2003 Kia Sorento Reviews - Page 6 of 7

2003 Kia Sorento EX from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carKia Sorento

Summary:

Would not purchase again

Faults:

Alignment, it seems it was not aligned correctly from the start. When put in for required general 12,000 check-up, the car came back with the same problem after I spent nearly 5 hours waiting.

Back seat does not go down and the side passenger door does not open correctly. Dealer located in Fort Lauderdale will only replace the back seat and mechanism on door. They do not do repair, only order new parts which might seem okay, but then the car needs to go in for a full work day to get new item put in.

Bought in Fort Lauderdale, Maroone, and they could have a better repair department with more convenient hours.

General Comments:

This car "drinks" gas. Afraid to go anywhere because of the cost, even though I barely ever use the air conditioner.

Car feels top heavy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th July, 2005

21st Jul 2005, 21:56

If it "drinks" gas, chances are you've got the Petrol 3.5 Liter V6.

2nd Aug 2006, 19:09

Clock goes out in my Sorento after 3 miles, then comes on again requiring resetting. Why?

26th Jun 2007, 01:26

None of this makes sense.

Take you car to another garage if you are unhappy with the job KIA did on the wheel alignment, which I'm guessing is the problem.

Chances are any car will pull one way or the other after rough off-roading anyway.

KIA has offered to replace the faulty rear seats for you at no cost and needs the car to do it. I can't see the problem in this. Maybe they could lend you a car instead of you having to wait, but they aren't required to do this.

My Sorento isn't top heavy. Are you driving around with a piano on the roof?

It is a 4X4 remember, not a Ferrari.

My Sorento does around 22 to 25 mpg. Not great, but it does what KIA said it would do when i bought it.

I would be interested to hear if you had some real faults because they would be the first I've heard of if that were the case.

Regards,

A VERY happy KIA Sorento Owner.

19th Jul 2007, 11:38

Would never buy one again. I've had problems with it the first year I got it. I have had alignment problems, rotars replaced 4 times, major electrical problems. Someone made a comment about the clock (mine sticks all the time) KIA couldn't even fix it. Gas guzzler galore. They are top heavy. The engine is too heavy that's why all the problems with alignment and brakes. Always get asked how I like my car and would tell people do not invest in one.

30th Jul 2007, 11:49

Headlights that don't last, clock that only works when it feels like it, dimmer switch that falls out every 5,000 miles, front-end alignment that doesn't "hold" no matter how often it is done (just rotate the tires every 3 thousand miles) and the best saved for last-

My 2003 Sorento that I bought new now has a tad over 74,000 miles. Last Friday as I pulled out of the parking lot at work there was a tremendous noise coming from under the car (near the front). My first thought was brakes, so I cruised at ten m.p.h the three blocks to a local repair shop to have them check it out. Turns out my drive shaft was about to fall out!

Still covered under warranty, but imagine if this had happened on the Turnpike during morning rush hour.

Word to the wise, if you are in the neighborhood of 70,000 or higher miles on your 2003 Sorento, I suggest you high-tail it to your local repair shop and have the drive shaft checked.

2003 Kia Sorento SX 2.5 common rail from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 common rail Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carFiat Multipla

Summary:

A terrific vehicle

Faults:

Two manufacturer recalls regarding the oil sump.

Breather pipe gasket replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

We tested all the 4x4's on the market up to £35,000, and the KIA had the combination of strengths in a 4x4 we were looking for. Permanent four wheel drive, modern diesel engine, luxury interior, well built and good looking. The price was icing on the cake.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2003

31st Dec 2003, 10:59

Yes, it's the XS model, my apologies.

13th Jul 2006, 12:26

Someone mentioned "Permanent four wheel drive". I don't think the Kia Sorento has permanent four wheel drive as in centre-differential-4x4, like Toyotal Land Cruiser for instance.

Rather, the Kia Sorento has automatic computer controlled 4 wheel drive, like SUVs in general, but with the Kia Sorento additionally having a light-truck box-ladder frame and low-ratio gears.

So in fact it is more of a real light-truck-4x4 than just an SUV.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 27 reviews