2003 Kia Sorento Reviews

2003 Kia Sorento LX from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

Despite electrical issues, I love this vehicle

Faults:

I bought my Kia Sorento brand new from a Kia dealership I have replaced my headlights at least 6 times, as well as my brake lights.

My interior diode is currently out after being replaced once already. There is definitely an electrical issue.

When I drove my Sorento today, I noticed my shift indicator in my dash cluster began flashing opposite of my RT turn signal. Has anyone else had this issue?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2013

2003 Kia Sorento EX 3.5 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 kilometres
Most recent distance123000 kilometres
Previous carKia Sorento

Summary:

Not bad

Faults:

I have had my headlights burn out 3 to 4 times on each side. I thought that it was defective bulbs, but after a little research, I found out that it was the car, and the good people at the dealer gave me the "I don't know".

General Comments:

Other than that, the car runs like a top!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2011

2003 Kia Sorento LX 2.5 turbo diesel from South Africa

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 kilometres
Most recent distance98000 kilometres
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Superb

Faults:

Absolutely no problems.

General Comments:

It is very reliable and comfortable. It pulls like a steam train, ample power to tow my caravan (1400 kg).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2011

2003 Kia Sorento EX 3.5 liter from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.5 liter Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance355000 miles
Previous carMercury Villager

Summary:

Comfortable and reliable

General Comments:

Never had any major problem. I'm waiting 2 more years to get to 500000 km, and then I'm buying a 2009 Sorento with 3.8 liters to tow a bigger travel trailer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th September, 2010

2003 Kia Sorento from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

It's a good idea - short term

Faults:

Clunking noise in front end started about 136,000. Ended up being the front differential. Dealer gave me a $3000 estimate, then said the rear differential was bad also, another $2000 (since they were already under the car).

I had an independent mechanic rebuild the front; the car was good for 2 months. Now all of a sudden there is a noise that sounds like a 747 wants to land in the back seat. Took it to a mechanic, who said it is now the read differential. I should have traded it in right after the $$$$ front diff repair. Now, here we go again!?

Door 'gaskets' keep coming out of their track.

General Comments:

Inside of the car is nice. Heated leather seats. Great sounding music system. Everything on the INSIDE of the car still in good condition.

It is a nice ride - when it's not having issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th August, 2010

2003 Kia Sorento EX V 6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission V 6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired140 miles
Most recent distance58760 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Love it!!!

Faults:

Coolant container cracked and lost most of the fluid; replaced it for $35 plus one gal. of antifreeze.

Replaced driver's side headlight bulb, at a cost of $11.00.

General Comments:

I am very satisfied with the quality versus cost on this car. If you want nothing but comfort, then this is not for you, although my wife loves it. Although it does feel a little like you're driving a truck, and you certainly can go places that you wouldn't take a higher priced vehicle. I have taken it to some pretty remote locations, and had no problems, even when I thought I would get stuck.

It has great traction and can turn on a dime. Good gas mileage and acceleration, which comes in handy when you're way up in the mountains and want to get back with the gas you have in your tank.

Other than a few recalls, which all new vehicles seem to have these days, I am very happy with the Sorento.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2010

2003 Kia Sorento LX 3.5 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

Cheap, but NOT affordable

Faults:

Brakes had to be redone; all four rotors and pads at 40,000 miles, and new pads again at 70,000.

Timing belt broke at 70,000 miles. Kia won't honor the warranty because the timing belt was supposed to be changed at 60,000 miles. Need a new head and at least 12 new valves.

Broken overflow tank that was replaced only after I called Kia, since there was a TSB issued for the overflow tank.

Did not go through headlamps or taillights.

General Comments:

You get what you pay for. Replacement parts are expensive like you were replacing a Lexus. OH that's right, if you had a Lexus you wouldn't be replacing an engine at 70,000 miles. Will NEVER buy another Kia again. Will read the owner's manual on future vehicles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st May, 2010

4th Jan 2014, 08:45

Rotors and pad change at 40,000 miles - that's quite normal for all cars, as is a further pad change at 70,000.

Quibbling that Kia wouldn't re-build engine after the belt snapped 10,000 miles over its recommended change - why should the manufacturer pick up the bill when you don't have it serviced properly! Sounds like a great car that wasn't looked after properly.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 27 reviews