43,000 miles on it, and have spent over $3,000 in repairs in one year. Something goes wrong with it every week. I never drive it more than 100 miles away from home. and have my mechanic, and tow company programmed in my cell phone. Just a warning to anyone who's thinking about buying a Chrysler van. they are complete junk!

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 87 reviews