2003 Kia Sorento Reviews - Page 7 of 7

2003 Kia Sorento LX 3.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A nice solid truck/SUV for the money

Faults:

I have had no problems with this truck to-date.

General Comments:

The Sorento is a contender in the SUV market.

Solid build quality.

Excellent warranty.

Sorento offers many standard feature on the base LX model.

Kia has done a great job with the Sorento. I see no reason why Kia cannot become the next HONDA in the U.S. automobile market.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2003

24th Mar 2005, 10:43

To the person that owns the 05 sorrento. If the check engine light is on and not flashing it is a minor emissions problem. Only if the check engine light starts to flash do you have to take it off the road, because serious damage can happen to the vehicle.

2003 Kia Sorento SE 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles
Previous carLand Rover Range Rover

Summary:

Classy looks, but still affordable

Faults:

Gearbox changed at 4400 miles.

General Comments:

A great value, great looking 4x4 which punches it's weight in this competitive market area.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2003

2003 Kia Sorento XE 2.5 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance387 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A lot of car for your money

Faults:

Nothing yet, it's early days.

General Comments:

This car is a little bit sluggish when first pulling away, but soon builds up speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2003

18th May 2014, 02:53

I have a 2003 Kia Sorento LX, which I bought last August 2013. After a few months of use I also noticed the slow pick up. I had it serviced -- changed oil, fuel filter, oil filter and air filter, but the pick up was still slow.

I met this mechanic and had my air flow sensor cleaned. This is located in the air filter box. The connectors were simply cleaned using a carburetor cleaner, which took about 30 minutes to finish. A lot of slime/sludge was removed.

My Sorento runs like new now.

2003 Kia Sorento XS 2.5 TD from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 TD Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance5400 miles
Previous carRenault Scenic

Summary:

A tough 4x4 that drives like a car

Faults:

No problems so far.

General Comments:

I bought my KIA SORENTO in March 2003 as a replacement for the Renault Scenic, and it has proved so far to be a very competent car that seems to be very well thought out and well put together, with nothing left out. It has all the right goodies eg climate control, heated leather.

The 2.5L 4 cylinder 16v diesel engine pulls very well and does not feel "soggy". Even with the automatic transmission, the car is as at home on the motorway at 80 - 90 mph, as it is crawling on the school run (which is what most 4x4 are used for). Economy is pretty good too (average 25 MPG), considering the car weighs nearly two tons.

Since owning the car I have changed the standard fit audio system, as it was too fiddly to use safely on the move. Also I have fitted satellite navigation (vdo ms 5000) and side steps (to prevent car park dings from people who don't care when they open their doors).

My only complaint is not about the car, but about the dealers. The dealer we bought the car from was great, a good sales team that went the extra mile for us. But we moved house to a different area and went to another dealer, and they did not seem to know anything about the fitting or availability of accessories, and were no help whatsoever, but speaking to other KIA owners, they seem to have had similar trouble with their dealers.

KIA are a growing name in the UK, but I feel they are being held back by poor dealer after sales service.

My car is great and I am very pleased with it. I have now owned it for six months, and I hope will own and enjoy it for many years and miles to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2003

1st Oct 2004, 11:36

Would you go back to a Renault? If like me I wouldn't touch another Renault, but we love the Sorento, that is our next car... 'hopefully'.

Kind regards.

19th Jan 2005, 13:30

Kia Sorento 2.5 CRDi XS Auto... picked mine up in Jan 05, best car I have ever owned... and I've had a few! Superb build quality, style and comfort. Not interested in changing, only for another one. Dealer in Bexhill is brilliant, never met such a great guy and will do anything to sort sny problem. The 3 year bumper to bumper warranty is just that. Had a mark on leather seat... he ordered a new one there amd then. but hey, lets keep it quiet, best kept secret in the motor trade.

1st Dec 2005, 15:07

I purchased a Kia Sorento XS 2.5 Diesel in Dec 04. From a main dealer approx. 50 miles away as

Our local dealer couldn’t supply the colour and spec I wanted. Shortly after delivery the digital clock failed. All was great for about 3 months after that until the heater failed. Into he main dealer to be told no fault, just low water level in radiator. Another month later after consuming approx. 8 litres of water/antifreeze problem reoccurs. Back into main dealer again and told that the supplying dealer had poorly Pdi’d the vehicle. Topped up again and carried on. Week’s later problem reappeared! I had the vehicle recovered to supplying dealer, Who found a major problem with head and gaskets! 5 weeks later I get vehicle back somewhat disheartened with the whole episode. Last week the power steering pump failed leaving my wife stranded for four hours in subzero conditions. Away to the main dealer for yet another week! Vehicle now repaired again and waiting to be collected. Biggest problem now is my wife has no confidence left in the vehicle and is reluctant to transport our 2 young children anywhere in the car, in case something else major fails. Have found both Kia dealers to have extremely

Poor levels of customer service. But to be fair to them, their customer service is somewhat superior to that of Kia UK. I Will have to sell the Kia, to purchase a car we feel to be safe and reliable.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 27 reviews