2003 Kia Sorento Reviews - Page 4 of 7

2003 Kia Sorento LX from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

Would never purchase again from Kia

Faults:

I was driving to work this morning and my timing belt went on the car. Told me I would have to replace the motor when this happens. Even with an extended warranty, they will not cover the cost.

I can't tell you how many headlights that I replaced... lost count after about the 8th time.

The clock doesn't work.

General Comments:

The service no matter where I go stinks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd February, 2009

4th Feb 2009, 14:10

I have had good results with the car. The timing belt is a required service item at 60,000 miles along with the spark plugs to maintain the vehicle's warranty. Expensive to replace, so it is best to do it all at once.

Have the dealer check the wiring grounds for the lights and use a different manufacturer for the bulbs.

5th Feb 2009, 23:43

Timing belt belt broke? Don't blame the car for something that the owner should keep up on. Change it next time.

15th Apr 2009, 16:53

I've had all of the same exact problems and more. I have that problem with the clock and they can't find the short, well they said they did, but it still doesn't work. It shorted out the computer in the car, which also had to be replaced. Make sure you find out where that short is or you'll be spending another $500 for a computer.

2003 Kia Sorento EX from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.7 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

CRAP!! Bad service. Not out for the customer! RIP OFF!!!

Faults:

Coolant reservoir broke.

Gas line leaking.

Gas tank needs replacement.

Rust on tail gate and door jams.

Exhaust replacement.

Leaking water from roof, floor soaked.

Dashboard and steering wheel buttons don't work sometimes.

Dome lights not working.

General Comments:

Can't believe paint in rear is bubbling and rusted. Can't believe I have to replace gas tank already due to rust.

My drivers seat floor is like an ice skating rink.

KIA will not do crap to help you!!! They never call you back either. I have been trying to get the rust fixed for 4 years now. They even ordered the paint, and because they have changed service managers several times already, nobody will help me now it is out of warranty. Does anyone else have these problems? HELP!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th December, 2008

2003 Kia Sorento EX 3.5 24v DOHC from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.5 24v DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired69800 kilometres
Most recent distance125000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Off road monster, on road beauty

Faults:

- Power steering pumped went bad at 82,000 KM; covered under warranty.

- Rear stabilizer links went bad at 91,000 KM; covered under warranty.

- Rear drivers side seat belt locked and would not retract at 110,000kms $400.00 to repair; not covered.

- My coolant overflow cracked lost all my coolant and overheated. Luckily no damage to the engine. $200.00 to repair.

However, this is an truck based SUV is built with quality. I haven't driven this vehicle nicely at all. I've sunk it in mud, put it in the ditch etc... But it just keeps running and running like the day I purchased it! Amazing off road capabilities due to it being a truck based SUV.

General Comments:

KIA is definitely the most under rated car company. This is my second and I would never think of purchasing a different vehicle.

The Sorento has everything you could possibly look for in an SUV. It's quick, decent on fuel, extremely reliable and looks like an BMW, just for thousands less. If you can find one of these pick it up! I promise it won't let you down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2008

2003 Kia Sorento LX from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carKia Dodge Neon

Faults:

I own a 2003 Sorento and I also have had the same problems with the headlights. I don't know what replacement number I am on, I think it is about the 6th one and have to get another one today. Also, the interior light has quit working. Also, the air bag light has been on for over a year. The check engine light will come and stay on for a little while and go off and not come back on for months.

I love the SUV, I just really hate the problem with the headlights!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2008

25th Mar 2008, 17:05

Check to make sure the connecters to the headlight are not corroded. Replacing the light may help for a while as you may wear away a bit of the corrosion. Either that or check the voltage going to the affected lights.

1st Sep 2008, 14:08

About the airbag not deploying if the airbag light is on. My 94 Nissan Altima airbag light was on for about a year. I had a head on with another vehicle, the airbags deployed. By the way she was a great little car in the snow. Only thing I didn't like about it was the headlights did not illuminate the road ahead very well.

Has anyone done a check on the electrics without taking it to a garage. All you have to do is first check the bulb with an ohmeter, then check the plug to see if you have hydro and to see if you are getting a power surge at the connection.

I am thinking on buying a 2003 Sorento, but these light issue's sound too annoying, even though all in all it seems to be a better truck than most.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 27 reviews