1999 Kia Sportage Reviews - Page 5 of 10

1999 Kia Sportage 4WD from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired248 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Trooper

Summary:

Cheap transportation

Faults:

Air conditioner condenses and leaks into the passenger side floorboards. Have had it checked 3 times for this and states that "nothing is wrong". Something broke in the engine supports about three years ago and the entire engine had to be removed and the support piece replaced. Front end suspension was rebuilt, brakes replaced twice and mind you it still only has 30,000 miles on it in 5 years with all these problems!

General Comments:

Not enough leg room in back for an adult.

Too light of a vehicle to be a serious 4WD SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2004

1999 Kia Sportage 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

A consumer's worst nightmare

Faults:

The brakes are faulty.

Brake dust cake the rims.

The check engine light consistently on.

The passenger seat came off track 2 months after buying the car.

The passenger side window is off track, and has been since a month after buying the car.

The plastic top does not fit properly over the vehicle.

The sunroof leaks on your head everytime it rains.

General Comments:

I have been to the dealership, which is 75 miles from my home, five times to have my vehicle fixed. All the problems that I have had go wrong, are still not fixed. The last time I was at the dealership was for the check engine light. This was two weeks ago. It is still on. The warranty has ran out, but it was never good anyway. They never stood behind what they sold. Safety is nonexistent in this car. I will never buy another KIA because of the the way the customer service representatives for the KIA manufacturers treated me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th August, 2004

4th Mar 2005, 15:50

I could not agree with you more. I had a 2000 Sportage, within 4,000 mile the check engine light came on (faulty plugs) not covered under the warranty. The Master cylinder started leaking around 7,000 miles. These vehicles should not be sold in the U.S. If you own one send it back.

1999 Kia Sportage from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired14500 miles
Most recent distance66500 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

A good package for the price.

Faults:

Air conditioning leaked on passenger side floor.

Paint is chipping on hood of car.

Regular maintenance issues. Including timing belt broke prior to 60,000 miles.

Sensor issues. Check engine light comes on frequently.

General Comments:

Overall, I have been happy with owning the 99 KIA Sportage. With the exception of some routine maintenance issues and some minor repairs, it has been good to me. Honestly, I have had more problems with my local KIA dealership rather than with the car itself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2004

1999 Kia Sportage EX quad 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission quad 4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

This is a great car in a small package!

Faults:

The alternator and the battery have been replaced at 90,000 miles.

The arm rest between the front seats broke and now slides forward. (But I have to admit that my son aged 6 tried to climb over the seat.)

I didn't like the tires, so I replaced them with Michelin all weathers.

The cup holder in the rear broke almost immediatly.

General Comments:

I rented one before and fell in love with it. When I returned home, I went straight to the dealer and picked one off the freighter!

This is a fast car and climbs mountains like a pro even though it's a two-wheel drive.

Its easy to park in any parking place.

Its turn radius is very tight.

The seats fit my body very well.

I drove it on the beach and was nearly the only vehicle not getting stuck in the sand.

My kids like the high seats in the back.

I really enjoy the stereo system. It has a great sound.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2004

1999 Kia Sportage 2wd 2l from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2l Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance84500 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

I think it is great for the price I paid

Faults:

Had to have the Struts replaced at 55000 miles. Now at 85000 going bad once more.

Other than this everything is OK.

General Comments:

It runs great and is fast.

Lots of room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2004

1999 Kia Sportage 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

An economical family vehicle

Faults:

The Engine light has come on twice since I bought it in October 2003. The first time it was simply I hadn't screwed the gas cap on three clicks.

I had the dealership replace the automatic hubs with manual hubs after the stock automatic one's began leaking. Although this was not under warranty at the time, the dealership fixed it and did not charge me a deductible.

General Comments:

I have really enjoyed our "Rollerskate", as the family calls it. It has get up and go when needed, but it mostly putts along. Anyone expecting the Sportage to hit 5000 RPM"s is asking for trouble. The Sportage's optimal RPM's is around 3500.

I drive a lot of highway miles at 65-75 miles per hour and it handles this great. The money that I paid for it made every mile I have put on it well worth the investment.

I would recommend the Sportage and plan to purchase the new one when it finally comes out. (Projected to be this fall.) The Kia Autoserve Dealerships in New Hampshire have been excellent and stand behind their products.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2004

Average review marks: 5.0 / 10, based on 44 reviews