2002 Kia Sedona Reviews - Page 25 of 26

2002 Kia Sedona LX 2.4 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired7005 miles
Most recent distance7350 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Sharan

Summary:

An unbearably awful machine which is best avoided

Faults:

Gearbox grinds when engaging first gear.

Keylock holds onto ignition key.

Trim panels in cockpit squeak and rattle.

Cupholder snapped off when first used.

Seat lumbar support too low.

Tyres squeal all the time.

Seat foam very unsupportive.

Steering vague with no road feedback.

Engine noisy and unrefined.

Gearchange stiff and harsh.

Electric window switches flimsy.

Wood effect dashboard (plastic)-

Handbrake feels like it will snap off anytime soon.

Door panels rattle when door closed.

Rear windows do not open.

Rear quarterlights can be forced open without effort when the vehicle is locked.

Handling is nervous and tyres squeal at even moderate cornering speeds.

Armrest on drivers seat interferes with gear change.

Lumbar adjust lever snags driver seat belt which is very dangerous.

Rear hedrests badly obscure rear visibility.

Electric aerial in driver field of view and covered in grease.

All cabin plastics are cheap and tacky.

No exterior temperature gauge.

General Comments:

This is the worst vehicle I have driven in about 17 years. I cannot believe it sells against competitors regardless of how cheap it is.

Noisy, unrefined, sloppy handling, harsh and difficult gear-change, vague steering.

Seats look nice and are comfortable for about 20 minutes, then lack of support and cheap build combined with harsh suspension make them almost unbearable.

Air conditioning excellent! the only good feature of this otherwise abysmal vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th July, 2002

26th Jul 2002, 07:25

I am always surpised by people who buy a used vehicle and expect it to be brand new. I just dumped my Chrysler mini-van, I bought it used (I knew the original owner), it was great for the first month. After repairing the A/C twice, several electrical/electronic faults, and finally sticky valves (a $2500 CAN repair). The Chrysler was worth 10% of its original purchase price when new after only 5 years.

This time a new KIA Sedona was purchased, I've had it one month and 3000kms and no issues.

A piece of advice for your next car purchase, someone selling a car that is less than 2 years old is dropping a lemon.

2002 Kia Sedona EX V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro

Summary:

A great family van with plenty of extras for the money

Faults:

Right side door sticks a little when opening.

General Comments:

This vehicle has plenty of power It rides very well. The entertainment center is very nice and the leather interior is very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2002

2002 Kia Sedona EX 3.5 litre from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.5 litre Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65 kilometres
Most recent distance565 kilometres

Summary:

The best van money can buy with all it has to offer

Faults:

After less than one week old I had my KIA Sedona XE back to the dealership because I had problems starting it. They informed me that I now need a fuel pump which is under warranty however will take up my time to bring it in for servicing.

General Comments:

Other than the fuel filter that is now required I am very pleased with my KIA Sedona XE. Before buying the vehicle I did extensive research since I was not familiar with KIA. Most of the reviews came out on top which made me more encouraged when it came time to purchasing the vehicle. For the money this van has everything you could imagine with a reasonable price tag. As well it has a 5 star rating for safety front and side and a 5 year 100,00 kilometre bumper to bumper warranty at no extra cost. I knew that gas consumption would not be the best however this vehicle weighs in the range of 4,700 lbs. The KIA salesman at 417 KIA in Ottawa, Ontario Canada was a gem. He was true gentlemen who listened to everything I had to say and even came with me to my home to show the van to my wife on a Saturday afternoon. My hat goes off to Dane. I have no regrets so far and I would recommend this vehicle to anyone who wants to drive in class. By the way the extra money I paid for the leather interior, sunroof and rust proofing package was well worth it for me since I will keep this vehicle 5 years. The financing was only 3.9% for 5 years which is well below the banks. Thanks KIA.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2002

19th Jun 2003, 12:54

Well, I've read mostly good stuff about the Sedona, and only a few bad things (gas mileage/windshield cracking/rare electrical problems). So, this issue of rust disturbed me.

I looked online and cannot seem to find another instance of anyone having a rust problem, at all. In fact, one review mentioned that Kia is the only other minivan, besides Toyota, that uses some sort of silicon to prevent rust.

Is this something they've fixed for 2003 I wonder?

24th Jun 2003, 13:24

Purchased my minivan in August 2002. I have the rust problem, just discovered and am getting ready to go to the dealer with it. sigh...

Also found a recall for:

Engine Hesitation - have it

Cooling Fan Noise - have it

Seat Belt issue - (mine is that the passenger seat belt locks when it shouldn't)

Also a shimmy when braking.

Otherwise love my van. I hope the service department stands by what it sells.

6th Feb 2005, 17:39

I own a 2002 Sedona with approximately 96,000 Kilometers (60,000 miles) on the clock. I,ve owned this since new and just recently, I asked the dealer here in Barrie to provide a quote on replacing the timing belt and spark plugs. The total quote was nearly $1,100.00 CAN. ($875.00 U.S.) I recently read a review in another feed back where some concern was raised about KIA's parts pricing.

The dealership has always been fair and has resolved a lot of warranty issues amicably. However, the dealers quoted parts price of nearly $18.00 CAN. per spark plug shocked me. These plugs are now available at Canadian Tire for about $8.00 CAN. each. KIA's price for the timing belt is more than twice of that of a Ford Windstar and the labour to replace the timing belt is nearly six hours.

The car is not the greatest nor is it the worst vehicle I've owned, but it's the most expensive parts wise.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 87 reviews