1999 Land Rover Freelander Reviews - Page 2 of 10

1999 Land Rover Freelander 2.0 turbo diesel from Panama

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance91000 kilometres
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

The best 4x4 ever, but servicing is pricey sometimes

Faults:

A Few bits and bobs.

Clutch bracket.

Power steering hoses.

Air con.

Air con switch.

Other usual parts.

General Comments:

Excellent car, probably the best I have had. I guess the down side is higher services costs due to them being rare in Panama. I always use a 2nd agency, the Land Rover dealer here is the most useless rude agency on earth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th July, 2007

1999 Land Rover Freelander 2.0 TD from Bulgaria

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 TD Manual
Distance when acquired104760 kilometres
Most recent distance205234 kilometres
Previous carNissan Terrano II

Summary:

Average performance, but please read this - I need an advice!!!

Faults:

I'm writing this because when I bought the car I had to change the gasket between the engine and the gear-box, and also the gasket of the oil pan. My request is, if someone can tell me what probably could be the reason for this parts to be changed I'll be very thankful.

General Comments:

Otherwise the car runs good for a 7 years old car. The maximum speed that I drive it with is around 150-160 km/h. But it is a little bit noisy. Is this normal? The fuel consumption is: highway - 6.5-7l./100km. and urban - 10-11l./100km. another problem is that I cannot open the back left door. I have no idea why:)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th January, 2007

17th Jul 2008, 09:28

Regarding your comment about the noise, I find it normal at least in the 1999 model. I owned one (diesel) for 4 years and I remember it would hum loudly as soon as the speedometer reached 70 Km/hr. You could hardly have a conversation with someone sitting on the back seat.

My head gasket blew at around 80,000 Km... when they showed me the semi-rotten porous engine you could tell the materials used by Land Rover were of poor quality.

17th Jul 2008, 12:05

I think that driving it routinely at 100 mph (160 kph) is too fast for this kind of vehicle, and will wear it out prematurely. After all, these utility vehicles were made to be a 4 x 4 operating at low speeds and rpm's, and are not a sports car.

1999 Land Rover Freelander SW 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.5 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Utter rubbish!!! don't buy!

Faults:

Where do I start?

I bought the car and it was/is immaculate. It had the engine rebuilt (they all have to do it at least once) so it seemed fine.

After 100 miles the drive shaft broke.. £600.00.

Then a sill went in the gearbox so the fluids were leaking onto the exhaust which stunk! £100.00.

When I bought it, it had new tyres, within 6000 miles they were bald. £200.00.

Then a gasket went on the exhaust manifold - £100.00 (very difficult to get to)

Then three warning lights came on - ABS, Traction control and Hill decent - still on.

Reversing the car in the garage the door mirror tapped the wall - only a light tap and the glass shattered £10.

Exhaust is about to blow.

Cuts out when the weather is warm. Did it on a busy motorway and everywhere else.

Back window broke - £200.

Ignition switch broke - £100.

General Comments:

Drives horrible - on bends it feels like a boat.

Fuel economy is horrible! Do well to get 28mpg if I drive slow.

Performance - joke.

This car is a disaster. DO NOT BUY ONE!! I read the horrible stories here and still bought one and it has cost me a fortune. I paid £5,100 for it 6 months ago - I will be happy if I get £3,500 just to get rid of this hideous nightmare.

Unless you want to break down all the time and constantly spend money on a seriously badly built car don't buy one. If you do you are as stupid as all the rest of us that did. Land Rover should be sued for producing such a lame car.

I can't explain how much I hate this car. I spoke to owners before I bought one and they said they were good...

Buy Japanese. You think it is not as cool, but being stranded on the motorway or the car being in the garage more time than it is on the road is NOT cool. Buy an Armani suit - actually 5 instead of the repair costs and then you'll be cool in anything. Don't BUY LAND ROVER.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th November, 2005

16th Nov 2005, 04:37

I wish all reviews are as honest and as straightforward as this. Buying a car is not something you can do every other day. thanks for the comment.

30th Jan 2007, 14:11

Excellent no nonsense review, very good humorous account of a particular bad experience involving a freelander.

30th Jan 2007, 16:33

Why would a 1999 vehicle engine "have to be rebuilt as they all must be" in 2005? I knew Land Rovers were some of the worst vehicles you can buy, but having to rebuild an engine every six years?

Average review marks: 4.9 / 10, based on 30 reviews