1999 Kia Sportage 4x4 from North America


Do not buy a Sportage, they're junk!


After market moon roof leaked.

Brake pads fell off twice. Literally fell off causing the wheels to lock up almost killing me twice.

A belt broke causing a chain reaction with all of these other things happening to my engine costing $1200 damage. Which was unforseen.

General Comments:

The thing rattles in the rain.

Makes all kinds of strange sounds, which the dealer says are normal.

This is the worst car I have ever purchased. I advise anyone who is thinking about it, don't buy a Sportage!

It may save your life, because mine almost killed me twice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th September, 2001

1999 Kia Sportage LX 6 cylinder from North America


The biggest lemon out there


The flares around the wheels needed painted four times.

My air conditioner stopped working, water was leaking inside from the air conditioner.

Heater air conditioner blower motor stopped working.

The seals around the doors leak.

Cuts out.

Several sensors have went out.

Brakes went out.

Four wheel drive went out. Has not been fixed properly.

Fan belt has always made a noise.

A lot of rattles when driving.

The clutch needs to be repaired.

Mud flaps were missing.

Constant brake dust.

Throw out bearing going out.

Too numerous to go on.

General Comments:

Was ripped off, will never buy another one.

The dealer will not make it right.

Have had it in for a service over 25 times and it's still not right.

The manufacturer will not make it right.

The biggest lemon out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd August, 2001

31st Aug 2001, 02:34

There is no 6 cylinder KIA Sportage. Why don't you go over and tell stories about the FORD Explorer. They could use some of your good vibes.

31st Aug 2001, 15:50

Where did you find a six cylinder Sportage? Sounds more like a machinery familiarization issue?

1999 Kia Sportage Base 2.1 liter from North America


I can buy cheaper lemons at the store


4 wheel drive broke numerous times.

Check engine light came on numerous times.

Gas lid release cable broke 6 times.

Wheel bearings went bad 4 times.

Numerous other problems.

General Comments:

The Sportage is good in the snow when the 4 wheel drive works.

I will never buy another one again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2001

19th Apr 2001, 20:28

I'm not saying this in a mean way, but why didn't you keep the Continental? I'm glad I read these reviews, I was thinking of buying one of these.

23rd Jun 2001, 21:03

From, what I've read this vehicle is just like every other maker possible. the KIA sportage has problems and not every car/mini SUV can be perfect every time and to judge it by just one BAD testimonial is ridiculous.

27th Aug 2001, 17:23

You've gotta be kidding me!

ONE bad review.


I suggest you do more research, go to http://members.tripod.com/aiki_joe/kia/index.html

Before you make the biggest mistake of your life; people here will give you the truth about these cars.

31st Aug 2001, 02:29

There is no 2.1 liter engine for the Sportage. Frankly, your review sounds fake to me. Either that or you don't know how to care for a vehicle other than completely beating on it.

24th Jul 2005, 21:37

I also agree, this sounds a little too much. i own one myself an yes they could have done a better job with the quality of this SUV, but keep in mind this is a lower end sport U. I agree with the previous comment, maybe you need a little more EXP with automobiles.

21st Aug 2006, 14:48

I own the 99 Sportage - bought it with 29K miles on it. I have had to replace the wheel bearings twice (re-tighten them twice in between), replace a head gasket and cam seal (three months after replacing the timing belt), re-tap a spark plug that blew out (literally). My 4-wheel drive also does not work again (2nd time) and I just blew out the power steering lines.

Happy? No! Would I buy another? Hardly!

1999 Kia Sportage Ex 2.0 from North America


Not that bad

General Comments:

This vehicle isn't that bad, I mean it's slow, a Metro can take you just about. Another thing is the transmission changes gears many, many, many times. Besides this I don't have any complaints and I've had nothing go wrong with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th February, 2001

16th Aug 2003, 10:28

You must be one of the lucky ones who bought a Kia... and you are the first person I have ever heard say it isn't that bad...sorry, but it is worse than bad... Kia should not be sold in the US, but be ran out of the country... what a rip off... the biggest lemon of all time... have you heard of the edsel... it was suppose to be the biggest lemon of all time.. well Kia has taken over it's spot.